Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chaos Stunt Flight

by Marthog - Compo Entry

Chaos Stunt Flight lets you control a little plain through a course with just two controls for turning your plane.

Avoid the obstacles, collect extra fuel but be careful, so that you don't overload your plane or climb too steep, because gravity is unvorgiving.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02am

wouldn't open :c

Graydom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Wasn't able to start on windows.

Marthog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:09am

What is the error message?

I tried recompiling with -static flag. Hope that helps.

zesterer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57pm

I'm running on Linux, so it worked perfectly first-time. Well done for compiling everything successfully.

The game-play is fun. I like how you try to implement flight mechanics, and it works quite nicely. There's a good challenge curve to the levels.

The graphics have something to be gained and I feel the plane rotates way too slow to do any trick flying.

But in general, a charming little project.

intXparts says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:34pm

@Marthog On windows the error message is: ld34.exe: user error (unknown GLUT entry glutInit)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

To run this game on Windows you'll need a copy of glut32.dll (I got one off the Wayback Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20111029235650/http://user.xmission.com/~nate/glut.html). Stick the dll in the same directory as the game executable and you should be good to go.

I liked the basic concept but it was kind of hard to keep track of where the finish line was on some of the levels with going up and down. Since it takes a while for the plane to respond it's easy to overshoot the flag and not realize it (other than that all the bombs and points and gas tanks run out and you're just left with the scrolling screen).

Ace says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Perhaps you could add a small arrow pointing towards the goal, so you know where you're supposed to go. Felt like I was just fumbling about on most of the levels, possibly also leave some sort of trail from the plane, to help orient the player to what's going on.

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:21pm

I can´t play on Windows :(

For the image, it´s nice but maybe need more work in graphics! Good work!

Marthog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:35pm

@SeaLeft Studios
Thanks for figuring it out. I added the dll to the archive. Hope it works now.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice and simple, could have used more polish.

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Pretty difficult, the stiff controls make this challenging. However, i think this was all intended so in that case nice work.

srakowski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Pretty fun little game. I like the feel of the plane flying. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]