Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Express Bonsai Cultivator

by OddballDave - Compo Entry

** By popular demand I've added gamepad support. It's not ideal but at least those without move controllers can try it. **

Cultivate a magnificent bonsai without the many years of hard work. I went more with the growing theme, although the game does technically only use 1 button and a trigger. Use your PlayStation Move controller to cultivate six beautiful bonsai trees. There are no win conditions besides the reward of your own creations. Enjoy.

** REQUIRES A PLAYSTATION MOVE CONTROLLER TO PLAY **
If you have a PlayStation Move controller, but have never used it on a PC before then you need to pair it to the PC. To do this go to PS Move API [http://thp.io/2010/psmove/] website and in the downloads section find the binary for your OS. Once downloaded connect the controller via USB, and run the file psmovepair. Then simply follow the instructions. You should now be able to unplug the USB and connect by pressing the PlayStation button.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#71Graphics4.13
#78Innovation3.92
#94Mood3.73
#174Overall3.67
#195Audio3.30
#317Theme3.92
#605Humor2.07
#736Fun2.77

Comments

Jwatt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Let me just fetch my good old Playstation Move controller, which I totally have. It's like a mountain of Playstation Moves just piling up in my closet.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Sometimes I go to work wearing nothing but a Playstation Move over my intimate area.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:10pm

@Jwatt: Thanks. I have a ton of Move controllers too. They're just so cheap these days it'd be a crime not to have a few lying around. Anyway let me know what you think of the game once you've come out of the closet with that Move controller.

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Really wanted to check this out but... No move controller :( Can't you make a mouse replacement?

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45pm

don't have a playstation move controller but the gifs look very relaxing!

srimech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I do have a PS Move controller but I couldn't get it to work, sadly. The psmoveapi pairing utility seems to work, but Unity says no...

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Cool, really relaxing and highly polished game with stunning graphics and atmosphere.

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28am

It's pretty cool that you use a different method of control from everybody else but noone has a playstation move so maybe you could've made something to work with the mouse too? Just an idea. Rated it anyway based on the video. Looks pretty good not sure how much of a game it is but certainly pretty neat!

Boberro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I've rated based off video.

People should really chill the eff out - LD is supposed to be for you, not for others, and you did enough providing the video.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Was really soothing. Really cool concept but no real gameplay besides being a sim. The game is aesthetically pleasing, but I wish the leaves didn't grow instantly.

wavegunner232 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:43pm

no playstation move

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Nice art.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Looked the video, very nice idea and respect well the theme!

The sounds may be a bit smoosher to keep the relaxing mood.

Great overall!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Ha! I finally got my ps move to work and it was AWESOME!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Relaxing, I like it

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I dont have the controller :(

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

Blobby101 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:49am

Very interesting, the visuals are very nice too. Not so much of a game per se, but it's good to see things that are a bit different!

Waynetron says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:19am

Cool idea, looks very relaxing.
The font in-game is hard to read / ugly.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]