Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Breeze

by thynnmas - Compo Entry

:: Theme ::
Two button controls

:: Intro ::
Running is a breeze. Everyone can run, in fact, it hardly takes up enough synapses to count as an action. Jumping though. Jumping is harder. So is teleporting. You can do both!

:: About ::
Speedrun your was through the single proper level I had time to make and compare your highscore with others. Reach a checkpoint to make the next visible.

:: Controls ::
Use any of [WASD], [IJKL] & [Arrow keys] to run.
Use [RMB] to aim teleportation ability.
Use [SPACE] or [Left mouse button] to jump IF NOT aiming.
Use [SPACE] or [Left mouse button] to teleport IF aiming.

Use [R] or [Backspace] to instantly restart a level.
USe [Escape] to ragequit.

:: Platforms ::
Windows, Linux (x86_64) and OS X. OpenGL 3.2 required.

:: How to run ::
-Download the archive, unzip it, navigate to the "bin" folder.
-Windows: Try running "Breeze.exe". If it doesn't work, try running "Breeze_gl3.exe".
-Linux: Try running "./breeze". If that doesn't work, try running "./breeze_gl3". Remember to make the binaries executable with "chmod +x [binary]".
-OS X: Run "./breeze_osx". Remember to make the binary executable with "chmod +x ./breeze_osx".
-Should you have performance issues, try the "lowfi" version; it is lower resoltuion and should perform better!
-Open the "res/username.txt" file and replace the only line in it with a username of at most 31 characters to be not-anonymous on the highscore list.
-NOTE: The dependency on the VC++ redistributable mentioned in the comments has been removed.

:: Known bugs ::
-Clipping through walls may happen if running straight into them, or strafing into them.
-Trying to move the window may cause it to get stuck at the bottom of the screen.
-Screen goes black. Just restart the level and it is fixed again. Caused by NaNs somewhere in the physics. Bloody NaNs...

:: Changelog ::
2015-14-12 03:21 GMT - Fixed a bug where wallrunning wouldn't work. Moved a primitive in one level as part of this fix.
2015-14-12 03:33 GMT - Added missing dependencies (or info about where they can be found) to source archive.
2015-14-12 05:00 GMT - High score server now discoverable, username support also fixed.
2015-14-12 05:45 GMT - Physics fixes. Now harder to clip through walls, much harder to clip through floor. Improved detection hit detection on checkpoints where it occasionally missed when player was in floor.
2015-14-12 06:18 GMT - Switched from glew to gl3w for future linux support. Not complains if it can't get the wanted OpenGL context.
2015-15-12 17:42 GMT - LINUX SUPPORT. Also fixes timing issues with non-vsynced version (required since X11 does not allow windowed vsync).
2015-15-12 22:03 GMT - OSX SUPPORT. GL3.2 minspec. Still needs a beefy computer though.
2015-16-12 11:10 GMT - LOW RESOLUTION VERSION. A "_lowfi" version at 800x480 instead of 1280x720 is included for lower performance computer. UI for this version is slightly different/rescaled to fit, but functionally equivalent.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#535Audio2.53
#587Graphics2.91
#618Mood2.78
#776Fun2.68
#800Innovation2.55
#873Overall2.68
#965Theme1.80
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Doesn't seem to work in Windows.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

VCRUNTIME140.dll is missing from my computer error

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Also on Windows, and it doesn't seem to work. :(

If it helps, I'm running the .exe in bin/

Azor1 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

I tried running it, but it gave me an error "The program can't start because VCRUNTIME140.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

thynnmas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

If you get a "VCRUNTIM140.dll is missing"-error, grab the VC++ redistributables from https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

Problem with building with VS2015; people don't have the redist yet, unlike the older versions.

victorfisac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59am

Cannot play!

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57am

If you get a "VCRUNTIM140.dll is missing"-error, grab the VC++ redistributables from https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

I've done installing that, but still gets the error.

thynnmas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

VCRUNTIM140 (aka the VC00 redistributables) no longer required. Everything should now be statically linked, so just open and play (if you have GL4.5 support).

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:47am

I tried your game again, Breeze.exe doesn't cast an error anymore, but still not working either, just black window. Breeze_gl3.exe works fine, but the frame rate seems too low. It would be a great action game if your optimize the performance well :)

Are you making your own game engine?

thynnmas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:14am

@qwetro: The game is raymarched, so performance issues is (sadly) expected even if the inner kernel is fairly optimized. I'll see if I can get a lower resolution & 30fps version up as well so it can be played by more people, but this was as much an experiment in "can I make a raymarched game and get that running on people machines" as anything else :)

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I can't believe you made this game in purely OpenGL and C, this is amazing. The collisions are a little broken, and I got stuck in a wall a couple of times. The shader is awesome. The audio is great, really moody, Thank you for making this!!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:25am

I can't get past the wall jumping part. The camera starts to go into the wall, which is somehow light blue on the inside, and then the screen goes black. No matter what way I run into the wall this always happens.

The raytracing engine is really awesome. But I was only able to run the gl3 version and I have a nvidia GTX 960M. Which I have done lots of OpenGL tests on and i'm pretty sure it can handle OpenGL 4. So i'm not sure what's going on with the OpenGL 4 code here, but I hope the collision detection can be fixed.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:47am

Wow, this reminds me of Mirror's Face, a game I did for an LD a while ago. The problem they both have in common is that they both have issues with controls and wall clipping :)

What I do like it that unlike me you decided to make wallrun contextual and automatic, which is a neat idea. Overall, I found the game quite hard because I didn't figure out how to wall run, but the teleporter was cool :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Sorry, I get Segmentation Fault 11 when launching on Mac OS X 10.11.2.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Could be interesting, too bad it was so short

Shide says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Not a breakthrough mechanics, but still pretty good. Probably too much time was spent on polishing the engine and bugfixing, might've been a much better entry :)

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:26am

Nifty. Getting a working parkour movement system up and running in 48 hours is seriously impressive - I had some trouble getting used to the controls, but they worked pretty well when I was doing it right. One thing that might make it feel a bit better is some texture (or pattern, or whatever) - without any points of reference, it was a bit hard to gauge your actual movement when you were looking along or at a wall. Still, nice work!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:18am

Nice work, I didn't know you could put for loops in a shader - you now have me curious about raymarching.

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Nice graphics and mood! Loved it :)

I'm kinda confused about the gameplay...
* There is only tutorial, right?
* I wasn't able to wall-run. Or maybe I was but didn't notice.
* The teleport didn't get me to the aimed location. Dunno why.

Give more information about the state of the game in each moment, eg. when wallrunning, play some sound. Good luck!

Btw, where is the theme? No growing, nor two buttons, nor tie...

thynnmas says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:24pm

In response to StaNov:

There is, sadly, only the tutorial. Making levels in distance fields was more work than I anticipated, so I ran out of time.

Wall-running plays the footsteps faster (that's the sound cue), and makes you "floatier", but I agree it needs a better indicator.

Teleport _should_ take you near the indicator; the indicator just increases color the closer to the actual target, so you'll generally be pointing above or next to the indicator as you normally don't want to teleport into the wall or floor. But it _is_ buggy, so you probably experienced that.

As for the theme I intended to add gamepad controls where the movement is joystick based, and the rest is "2 buttons" but ran out of time. For Mouse/KB, I guess one could argue for 2 (Mouse) button controls, but it's weak, since WASD are also buttons...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]