Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

CyberMayan

by dx0ne - Jam Entry

Tried something with Two buttons control.

In this game as in life follow these simple rules:
Choose your path carefully. Don't turn back.
Avoid bad guys. Or cheat them.
Collect files and get to the glowing exit.

It's unfinished - didn't have time for levels and some features are missing/disabled. Also programmer art warning.
Will do post-LD update for sure at http://dx0ne.itch.io/cybermayan

Turn Left - Z/LMB/LT
Turn Right - X/RMB/RT

//EDIT
If you get a "VCRUNTIM140.dll is missing" error, grab the VC++ redistributables from https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#214Fun(Jam)3.55
#317Graphics(Jam)3.79
#428Theme(Jam)3.77
#525Overall(Jam)3.32
#535Mood(Jam)3.19
#541Audio(Jam)2.95
#579Innovation(Jam)3.04
#627Humor(Jam)2.45

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Very nice game, well dome!!

stevepctech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I liked the concept and execution.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17am

Good job!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Cool game, well done

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Nice and fun puzzler!
The graphics are stylish and moody.
I like it!
Well done :)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Like the design of the game and the gameplay is nice, good work

timeshapers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Cool concept, like the no backtracking mechanic very much. Hope you explore this further with some more levels.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:40am

Nice use of the two buttons theme, and while there are only three levels, they are very well executed! Great job (:

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Looks amazing, particularly the glowing and the quick turns. Great idea too, I would have liked to see more levels. CYBER!

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:42pm

A bit short, very short^^ but nice shader work!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:19pm

That's some pretty programmer art you got going there.

The game mechanics are solid, like Pac-Man with puzzles. The two button controls are well implemented to top it off.

Too bad there are only a few levels; I would have loved to play more.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:49pm

won't start:
---------------------------
UE4Game-Win64-Shipping.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
The procedure entry point __std_terminate could not be located in the dynamic link library VCRUNTIME140.dll.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Neat mechanics, interesting fusion of a Pacman style arcade game with puzzle elements. Cool presentation as well, maybe tone down the bloom effects a little? They seem a bit overblown at times. Nice colour choices though. Fun stuff!

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:15pm

To be polished, with more level, and it'll be good for commercial release.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Couldnt play because my pc is 32 bit. SAD

lurils says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Really nice game, also I think you did chose a great aesthetic did the best with what you had \o

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Thanks everybody for kind words and encouragement. Will definitely do postLD update and then try to strike deal with Disney to make a movie and toy line based on this ;)

@HUMANICS:
Try installing https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

@Mantlair
Uploaded 32bit version on itch.io. Not sure if this is allowed jame wise so maybe don't rate it.

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:02am

Unique look and concept! The final puzzle was great, but kind of a tease because then I wanted to play more. But that's a good thing!

I did find it a little tough with the controls. They accept an input to turn at ANY time, but the play space is broken up into these discrete blocks. I guess what I'm saying is I often turned before the corner and got stuck and died and had to retry. If the controls just "buffered" my turn command until a turn was actually possible it would have done what I meant to do automatically and maybe felt a bit smoother.

The final room with all the files was kind of fun to jam out in for a minute, too, and the text being integrated into the game space was a nice touch. Nice work but of course I would have liked to see some more levels.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:23am

@dxOne: That did the trick!

Strike says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:18am

Pacman revisited with puzzle element, god concept. I believed
I had to collect all files in order to complete the level and that's why I kept failing on the last level. I almost gave up, but before doing so, I tried to see what happens if I reach the end without collecting everything, and that's how the game ended. After so much effort, it was pretty disapointing and I really wanted to play more. You had a lot of potential to build way more levels but I believe you ran out of time, since it is quite a challenge to build interesting puzzles. Very strong graphical identity. It was very pleasant to play. Good work !

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:23pm

pretty game, well done :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Hey I would have play 10-15 more level of this. You should have invest 2-3h for leveldesign. The effect is nice.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Very nice looking, but definitely could have used more levels (even at the expense of giving something else up).

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:43am

Goal glow is excessive in my opinion.

The last level design was clever, I would've like to see more levels.

I had fun trying to collect all the folders on the "thanks for playing" screen, it could be a level :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]