Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cordinatos

by PTSnoop - Compo Entry

A frustrating abstract game, thrown together in two hours on Sunday evening.

Your aim is to grow the circle so that it fills the screen. Moving the circle over a target makes it bigger. Over time, the circle will shrink - and the larger it is, the more rapidly it'll shrink.

The keyboard controls are shown in the top left and top right corner of the screen - one button to push the circle left, and one to push it upwards. But each time you hit a target, the controls will change. And what was once "up/left" can easily become "left/aargh why is this button not doing anything". Good luck!

---

EDIT: Web version added. Thanks, rnlf!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Theme4.13
#188Innovation3.67
#193Overall3.63
#371Fun3.30
#509Graphics3.04
#589Mood2.81
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45am

Nice and simple, yet it kept me busy for a while. I like the minimal visual style -- it feels 'official'' -- like I'm actually taking a test on coordination for some agency. Neat!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I like how it fits the two-button theme, but switches the two buttons, almost making it feel like multiple minigames. Frustrating, minimalistic, but fun!

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

graphics are minimal but it's enough and it allow a good visibility and understanding of your game. The gameplay is great. I liked it !

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

This was a quite promising idea, the style is very nice, however I personally think it would have been much better without switching controls. Nice game, though!

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:26pm

I didn't think it was frustrating at all... once you understand the controls it was actually quite relaxing to play. I had hoped for a bit of a difficulty progression, but it felt like getting easier instead of harder over time.

The visuals work good for this kind of game.

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:19pm

http://www.base13.de/Cordinatos

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:32am

This was a fun little game, but it definitely seemed to get too easy once the ball got big enough. Sometimes when the target would be right up against an edge it was hard to tell where it was but other than that it was pretty good. Nice job!

phi says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:35am

Very interesting concept, kept me playing for quite some time. You implemented both themes in a clever and simple way. However, because of the challenge of the controls constantly changing, I fear there might be no room for adding more game elements in order to make it more interesting. What you've done in the compo is awesome, I was just trying to think about how one could develop it further...
Anyway, great, polished minigame, appealing visuals, awesome work for 2 hours!

anael says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:14am

That was surprising !

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:32am

Very good for two hours work, a good minimal aesthetic with an original concept.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Really cool! I like it a lot :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:31pm

It seemed odd at first, but this was really fun! All it needed was some soothing music and sound effects, maybe even obstacles to avoid to increase difficulty.

I would suggest possibly adding some logic to make sure that the target doesn't spawn within your circle (several times when the circle got big enough, it would grow several times in a row immediately.

Overall great job, I like the idea of the two button controls changing over time!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Very nice prototype of a thing for 2 hours. Would love to see/play an 8hr polished to make it really good version.

dollarone says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:19am

Excellent entry. Not easy to come up with a puzzler! I really like the random buttons idea; it was quite hard to get used to it.

Excellent interpretation of the theme. and I managed to win!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]