Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sort the Court!

by graebor - Jam Entry

You play a king who's in charge of all kinds of important decisions. Give your decree in simple yes or no answers, and help the kingdom grow!

Controls: Y/N to answer questions

Team:
@graebor - Code
@amymja - Art
@bogdan_rybak - Music
(The music is on SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/bogdanrybak/sort-the-court-ludum-dare-34)

Was kind of going for a similar vibe to my LD33 entry, "A Crown of My Own". You could consider these two games to take place in the same world, or maybe as smaller pieces of a larger whole...


Fun facts:
- There are over 150 different things that characters will ask you.
- There are 37 different characters (not including the king!)
- You "win" when your population reaches 250, there is a special scene. The game continues on forever, though! There are lots of little stories to be discovered the longer you play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.43
Coolness57%
#6Humor(Jam)4.44
#15Fun(Jam)4.19
#19Theme(Jam)4.46
#21Audio(Jam)4.29
#29Mood(Jam)4.25
#61Graphics(Jam)4.46
#102Innovation(Jam)3.81

Comments

jnharton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39am

Very nice graphics and the Y/N works quite nicely for two button controls. The creatures that want to eat/prey on the population were hilarious! Aside from the amusing yes/no sounds, it felt a tad lackluster. I did like the day-night cycle though.

Solid entry for sure. I did notice that there's some kind of bug with the response/inquiry text that can pop up if you refuse the wizard. The last half of his statement stays stuck in the message box and you can't what else anyone says. This was after I made the 250 population mark.

ZaineRidding says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56am

Such a fun game to play, nice and simple, good story, addictive and using both game modes! Thumbs up

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:07pm

I really enjoyed this game. In fact I'd probably still be playing it had I not come across the same bug after refusing the wizard.
I love all the details in the game and the different inquiries that the people and creatures have. I love the LD-34 robot who made a game and the mouse that gave me gold after I decided not to send it away. All in all a great game! Makes me want to visit all the shops the people are opening with my money =)

graebor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Dang, that issue with the wizard is really going to bug me, I can't figure out what could be causing it... If anyone else notices it please let me know what was happening/what you did right before and what happens after, hopefully I can track it down!

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

So cute and nicely done, absolutely no complaints!
Graphics and animations are very polished, the responses are funny and the music and sounds suit it perfectly. Bravo!

makiki99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27pm

This game is perfect for one play. It doesn't have this replay ability, but it doesn't need this. I can't really put my finger on anything that would need more polish.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

So, the choices could be more complicated. The game is super slow which gets annoying after some time, especially when you get the same request few times in a row. Nevertheless I LOVE it :)). Well polished, great visuals, great audio, neat gameplay, sweet small animations. Very solid entry, grats!

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41pm

10/10 would sort again. It broke after I got around 800 people though. Everybody started to say "I though you might be! We can make quite a bit of mo"

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Wonderful game! My favorite part was the audio, especially the music. Funny and addictive, as well.

Only thing is it feels too long. I'm on day 31 and still seeing new stuff, although rarely now.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Nice job - probably the longest time I've spent playing an LD entry :) The edges of the text were cut off on my screen when it was full screen (1920x1200) but other than that a great, fun little game. Thanks!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Nice. The yes and no sounds were surprisingly fun. Also I wish the decisions you make weren't so transparent. Of course you pet the kitten. Of course you don't say no to the grandma. (if you want happiness) Et cetera :)

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Funny city manager made with only 2 buttons controls, excellent! reminds me of old days... =)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

:D Cool game, and yse I agree, we should do everything we can to keep them.

smilingrob says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20pm

I really like that you spent time having more variety instead of 'proper' animations. The variety is fantastic.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I built up my kingdom to what it once was... and then I burned it to the ground "game-of-thrones mad-king" style haha.

Art is really cute, the music was really nice, and I loved the subtle little noises the king makes as you make decisions.

overall, I really enjoyed this game and will definitely be playing more, great job to everyone involved! :)

Skazma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07pm

An absolute delight!

I really like the music, and the game as a whole was humorous and fun, really great job!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07am

The graphics and music are wonderful. The writing is hilarious (especially some of the reference characters).

With some additional interplay between the characters I could see this becoming a full game! The Witch and the Slime for example, could have a full short story on their own, and many other characters could have similar stories with branching paths depending on your decisions. I would give more examples, but I don't want to spoil too much for anyone!

Great work!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

Awesome game! Amazing quality, very polished and fun to play. Love it! :D

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

Oh man. It was very hard to put this game down. A lot of depth and funny text. The people didn't seem to have a lot of memory though; I could let chester feast on them one day, and then get a cup of tea the next, and things would be cool.

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Beautiful game! It fits both themes really well.
Really cute art and nice soundtrack. It is great to see your town in the background and your pile of gold grow during the process.

I also like the choices you have with a simple yes or no mechanic. It really is addictive and I don't think that I saw every possible encounter which is great for replayability.

IIRC you made a crafting game last LD, it would've been cool to see the monster again :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Really comical gameplay and dialog. I especially liked the part where you get to decide if a man is cool or not.

Only problem was the dialog getting stuck after a while, but I'm shure that will get fixed.

graebor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Thanks for the feedback, all! People who have seen the dialog get stuck, can you provide any other details about exactly when / what you were doing when it happened? Also what OS/browser are you using? I have played the game tons and watched others play it a lot and still have never seen the issue myself so I'm at a total loss as to what to do about it...

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Really nice work here!

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Best entry so far. Brilliant. Was really glad to see the monster from the previous game.

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Very enjoyable game with an awesome mood. The people had so much character in their dialogue and sprite! Works great as a whole and love the chance character like the devil or wizard. Nitpicking: wish it would say how much something was gonna cost before doing it but then again I got rich of that devil so had no need to worry.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

Awesome job! The visuals and the audio really meshed well, and the game itself was super cute!

Saranyaan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:07am

This is one of my favorite entries it's soo cute! ^///^
But I also had the wizard bug sadly. I just refused him before he could finish talking, maybe that has something to do with it?

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:06am

Definitely the most addictive game. I played for almost 2 hours trying to get all dialogues and to get my money all the way to the top. The graphics are cute and I like the simplistic style. The music is calm and fits the mood. The characters were fun and I liked how some of your choices actually had a greater impact on the game.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:32am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w27hgnRlpfc&feature=youtu.be

Wizard bug starts just after 25:55 I started spamming Y/N around that time code to progress faster.

graebor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:33am

The text sticking bug should be fixed now thanks to hyperscope's help with tracking down the issue. Let me know if anyone still encounters the bug after this post :)

Hegemege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I could play this for ages, reached 1500 pop and couldn't get any new characters or stories for a few days. Absolutely fantastic, well polished! My top favorite for sure so far!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Great game! It have a lot of hilarious dialogues, and I love that actions will make hings change. Also, random characters like the wizard were a nice addition. A really solid entry.

5/5

Gipzo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Great job! Really enjoyed your game. It felt like a polished small game, not like a typical Ludum entry :D
Additional respects to @bogdan_rybak for great music!

abuzreq says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I really loved it !
the music were cool , the characters and the narrative were interesting .
I really liked the art , even though it sound simple in its composition it turned out very coherent and beautiful .
The challenge isn't great though ,if you know the good choices and never traded your people souls it turns out good
(well except for that stupid dragon :P )

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:46pm

What a charming gem, loved everything about, characters, sfx, music, mood...well done guys!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Awesome! I'd really love to see this more fleshed out with more meaningful choices.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Oh man, this game is so cool I can't even describe it. Love the variety and all the characters designs. The music is awesome, and I love everything all the characters come up with. Five stars in all the fields from me :D WELL DONE!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:19pm

It's very aesthetically pleasing and I really enjoy the artstyle and the very cutesy mood of the game. It was also pretty nice to see the progression of the town growing in the background, just wished there had been just a little bit more of it.

The soundtrack is also very nice and I do like some of the scenarios, like for instance the robot and the fact that you had to keep on listening to his "brilliant" game idea. Nice touch :P.

The Y/N-mechanic works fine, though considering that it just kept on looping the same events I felt like I could predict alot of the outcomes and for instance gold never really became a problem for me. This could've been remedied a bit perhaps by making the gold-loss/gain a little bit more drastic perhaps, or some events being a bit more unpredictable by randomizing results. It might've helped add a little bit more tension to it.

Otherwise it was really nice. I definitely digged the mood of this game and all in all it was pretty nice adorable little experience. Good job! :)

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Enjoyed a lot! Very nice graphics and interesting game with funny characters.

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:22am

I enjoyed this game a lot. Loved the graphics, music and gameplay. I want to play a lot more!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:31am

this is simple but really cool game, i've enjoyed it!!!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Very cool game! It was really fun to play it. Congratulations to the team

mxjones says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:53pm

I liked the graphics, cool game!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Beautiful and quirky and polished and fun. I love it! I'm floored by the amount of content you squeezed in, too, and it's all enjoyable. Little nuances like the scaffolding outside the window as the town grows, the piles of coins effect...this is great!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Lovely graphics, really fun game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:37pm

What a great game. It's simple, casual fun. The unique characters are interesting, especially when they are related to some other characters, or have their own stories told through different "questions".
I played for 25 in-game days, and at that point, it seemed that there was no more unique encounters, but that's understandable, it's Ludum Dare after all. Actually, I'm surprised at how much content there was for a Ludum Dare game! My stats after 25 days were around 700-something people, 200-something happiness and 500-something money, I think.
The art and the effects are great, the music was very good (a major reason to why I managed to play it for so long, way longer than any other Ludum Dare game *ever*), the stories were fun and interesting, and just the overall feel of the game was brilliant. Best game of Ludum Dare 34!

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:37pm

What a great game. It's simple, casual fun. The unique characters are interesting, especially when they are related to some other characters, or have their own stories told through different "questions".

I played for 25 in-game days, and at that point, it seemed that there was no more unique encounters, but that's understandable, it's Ludum Dare after all. Actually, I'm surprised at how much content there was for a Ludum Dare game! My stats after 25 days were around 700-something people, 200-something happiness and 500-something money, I think.

The art and the effects are great, the music was very good (a major reason to why I managed to play it for so long, way longer than any other Ludum Dare game *ever*), the stories were fun and interesting, and just the overall feel of the game was brilliant. Best game of Ludum Dare 34!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:47am

Very interesting and fun game, when I saw it the first time, I didn't expect to play it so long.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:16am

Very cute and I love the chained events that sometimes don't pop up for a while. (Ended up with 550-184-550 at the end of day 15.)

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:35pm

This... is... just... AWESOME. So much polish, content, ... just wow. Best game I've played on LD so far!

Btw, does the game end? I would appreciate some sign of ending.

Ellian says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:58pm

That's a very, very cool and entertaining game!
All the characters are so cute and well designed, and there's so much dialog options you don't often run into the same... It's realy cool :D

I kinda wish some "big" thing happened, and/or that some early decisions would have big impact later on or something... but it's still great <3

Pixel-boy says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:50am

The music is nice and make a awesome mood combine with the art, I really love the character design, with choices mechanic and dialog they give a unique personality to the game.
I really enjoyed playing this game thanks !

Enrymion says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Nice, one thing I thought might make it cooler is if it kept track of and occasionally told the exact number of citizen of certain types like how many mice, prisoners or slimes do I have?

simon11030 says ...
Jan 9, 2016 @ 2:50am

Great game but would be better if you add war choices or marriage

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]