Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Puff Enuff?

by bitslap - Compo Entry

Puff Enough?

Control your little puff with left and right arrow key.
Jump left with left and right with right. You start with 3 jumps.

Hold Both left and right key to shoot. You will target nearest chest or enemy.

Switch between burst and shotgun with the 1 and 2 keys.

Collect gold from chests to spend in the slot machine.

Game is endless.

Use Q to quit :(
Use R to restart if you rolled a bad game :(

Gold is points.


Linux and Mac versions on the horizon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Overall3.94
#67Graphics4.15
#71Fun3.84
#111Mood3.65
#143Innovation3.74
#165Audio3.41
#267Theme3.98
#399Humor2.53
#2311Coolness14%

Comments

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09am

I like the game but I feel the two button controls don't work too well. It would be much better with a jump button. I like the graphics.

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19am

Neat game bitslap, liked the lighting. Gameplay was fun too, I liked being able to wall jump. I think the game slowed down once I got to that second stage (with the music), but it didn't prevent me from having good time.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

I got to the seconds level then got hopelessly lost and gave up. The shadow/circle of light system was pretty annoying I think partially because the transition was too harsh. The movement system was an interesting challenge but would get pretty annoying wandering abround looking for the exit. Also chests > enemies when shooting.

Husky says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

I like your two button controls, it's challenging and fun to me! :D

gabriel_pnc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

Best played game so far!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

I had a tough time with the control scheme at first, but after failing the first time I decided to give it another shot and that one went much better. Maybe my first dungeon was just harder to navigate. Once I got a hang of jumping into my shot and switching weapons the fun started to pick up and I enjoyed my time with it. Thanks!

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39am

Very cool! The graphics are amazing, the effects are also good. A problem I see is small movements are very tricky, always using up a jump. But overall it's a really great idea, I love the vertical dungeon crawler aspect to it. Very well done!

Source code?

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

Unexpectedly awesome, low the shotgun! Side note: resizing the window breaks the darkness effect a bit. It also works fine in WINE.

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

Really nice game and awesome graphics. Controlling the jump is tough though..

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12am

I reallllly like what you've done with the graphics. Visual style is super consistent and pretty, and the lighting effect is super neat. The movement controls are satisfying, but can be a little tough. The lighting effect (however cool) made it pretty hard to figure out what I was supposed to be doing / where I was supposed to be going. Overall, my favorite game I'm played so far. If you polish this up a bit, it could be very fun. Great work.

Connors says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

This is fairly well thought out and I didn't get any levels that wound up impossible to navigate. I often felt like the enemies were difficult to hit, even with automatic aim, but it made for an interesting challenge. You have to be really careful about unopened chests because the bullets seek out the nearest shoot-able item. I actually killed the boss on my first try and it felt pretty good. I would have liked if it were easier to maneuver side-to-side on the ground since you jump every time you press a button and sometimes it takes a few tries to get inside small spaces. However, the controls work pretty well considering the 2-button constraint. I didn't have any problem with the "press both buttons to shoot" mechanic and i think it's a good way to use the buttons. Overall, this game was a lot of fun and it seems well-polished.

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20am

cool game, sometimes kinda hard to follow the character because the color is similar with lighting effect.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

Its kinda hard to see the character and the control scheme is hard to learn but after you get used to it is really fun!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

Really like the music and graphics. I could see this being fleshed out into a full release.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:35am

This is a really cool game! You packed a lot into it for 48 hours! I'm impressed. Sometimes I had a hard time knowing where I was supposed to go, but I did appreciate finding some of the secrets (like the gambling machine!) The tripple jump felt really good! I loved that it was even higher than the others. The general shooting sound was a little loud and made it hard to hear when I actually hit an enemy/chest. The art and style was very nice. Really fun stuff!

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14am

Excellent work!

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42am

Very challenging and nicely polished!

Waynetron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

The lighting effect doesn't add anything to the game and makes this really frustrating to play.
The jumping mechanic feels tight, and the visuals / sound and music is really nice.

aarkipel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Cute game!

Crashed on the boss.


___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object oPlayer:

Variable <unknown_object>.<unknown variable>(100132, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_oPlayer_Step_0
############################################################################################

terop says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Very unique concept for moving the player. It was actually pretty difficult to learn, but after a while, you learned new tricks of how to jump twice in a row. The camera movement was jerky a little, but otherwise the game looks very nice. Graphics was good. The light limited visibility. Getting past some red dots was difficult.

bitslap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Fixed crashing and freezing.

Ditto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Huhhh, I like how the kinda sloppy controls make this so much more panicky, I got almost 200 gold at some point and got super nervous and sloppy and fucked up big time and died, haha :D Graphics add to the panic imo, being a bit claustrophobic with the short viewdistance etc. Good overall design, I liked it a lot! :D

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I really like this, the gameplay is awesome, but i don't see the point of the limited vision other than looking cool; it feels needlessly frustrating with an already limited control scheme.
Not sure how i feel about using a slot machine to get upgrades instead of a shop, seems like it would be frustrating in the long run.
The concept is really solid though, great work!

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Oh, I really want to play! It looks both beautiful and awesome. Looking forward to Mac support! :)

oxysoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

very nice graphics but it's hard to follow what's happening on the screen. Shooting with both buttons isn't too too good either

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Confusing, but interesting - especially in graphics.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

This is a great complete package - sound and graphics would look right at home on a Super Nintendo. Good use of the theme, too.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This is fun. The illusion of control :P Really like the auto-aiming thing. It just feels like you can just bomb around like mad without a care.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:48pm

The extremely low range of vision was kind of annoying, especially once I cleared out an area and didn't really know where to go next.

Kept missing many jumps where I figured I could go higher only because I couldn't plan the jumps required. Then I simply couldn't find a way out of my area so I just kept jumping randomly until I stumbled upon one with enemies and chests remaining.

Besides that I liked it though. The controls were awkward for a minute or two at the beginning, but then I got the hang of it and was able to move and fire at stuff more or less "with purpose," as in not jumping and shooting randomly but actually getting the result I intended with a specific sequence of inputs (hope that's not too technical or nonsensical).

One change I might recommend besides the visiblity is that if a chest is closer to you than an enemy, the enemy should be the selected target anyway. This is a little tricky in closed spaces otherwise. It wasn't a huge deal though, just something I noticed once or twice.

The graphics and music are suitably retro-ish, the sound effects are mostly good although I think the coin collecting sound was a little too abrasive. I'm nitpicking though just to give some criticism, overall it's a very nice game. I got some ~500 gold on my first play. Also got the boss I think? although I died pretty quick on that one.

Overall 4/5!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05am

Looks awesome. Sounds awesome. Feels awesome. Everything is awesome!

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03am

The controls were so hard, but I enjoyed it a lot! :D

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14am

This is the best game I've played till now. This is type of game I was waking up early before school to play for five minutes on my commodore 64. I loved it. I also liked how there is no infinite gameplay, I hate that. Controls are not so hard and not so easy at the same time. I think you should vary levels and bosses and definitely go for post-jam. Keep up the good work.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22pm

The controls were smooth and worked well with the level design. A bit awkward to get used to, especially when trying to jump onto a 1-block platform (instinct told me to adjust for straying too far right by pressing left, then when that catapulted me to the left to press right, etc)

Biggest frustration early game was that the autoaim didn't differentiate between enemies and chests. It would have felt better to aim for any enemies within range (and not behind a wall) before any chests were chosen as targets.

I liked the intro level which let the player figure out the mechanics without the threat of death. And the the slot machines as a method of upgrades worked really well in the game's setting/theme, while also being balanced rather well.

Because of the knockback of the weapon, I found it impossible to stay on 1-block platforms after hitting the chest there, and the gold always vanished before I got back on/caught any.

Also, mashing right quickly enough on the slot machine seemed to always give me a reward. Not sure if that's intentional. Waiting between button presses worked like you'd expect a slot machine to.

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Love the pixel art graphics, awesome idea, very challenging. Good job!

DominoGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59pm

i really hope you expand on this and create a full game out of it , its excellent

ajmalr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Fun game with awesome graphics! It's bit difficult to get the hang of the controls at first.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Fun game. A bit hard to get used to the controls.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

The animation is so smooth it's incredible, and while the lighting and shadows are a bit jittery it works well here. Gameplay is really good, love the challenging platforming although the shooting doesn't work all the time. Brilliant game nonetheless!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14pm

After you get used to the controls it's pretty cool! I think a couple levels rather than the randoms would have been better, I collected a lot of gold though! Never found a boss. Nice work. Good fun!

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35am

No mac or web build? :(

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57am

cool and stunning game, well done :)

nopogo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22am

When I first saw a gif of this game I thought it was going to be an endless climber. The result turned out waaay better then I imagined. Really love the controls of this game, also really dig the visuals with all the little pixel particle effects. Would love to see this as a full game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Sadly, it lagged for me, but this game is really nice! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rvwkTXA2Y10

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40pm

very good game! the light spot makes it very interesting also it's quite a challenging

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Well made game. The controls were a bit hard to get use to though and that made the whole finding all the enemies quite a job. So I guess my suggestion would be to make the levels smaller and/or make the enemies easier to find. But all in all a very good game.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Excellent game! I found the controls easy to get used to, and I think it has the perfect difficulty.

kaype says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Amazing art/graphics, always as expected from you bitslap!

Reminds me a lot of frogtale and I really like the little lighting effect

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Good entry. Game mechanic bit frustrating but it's pretty fun on first level but boring on second. Can't understand how to beat boss =(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:51am

beautiful game but the controls were hard - had a great time playing - nice job

ianh says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:45am

This game's got a real oldschool feel to it. Some cool graphical effects in there for sure! I do wish you could see a *little* more of your surroundings though.

rnlf says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:25pm

I think this is the first bitslap game that didn't make me ragequit several times before finally finishing it days later :-)

The art is great, as usual. The gameplay is smooth, just needs a bit getting used to.

A real ending would have been nice.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:33am

When I started the game it slowed down a lot :(

I accidentally skipped the slot machine the first time. Whoops. Also I think the music was a little painful to listen to for a long time.

I'll have another go and get back to you

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Yeah, I don't think I can fairly rate this game because it runs too slowly on my computer :<

I'm not sure why, maybe the game is updating/rendering everything including particles in the level even though it's only showing a small part of it?

:( I want to play! Fix it!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:30am

Anyone who says they don't like the controls is crazy. This is one of my favorite games this time around, and I don't even usually like platformers, as a general rule. Controls + physics = nailed it.

Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:54am

super fun game! unfortunately it keeps crashing for me around my first or second chest so i'm not really able to play very far =( (running on win8).

putting that aside, a lot of people in other comments seem not to like the two button control scheme but i feel like that and the growing darkness add elements of difficulty that if absent would probably make the game too easy to be fun, so forget the haters!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:47am

nice. bitslap. meaning nice graphics, sounds were abit loud, but that just means i need to turn my headset down, your lighting is sweet, a bit dense at times but nice. awkward movement, but shooting was nice and easy. got three hearts at the casino.

cilerba says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Awesome as always, Bitslap! - RatCasket

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:05pm

You were featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9tXmMvEBfI

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Cool game! The controls are challenging but also original. Some of the jumps were quite cool to master! Procedural dungeons are great! Good graphics although the twitchy shadows are hard to endure for a long time. Great work

Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Nice game. Wasn't quite sure of the goal, but it was fun to hop around and blast stuff.

Jwatt says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Unmistakably a bitslap game, in both good and bad. The music was like avant-garde free jazz.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:16am

Very fun game with a surprisingly large amount of content! Enjoyed each level and loved that the theme of the levels changed with each one - really helped keep things interesting. Only complaint I had was with trying to shoot enemies while chests were nearby, but thankfully that didn't happen too terribly often. Very well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]