Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vine

by salmonmoose - Compo Entry

Vine

Collect blossoms and grow, without getting tangled in the existing jungle.

This entry follows both themes, Two Button Control, and Growing.

Use left and right to rotate the camera, and avoid growing into the blocks of leaves. Collect blossoms to score - each blossom you collect creates a branch, and speeds you up. Branches grow cocoons, collect mature cocoons and slow yourself down.

I'm personally quite happy with how the vine looks during an established game.


NOTES:

*TAP* the buttons, don't hold them down, the game is meant to be twitchy, and you'll need that once you start picking up more blossoms.

Blossoms always spawn on screen, if you can't find them, backtrack (guess how that's done).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#63Graphics4.16
#66Mood3.83
#68Theme4.27
#131Audio3.52
#244Overall3.55
#301Fun3.39
#369Innovation3.34
#588Humor2.12

Comments

scars377 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I feel so dizzy

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:47pm

I like how the vine grows, however, the controlls are a bit too sensitive and I don´t know if it was intended, but the walltextures glitched a bit (at least the edges of every block piece (i guess they were plane/cube parts how it seemed))

Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:52pm

This is probably the craziest version of Snake, I have ever seen. You definitely represent the theme with it. Nice! ^_^

Levithan6785 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Some people just want to watch the world spin.
Controls are definitely a little sensitive and could be worked on. Possibly adding a sensitivity slider if you plan on continuing the game?

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58am

I toned down the rotation a bit, but it is meant as part of the challenge of the game.

JanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

The graphics are a little glitch and the controls are way too sensitive, good mood and vine looks cool.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Simple, fun, well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Great game! :) I love it!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I like the idea, and the graphics are really good. I felt a bit disoriented afterwards!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

im so dizzy xD. Nice game! I love the graphics. Good job

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Good feeling. An indicator tells where are flowers will help a lot.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Very nice graphics, but the maximum rotation speed should be limited...

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Really sensitive controls but nice concept!

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

This is great. One of the really fun and addictive games on this jam.

I like the graphics that seem to imply you are deep within a garden or bush of some kind. The sound effects are very ambient and not intrusive.

Controls are very sensitive, which I assume is deliberate. This really adds to the difficulty.

My only suggestion would be to allow you to see your score (flowers collected?) on the game over screen so you can see it and then attempt to beat it, after you fail.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23pm

The vine is really beautiful, great job!

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:10am

Disregarding a couple of glitches with the wall textures the graphics look great. The sound is good too.

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33am

This is really cool! I'd have to say my main issue with it is the control sensitivity.

I know the idea is to just tap the buttons so you don't go flying but, if I may, I'd say drastically slowing down the sensitivity would benefit this game greatly. It would make you have to plan out where you grew and how you approached collecting flowers/cocoons. As it is now I can turn on a dime and it can feel like the reason I hit a block of leaves was because the sensitivity spun me too fast and I hit the block anyway.

Another idea might be to have an increasing speed sensitivity as you hold a button down.

Anyway, just wanted to throw some suggestions! Great job!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36am

Yeah the glitchy tiles were because I didn't want to clean up how my tile pool worked, and it kind of, sort of, looked like the leaves were waving in the wind.

I like the idea of increasing sensitivity, the speed thing really is a problem for a lot of people, but you really need it in late-game.

guru-guru says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19am

Pretty but oh-boy the controls.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20am

I really like the theme and animations, controls are weird to use though. I figure it's meant to be a challenge but probably could be toned down more. Overall well done though! :)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18am

This game is great fun! I could play for a long time. I hope you keep working on it after this, I would love to see something more polished. :)

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

The game is visually stunning, I thought the butterflies were especially beautiful! the audio really adds to the mood. I like it a lot, reminds me of the game "flower" :) thanks and great job!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:00am

A bit too sensitive but I understand why you made the controls like this. Otherwhise the game is pretty relaxing and well polish. Well done!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24am

Man this controls poorly. I love the graphics of the game. But I wonder whether it would have been nicer if the screen didn't rotate so much. Or you changed the sensitivity of the controls. Good Luck!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:05am

One of the most beautiful compo games I've ever seen. Way to go!. I would get rid of the camera acceleration - but otherwise an amazing compo entry!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:14am

If you could make a sandbox mode (as a seperate download) with the obstacles removed and the rotation sensitivty turned down a couple notches, I could play this for hours. I'm serious, btw. If you could add an alternate sandbox download that would make my day.

A lot of games this LD have done the vine/snake thing, but I don't think I've seen one done this smoothly or beautifully.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:30am

Butterflies! :D

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17am

Had a lot of fun!

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Graphics are really nice !

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Hard to control but so so satisfying when you success to play it :p

I really enjoyed it, great theme use!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:44am

Became a bit confused as to where the blossoms were, but fortunately after a couple attempts noticed they were at spawn. Gets a bit hectic after speeding up enough, and the controls require a little getting used to, but altogether this is a nicely made game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I like the controls, although I got a bit dizzy! The audio is really nice too. The vine grows nicely and it's really satisfying to just make pretty shapes.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I got really dizzy - it looks super nice, but I somehow think it would have been better just to change the direction you are growing and not rotate the screen.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:16am

I got too dizzy to continue, but the vine, flowers, and butterflies were all really beautiful!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Pretty simple in terms of gameplay but art and sound wise it's incredibly beautiful and fits both themes very well (I probably agree with the others about the rotation making people dizzy though).

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Your game looks incredible, it fits the theme really well and the vines look great. Buy the camera controls are a bit too sensitive and it actually ties my stomach into a knot!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:18pm

For some reason, this ridiculously high sensitivity feels very appropriate! I think it's because it makes you want to be more gentle and the game is all so very calm and zen... The choice to make the screen rotate rather than the head of the vine is also very clever. You definitely nailed the graphics and especially the audio! Gotta love the useless butterflies! Very good game-feel overall.

Great job!!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Oh and I forgot, please next time don't make me alt-F4 your game to leave it, it makes me feel bad :(

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:03am

Awesome game.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Although in the core this is a simple Snake game, it's just beautifuly executed. I love the graphics and the audio (background sound and butterfly flight) and having to tap the buttons instead of pressing them gives the whole thing a weird subtle or sensitve mood.

But please have a "quit" option next time - I had to kill the task to leave the game.

dollarone says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Beautiful and excellent take on the theme. Audio adds to the mood. Controls a challenge, but intentionally so (I think). The vine looks really nice even with my spinning addiction. Great stuff!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:13pm

This was AWESOME. Great art, sounds and controls. Completely fun to drive the vine around and rotate the camera. Great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]