Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two-Punch Man

by canary40 - Jam Entry

Welcome to Two-Punch man, a two button mashing fest with a hint of finesse.
Fight up against numerous opponents to take your rightful place as Champion of Boxers!
While in attacking mode press Z to jab, X to hook.
While in defense mode press Z to dodge left, X to dodge right. Press Z and X at the same time to toggle modes.
Warning: This game is not easy but definitely beatable. There's a special way to beat each opponent.

Note: Loading up the first level seems to take some time.. sometimes.
Post jam version does some tweaking and bug fixes. No new content is added.
There are a few bugs in jam version, should be fixed in post-compo version. Leave a note if you encounter a bug:
- Sometimes defeat is not registered properly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#304Humor(Jam)3.04
#382Theme(Jam)3.81
#439Graphics(Jam)3.60
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#505Audio(Jam)3.03
#567Innovation(Jam)3.07
#725Mood(Jam)2.96
#787Fun(Jam)2.81

Comments

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:49am

great realization of two buttons control with couple of player states!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:59am

Having to switch between attack and defense modes is a little clumsy. It fits within the theme but kinda wears on the gameplay.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:46am

Switching from attack and defense is a little buggy, but great game!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:35am

I felt like all I did was hit a button (either) when the opponent put their guard down. It took a long time, so I wasn't interested in seeing if waiting through another couple fighters would introduce more interesting elements.

Zaeche says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:06am

Thanks for all the feedback guys! It really helps us pin down what worked, and what did not.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:44am

The games covers two button controls but at those two control seems kinda buggy me mixing with defense and attack at the same. Beside its good game btw. :)

I hope you can improve further more. Keep it a good work ( ^o^)_b

Jace239 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:02pm

The concept's good, it fits the theme and it has good graphics and audio. Unfortunately, it's just not very fun with the switching stances mechanic. It's difficult to time pushing both buttons and often I'll just push one or the other, making this more a game of button-mashing and luck than skill. If you work on this further, maybe you could control stances via the mouse's position instead, where if the mouse is on the enemy's side it's offensive, and if it's on your side, it's defensive. Or something like that. Anyway, it's still a well-made game. Good job.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:09am

Nice little game.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:46am

Liked the art and music. Found it a little too awkward to swap stances quickly. If I tried to dodge at all I'd end up flailing about dodging when I wanted to attack!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:06am

A really fun game with nice graphics and audio. Good job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:06am

This was great! the only complauin is the switching mechanic but the fighst were really funny,. Good job!

canary40 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:12am

currently swapping stances can only be done when you're in idle mode.. that is.. you can't be hit or attacking while you do it. In retrospect probably should have buffered stance-switching...

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Nice idea with good graphics and audio. I like the different opponents with different strategies. In the first match the defense mode isn't necessary, it's enough to wait for the right moment and then punch the opponent. For the second opponent the defense mode is necessary, but I had trouble to switch between both modes. Maybe the combination of keys is part of the problem, I have a qwertz keypoard.

Zaeche says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:12am

Excellent point, loxo!

I'm glad you brought up the topic of different keyboard layouts (QWERTY vs QWERTZ vs Dvorak etc): it may not be a issue per se, when all one need do is rebind the controls, but in cases like this - where the controls are preset - it's a very important point to keep a weather eye on.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:26am

I like the base concept, but as others have said, switching between modes can be a little clumsy. The graphics and audio are pretty good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]