Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Relay

by Jon Reid - Jam Entry

Ludum Dare 34 entry - Two button controls

This game is about being a telegraph technician in the 5 days prior to christmas day, 1914, the year of the famous christmas truce.

You have to relay messages from the front line back to base using morse code. As each day passes, troops die, and food gets eaten. Send the right messages back to get more troops and resources to make it to christmas day.

Use [F] to send dots, and [J] to send dashes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Mood(Jam)4.46
#19Overall(Jam)4.24
#53Innovation(Jam)3.96
#79Theme(Jam)4.24
#81Graphics(Jam)4.36
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#272Humor(Jam)3.13
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39am

Fantastic art direction, overall tone is great and I enjoyed the gameplay quite a bit as well. Congrats!

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

The graphics look great I love the stop watch being the timer.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

The graphic's are amazing. Not only that, but this was a really good idea as well.

JanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Great mood and idea, the only thing i didnt like is that the I in the book looks weird. But great game overall.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

This is amazing! It's a really cool concept and pretty realistic. Realistically challenging, that is :D

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

This is REALLY impressive. So simple and yet SO effective! Incredibly well done! I think I actually picked up a decent amount of morse code playing this and had fun doing so. In a depressing way. Especially with those bombs. Damn. Great job with this!

gabriel_pnc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52am

I love it! the art and sound are really fantastic and beautiful, the game is really simple and effective, holds you on it. its really fun!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36am

Good mood and graphics. Good concept. Didn't find it as fun. Sometimes the timing of the buttons made it hard to send the message ... not sure what message the troops got from me.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44am

​Really clever LDJAM entry. Great audio, graphics and concept!

pzeronow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

Loved it!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38am

Greetings fellow Morse game creator. :) Some messages seemed to repeat or be trivial, but the overall mood was well done. I played through to the end, and felt like I might be learning Morse in the process.

Spyboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

I was truly happy to memorise the alphabet as I played. In the end i wasn't even looking at the note, great feeling!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Love the mood this sets. Also a great way to learn Morse code!

tompudding says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Yay another morse game! Wonderful mood and quite fun to play, and the repetition is actually useful as you can see you much better you get. Great work.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

This a the new level of type-games and i'm glad it exists. The mood is great and I learned some morse and that's cool!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Great idea, great execution, great atmosphere. The last day put a smile on my face.

Main issue I had was that no matter how well I performed there never seemed to be enough troops and supplies coming in to cover the losses. It was really hard to tell how much my abilities actually influenced the course of battle. It makes sense that the available troops have to be redistributed by HQ and not a technician, but my actions felt a bit meaningless.
I wasn't able to see any punishment for failing letters, either.

As a complete nitpick, I started out waiting for the sfx of the dashes and dots to finish playing before sending the next symbol, but the ended up with me failing the letter. I had to mash the combination, which ended up with some of the dashes merging together in audio? It worked fine, though, no big issue there.

Great audio design, too. I realize the music's not yours, but the contrast between that and the military noises really lent a unique mood to the game.

arzi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:26am

Perfectly scoped, enormously moody, good and innovative gameplay. This is one of those games you just look at in awe. Great work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:39am

Really neat concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/7EMaRu1rC0U

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Amazing graphics and mood, idea was very brilliant for two button controls. I love it!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:11pm

Nice concept and really freaking. I am a noob with telegraph and it is really frustrating that I cannot send a clear message. Music is great like mood. Thumbs up ++

Blobby101 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Brilliant entry! Great to see a really original idea like this, and it was pretty challenging too.

Jan 11, 2016 @ 8:55pm

I love this game. Will it be possible to download whole Unity Project? I'm dreaming about playing modified version, where is only one button, and much more words to enter.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]