Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sluggy's Fruit Emporium

by YM - Jam Entry

Sell fruit to a variety of alien customers in VR (htc Vive only)
What's that? You're an alien slug? Yeah well humanity wiped themselves out millennia ago.

Grow your business, don't forget to order in more stock before you run out, your order-tron 7000 only works if you already have an item to scan!



Requires an htc Vive with at least 1.5m square space, preferably about 2.5m square.

Controls:
triggers - pickup/put down.
trigger - press buttons.

////
hints:
-You have to scan a fruit to order it.
-Check that face customers make when you hold up fruit for them.
-Your tentacles will extend to a meter beyond the controller, for extra grabbing range
////

By Timothy Johnson
With:
Characters by Liz Edwards
Additional models by Miguel Melara

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2373Coolness10%

Comments

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41am

I can't actually play it as I don't own a htc Vive BUT your game has provided me and my friends with a ton of enjoyment. We had great laughts watching the update gifs you posted on twitter and kept us going with our own development. Having opened up the game the alien sounds go above and beyond expectation! It's a pity I can't vote :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43am

The game doesn't seem to launch correctly, the camera is embedded into the ground and I can't seem to control anything

YM says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49am

@Theropod, are you starting it with or without SteamVR running?

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

I love this alien <3 hahaa

graebor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Game ran fine for me without any problems, and I quite enjoyed it! Touches like seeing the eye blinking in front of my field of view and the fact that the arms intentionally don't precisely follow the controllers actually made me feel like a human wearing an alien suit, stuck on some planet where I can't communicate, trying to figure out what people want - like I was infiltrating their society. Great idea to have the non-VR camera pointed at the shop from outside, so much of the charm comes from having another person able to see you flopping around as the creature. Also, showing the actual vive controllers transparently was a very good call, I felt comfortable with my "body" being bigger than me since I could still see a representation of my real hands.

I know how difficult room-scale VR stuff can be to work on, and it's so rad how much you got done in only 3 days, so forgive me if you've already thought about this stuff but just didn't have time to implement, but here are a few crits that came to mind:

- It was difficult to know when I was able to interact with something because at first I didn't know if my tentacle had to be near it or my actual hand.
- I would highly recommend highlight states for when interactable items are in range so you know when pressing the trigger is supposed to work.
- It took me a while to figure out that you had to give them the right thing before the money even became interactable. Some way of visually differentiating "static money" vs "money I can pick up" would have helped.
- When I threw objects they always seemed to leave my hand awkwardly and fall short of the velocity I expected.
- Being able to smack the cash register drawer closed with my tentacle made me expect to be able to smack the buttons as well, just a weird inconsistency.

Great job on keeping all the interactivity to in-world items rather than tacking unnatural UI stuff on top of your art. And great job overall! Awesome to see jam results from a vive dev! Sorry if this is super verbose or rambly but I figure not many people will be able to try this without the hardware so I wanted to dump my thoughts to try and give you something useful. Cheers!

Komradus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Really cool to see the progression of this project. Shame I don't have a Vive but would look forward to one day playing this.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

I wasn`t able to play this game, but i really liked the gameplay video. It`s very funny and well done. congratulations to the team

Dejvo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I don't have a HTC but, it looks amazing based on the video well done

Zemmi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

This looks like it would be my favourite entry if only I had an HTC Vive.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04am

I wish I had Vive, this is remarkable! And the Tatooine vibes, and the Rodian-like aliens... Is someone waiting for the new star wars? <3
Brilliant style

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:09pm

A real shame I can't try this baby :) Has nothing to do with the theme, but hey so what, right? Well done :)

YM says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:34am

It only uses two buttons for the controls! :<

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]