Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Button Sniper

by BubuIIC - Jam Entry

Esc for menu. R for reload.
If the web version is too slow use the download version (requires java).
There is one nasty bug: When you pause the game, all of the moving platforms get completely out of sync. Just reset the level then.

------------------------------

Years have passed since Jimmy Two-Button was last called to his job. Times have been easy ...
But now, as the tides rise again and calamity ascends from the deep, his skills are needed once more.
Only one man and his unusual weapons stand between our world and the darkness.

Are you ready to take on the role of Jimmy Two-Button --- the worlds best button sniper?

----------------------------

Gameplay is easy, just like in real world button sniping. Your mouse is represented by a blue button and the projectile by a red button at the bottom of the page.
Just klick down the blue button over the red button and drag it down over the edge. The red button will be flipped in the opposite direction.

Use your buttons to deactivate the laser security system in various levels. Pay attention to the surroundings and use them to your advantage.

-----------------------------

To Do:
Better level design, more difficult levels, more levels, additional dialogue (only four dialogues so far).
All our timers are broken if you pause the game (or it loses focus, or it runs slower than expected...)

----------------------------
Made by Stephan Wäldchen & Marcus Hoffmann
The game is programmed using the libGDX framework (http://libgdx.badlogicgames.com/) and uses some things from their default UI skin.
Graphics made in Inkscape & Gimp.
Sounds made with sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#101Humor(Jam)3.69
#116Theme(Jam)4.16
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#273Fun(Jam)3.47
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#694Audio(Jam)2.26
#853Graphics(Jam)2.70

Comments

zlaine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

Your web and windows links don't work. :(

benjammin1391 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

Haha, two buttons. Thats actually awesome! Fun little puzzler!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

@zlaine: Everything should work now. Submission hour ends in 1 minute :-)

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Took me couple of minutes to understand the controls, even if I read the description... But after I did, the game is not bad :-)

oparisy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

OK, now, that's a definitely very good button clicking simulation. Like, the Super Meat Boy of button clicking (especially once you've understood you'd better keep your finger on that "r" key all the time). Whatever button clicking might be. Is that a thing in your place, something kids do? Anyway.

Liked the challenge, there's even a story and some graphics! Nice job guys.

WASDMagician says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11pm

That was fun, reminded me somewhat of Ricochet.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Good game. I really enjoyed the puzzles, and the story was a nice touch. I also loved the boss fight at the end.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19pm

@oparisy:
Thanks for playing. Yes, you can use buttons or coins and try to flip them into cups or other targets. Have you never done that?

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Nice game. You have a lot of levels and they are designed well.

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Had a lot of fun with it! Felt very smooth. I think you could definitely expand this!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Awesome game, had loads of fun with it. I'm not quite sure if the boss battle is bugged or just a joke, but I laughed when I one shot the scary dude. Like the little story part very much.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Nice game! Loved the characters and the dialogues too! :D Some music would be great! Keep up the good work people!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Two button game.. I see what you did there :)
The game is fun and also short.

sikosis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Good to see a cut scene in a LD game, unfortunately, the game never ran at level 1.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31am

Last level was too easy, and the gravity thing could have been used a bit more, but it seems you have most things covered in your To Do list, so keep working on it, good job!

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:06am

Nice take on the theme. Levels are well-designed, cutscenes are funny with nicely drawn characters and the captain is hilarious. :D
Great game, congrats!

piper82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07am

this was quite enjoyable. besides some minor issues with hit detection and lack of polish. well done.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:09am

I had to read the other comments to get the "Two button controls" pun! Great one! Simple but efficient concept. Love the little story and cutscenes. Well done!

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52am

Boss battle of the year. Genius to use literal buttons. Would fish-stick again.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Good game, the controls are difficult to understand

Gipzo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Nice work. Really liked the ability to turn the lasers back on accidentally :)

TheOZone says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Cool story, had a lot of fun.

teamross says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:25pm

I liked a lot, nice use of the theme.
As you say in the description, the game has a lot of potential to continue working and adding levels.
Good job!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28pm

@Bobsleigh: Haha, no the boss is not bugged. It was the best we could do in the last 10 minutes before the deadline. So it ended up as kind of a joke. :-)

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Such a cool idea! :) And for some reason I really like the word ''button sniper''. The gravity object feels a bit random without indicator. I would suggest to show field lines. Also some of the levels had (unintended?) easy ways to solve them without using half the level. Overall a very nice entry!

(Btw, thank you very much for the Linux build of my game! Added it to the download list with your username)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Understanding of theme is fun! Game is interesting! But I found that red button not always react with blue. You should fix it

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Haha, I loved the premise and the script!
The boss fight with captain calamari was great :D
Btw, we've just put up a Linux build of our game for you!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:45pm

A great entry - a great game. It reminds me another game which is one of the best on mobile device - UltraFlow. I like the way you develop your project around the theme. Aesthetic isn't bad and the story is funny. Well done. One of my favorites ++

axoona says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:47pm

it's a very fun puzzle game!
you could probably restart automatically the level without obliging the player to press R button (but that's really a detail)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:35pm

An impressive amount of content in this short timeframe!

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:22pm

funny little narrative at the start gave me a chuckle.
getting the buttons to interact was a bit difficult.

Finn Stokes says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:10am

Nice take on the theme and a fun little game overall!

This is a game I would love to see taken further. There is definitely room for more exploration here, both with the mechanics you already have and adding more (perhaps wind/repulsors, other switches that change the level in some way, teleporters/portals, or other projectiles that you can ricochet off like pool balls). If you are working on it further, a predicted path like in peggle while holding down the button might also be nice.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Attempting to run the web version on Firefox:

The connection was interrupted
The connection to bubu1.eu was interrupted while the page was loading.

CMG says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:27pm

I especially liked the gravity effect!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]