Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bloon

by Paul Sinnett - Compo Entry

In this game you play as a helium filled balloon. You only have two controls: inflate and deflate. Inflating increases your buoyancy, deflating decreases it. Climb as high as you can but avoid the sharp beaks of the passing crows. If you get popped, press the green flag to try again.

Controls:

Right arrow key to inflate
Left arrow key to deflate

This game was written in Scratch. The source code is available from the web site. (Click see inside to view the source.)

Sprites were created using the Scratch tools.
Sound effects were created using JFXR.
Music was created in Otomata and edited in Audacity.

Development write up: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/20/bloon/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#529Humor2.27
#597Audio2.33
#650Theme3.53
#788Innovation2.57
#791Mood2.41
#802Graphics2.42
#907Fun2.28
#935Overall2.46
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

This was a pretty cute idea. The sound effects were a little uneven, and I was missing a lose screen/message after the POP!, but the gameplay and bird flapping are nicely done.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:46am

really hard to play. you can never react in time for the birds. if they moved way slower you could probably estimate how and when you should move upward

RoyallK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20am

HAHA I love it! its funny as hell, could use a few improvements tho like the other gents above have said. Awesome job! Keep it up.

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29am

Controls made it difficult to react properly, and the 'levels' are extremely repetitive. Didn't really keep my attention for very long. The inflate/deflate mechanic would be really cool in a physics driven game though!

mattrified says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18am

Didn't feel like I was deflating properly, but a simple yet fun idea.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

Hello, This is GameGrape Gaming! Here at GameGrape Gaming we review games, more! We will do a run through of your game making sure you can see someone playing and enjoying your game but also letting you know what could be changed or whats awesome about your game.

Feel free to send as many as you want since we review all the games that are sent! All games will be video reviewed and the reviews will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for? Do you want people to see your game(s)? Do you want to watch people play your game? The time has come! What are you waiting for!

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: https://goo.gl/StKpT9

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): http://goo.gl/forms/WMMWfbKU5N

This game looks great and we can't wait to play! Good luck in the competition! :)

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

nice idea, haven't seen a scratch game on here, sound effects could use some work

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14am

A nice idea for a game, however I feel that the player had not enough control over the balloon. I liked the sound effects, but the game needed more to it (obstacles, control, win/lose screens etc.)

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37am

Nice idea, but the baloon inflation and deflation seems to go a little slow.

daandruff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31am

Felt a bit slow and I was able to get to lvl 11 by just holding the right key. OK entry though :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Could've been so much more!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Interesting cute idea!
Try to add "game over" screen and "try again" button next time, because it's very unpleasant to refresh the page to start over.
And this SFX is not very good ><

cescababs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Not really for me.... The Sounds effects were harsh and when my balloon popped it didnt couldnt find a way to reset it, liked the colour scheme though for each level

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Nice and interesting game idea! The sound effects are a little big high. Good job team!

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Great idea for the two themes and a really nicely presented game. I was really missing some game over screen and a way to restart the game though. Also, some variety in the enemies would have been cool.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Cool that you made it in Scratch (first time I remember seeing an LD game made with that site). The title screen looks great, and the assets are pretty good-looking. Innovative theme. Sound is good, but the "inflate" sound effect is a bit too loud.

Unfortunately, I found the gameplay a bit boring. It didn't really hold my interest for long. Still, nice use of the theme and a pretty innovative game.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42pm

The two button controls worked, but they were pretty slow to respond, which made it hard to control the balloon once it was inflated past a certain point. I liked the music, although it got a little repetitive. Simple game, but fun!

Pusty says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

looks fun but these sounds tho.

tribrain says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:25am

its hard to play maybe the controls are not good calibrate thats why.´buts is kind of entertaining

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Well, nicely done with the theme. Also, the audio is quite good.

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]