Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Metal World Chaos

by FrederickK - Jam Entry

Didn't finished, but thought that would be ok to still post here. :\

The idea was to your character be a robot and use the arms of your defeated enemies to gain abilities, placing them into the button slot.
When you defeat an enemy you can drag their body into the button slot.
You can shoot using ctrl, ou left mouse.

You can change pallets using R, G, B and C.

I just used free sounds for the sound effects, all the copyright are within the project in case someone wants. Just occur me now that even sfx are not allowed in comp, so I'll remove/replace them if there's any problems, sorry for that.

Vids here:
https://twitter.com/Haite/status/676225120571170824
https://twitter.com/Haite/status/676224379043360768

Hope you guys like it, any feedback would be great!
See ya!

23/12 - PostJam Version: This new version have several improvements but made after the schedule. Check it out after rating!


14/12 - JAM VERSION -Edit: Added new things today, still didn't finished, but at least it is workable. The enemy has a sprite now, all previous SFXs were removed, now just has the ones made by me and the mechanic works as it should. You can use your mouse to drag the cristals to your button slots, then you'll get a power to that slot. Imagine Megaman that you can get the powers of the minions. If you don't mind, please check it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#366Graphics(Jam)3.71
#779Mood(Jam)2.83
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67
#1021Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

yuigoto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

Man, I wish you were able to finish it! :(

The concept you thought about seems really cool to play!

The graphics look pretty rad and the shader effect is just beautiful! The possibility of changing the palette in real time is great too! :)

The controls are pretty responsive too!

Great work! :)

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

The art style is solid. I like the player character design. Shame you didn't get to finish, but what you have here has potential.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I like the visual style. It's sad that the game is not finished.

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

B Pallet all the way!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

It is a shame you didn't manage to finish but don't let that stop you joining the next LD! You will do better next time :)

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14pm

I love the pixel/gameboy effect of the game and the character design.

I think that the drag'n drop for the weapon isn't usefull, you could just walk on it and it become your ability.

Anyway, even if it isn't finished, at least, it looks nice, good job. :D

ronniepedra says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:02am

The style looks great, hope you get this project finished someday!

Andrei says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27am

I liked your idea!
It's unfinished, but it's enough to understand where you wanted to go.

Valandre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Good style art, hope you'll finished your game. it's a good beginning!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:51am

Nice graphics would have been nice once realized.

SovietBear says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:20am

Cool concept, art style, and would be fun to play if finished. I hope you work on it more and make it a finished game, would be awesome to see!

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

really cool visuals, sad you didn't have time to finish it properly and polish it.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:42pm

The concept sounds interesting.
Sadly not much to play though.
I hope you will finish next time. Or maybe try to create a more finished version of this game to learn a bit for the next LD.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]