Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Get Off, Cat!

by josefnpat - Compo Entry

# Get the cat off your computer!

You are working on your Ludum Dare game diligently, and suddenly a cat is on your computer.

Figure out how to get the cat off your computer.

Use "A" to feed the cat and "L" to calm the cat.

#Information

This game was made for Ludum Dare 34 in 48 hours. I came up with the concept while drinking heavily, and then I started making art, forcing me to spend the rest of the weekend making the game with those assets. I'm very happy how it turned out, actually!

#Tips

* Press and hold "L" to fully pet the cat.
* Don't feed the cat when it is eating. That will make it angry.
* Don't pet the cat when it is not angry. That will make it angry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.41
Coolness71%
#52Theme4.31
#66Mood3.83
#103Audio3.64
#137Fun3.67
#238Overall3.56
#258Graphics3.54
#342Innovation3.38

Comments

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48am

What a twist!

TurtleP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

This is the best cat on laptop sim ever, Josef. Seriously this is hilarious and the music is also great!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

Quite amusing. I imagine you had some fun recording those sound effects. :P

joe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40am

Did I... win?

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09am

Fun game.

KBF123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

I thought the goal was to get the cat off the laptop...
By now it's a sheet of scrap metal with cat chunks all over it.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

Cool game, great combination of both themes :)

ac7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38am

Awesome game! It's simple but I enjoyed it a lot. The hand movements are perfect and I love the subtleties in the animations.

And it's good to see another LOVE2D developer in the compo :)

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

Played this probably longer than I'd like to admit. Good job with the feedback on the cat, it took me a couple tries to figure out when it go too angry!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

The tension is palpable. As the cat slowly, all too slowly, fills the screen, vibrating and jostling, I keep thinking, "it's gonna happen soon, right? I don't know what for sure, but something's gotta give, right?" It's good stuff.

Also, I let out a laugh at the start of each try -- the petting hand darting quickly upwards off the screen. Like the owner has been attempting to pet the cat before you even got there. This was great.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

LOL, this was hilarious, really cool entry. I'm glad my cat just sits on my lap and don't try to kill me :).

Osaft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38am

I pet too much -> I die
I feed too much -> I die
I feed & pet optimal -> I die

10/10 Realism

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

I like cat games. This was a good cat game. Thank you for cat game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41am

I had this happen to me once!

This is a fun cat sim, the art is crude but the AI is extremely realistic.

I particularly enjoyed figuring out the cat's mood, it's facial expression conveys a lot of emotion.

Good job!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

Uuuh, kitty!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Haha, this is actually how I (as an allergic non-catowner) always imagined it would be to own a cat. Feed and pet the cat right or it will kill you... and then you die anyway.

Great job! :D

SiENcE says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Fun game! I don't liek cats but this one I like. Because it's orange. With yellow stripes :-D.

Softsound says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Good game, cat explodes.

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Would die once more, 10/10.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:55am

Such a silly game. The music was a little repetitive but the sfx were great.

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:15pm

I felt pretty bad feeding the cat empty cans and shoes. Oh, and for making it explode of course. Could've added some depth by having the player have to figure out if the current object can be fed to the cat.

Silly tiny game, had a grin on my face the entire time.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I think I had more fun playing this than I should have. 11/10

shadow64 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:03am

Definitely kept me interested and had my attention. I failed pretty quickly the first time, but the second time I beat it. Really fun and a good idea! Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!

undef says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Haha, nice :)

headchant says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

bad kitty!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:42am

Surprisingly intense for such a silly game. Good times. XD

(also, props to a fellow Love2D developer!)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]