Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Timebomb

by Galan - Compo Entry

You are a bomb. A minimalist bomb. Avoid obstacles by squeezing between them, but don't squeeze too hard: you need to skim the walls to increase your time. Hit something or run out of time, and it's game over.

It's Super Hexagon meets an endless runner!

Controls:
W/↑ — Expand
S/↓ — Contract



If anyone is interested. I have put up an HTML5 version on itch.io. It's buggy, so I don't want to use it for the compo, but if you want more, you can play Timebomb on the go (with Chrome). http://elanti.itch.io/timebomb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#57Fun3.88
#88Theme4.21
#148Innovation3.73
#218Overall3.59
#341Mood3.17
#365Audio2.88
#561Humor2.20
#640Graphics2.81

Comments

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

windows version wont work, says exe has stopped working.

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

Didn't run on Windows.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

looks very good on osx

Graydom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

I can see this as the next flappy bird. Its something that you first play it and wonder what they developer was thinking and then you play it again to try and figure it out. And then again and again, until you hate it.

Needless to say I enjoyed it.

It worked fine for me on windows by the way.

Galan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:14pm

I think I've solved the problem on Windows. Seems the binaries from Godot's stable release don't work on Windows 10. I switched to an alpha release and that seems to work, but I wasn't able to test any of the late-game pieces.

akien says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Played it for a while and it really hooked me up, you're definitely onto something :D

akien says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

And kudos for using Godot engine! :)

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Very adictive and better idea, so creative ... godot power!

Galan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05am

I've updated the builds to fix a bug that would inflate the high score. It doesn't effect the gameplay - most people won't even notice - but I thought it might be nice for people to have an accurate score to challenge.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Works perfectly on OSX, and I love the cool, minimalist aesthetic. It's a perfect little microgame for wasting time. The addition of a 'high score' at the end kept me playing it over over (though I'm pretty bad at it). Mine was 12.31 seconds. Great game!

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:04am

Played the windows version. Had a lot of fun with this one. I plan to come back and see if I can get further along.

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21am

Hey thought i'd let you know the rules say its ok to add ports at later time. Having a web version is going to get you more plays.
Also the game is really good. Could be more forgiving but that might be just me.

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22am

You've earned my highest rating total yet. Mainly because I really was pulled in to try to do better. It held my interest. (Mac)

I somewhat agree with the flappy bird comment. This is the sort of game you mindlessly sit while you are waiting in the lobby for your surprise drug test results. Publish it yo!

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25am

Fun game and very challenging. The high score is great too, allowing you to compete with friends.

uvwar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:01am

Really frustrating, but really cool! If the light shown for the point up ahead wasn't entirely 'physical' (i.e. a small pinhole obscuring a potentially large gap coming up due to light only being able to enter to smallest opening) it could lead the player a lot better!

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37am

Wow, really addicted and excited game, I just couldn't stop playing, until I achieved a jumping on high score from 18 sec to 28 sec, and I think I may not reach higher in the next hour. haha! Fun!!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:14am

Smooth mechanics, I liked it!

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:39am

Very good idea, this could've been so much fun.
Sadly the key word is "could", it's way too difficult and the best I managed to get was around 16s. With a very short game the audio (the average 8s of it) gets very repetitive and a bit frustrating.
It would've been interesting to see how the game plays out if it lasts a few minutes.
Still, gratz on the game idea, you're creative.

trozen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:07am

Really cool idea! I think the UI elements got in the way a bit and made it harder to focus on the game.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Nice game.

kaype says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:30pm

A bit too easy IMO. the graphics look pretty cool though

Leeson says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:06am

Very interesting game seems somewhat similar to my original idea for my game. It was very fun and definitely has a more original name than mine :)

foolmoron says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:54pm

I hope you realize how addictive this game is. You should totally polish it up and sell it!
The graphics are really simple but stylish and work perfectly with the gameplay. There's just enough juice in the grazing and scene transitions to make it super addictive and satisfying, but not distracting.
The worst thing is the music... it starts up too slow and ends up being annoying since you hear the same thing over and over. You should have really upbeat dance style music and have it continue on replay instead of restart.
I really wish I made this game though because it's so simple and good!

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very solid little game. Hook got set, and you cost me more than a bit of my morning. Thanks.

If you polished this a bit, it would stay on my tablet for quite some time.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Simple looking, very fun to play. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

refreshgames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:24pm

But, Super Hexagon is an endless runner.

Anyhoo, yus, the Windows version works well on windows 7 over here I'm pleased to say. Nice wall grazing mechanic in play also, good start on the music and with a bit more polish post-jam, just to make the fonts more consistant and fitting with the rest of the aesthetic I can see this doing well.

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Really awesome game! The lighting really supports the central mechanic in an awesome way, I'm still really impressed! Definitely my favorite game of yours, I'm with foolmoron - you should polish this up, throw in some catchy EDM and put it on the market :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]