Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Neon City Getaway

by manabreak - Compo Entry

A rather simple little infinite runner based on the "two button controls" theme. Your objective is to drive as far as you can without crashing your car.

Use LEFT and RIGHT arrow keys to steer the car.

Thanks for playing!


For those interested, the game was written in Java using LibGDX, with NetBeans as my IDE of choice. The graphics were made in Blender (3D models) and GIMP (textures and sprites). Music and sound effects were done using Psycle, and edited and converted using Audacity. The font used here is "fixedsys" that comes along with Windows, and is converted to a bitmap font using BMFont. Basically all the tools used here are free and / or open source software!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#40Audio3.93
#63Graphics4.16
#64Fun3.87
#87Overall3.86
#95Mood3.72
#266Theme3.99
#629Humor2.00
#661Innovation2.83

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:15pm

nice, reminds me of gta and death rally

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Amazing game! It's very simple and quite fun once you get used to the steering mechanics. :>

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

The gameplay is pretty simplistic, but the music and aesthetic are just absolutely awesome.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

it's addictive, nice job!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01am

Had quite a bit of fun with the movement mechanics. Nice graphics too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41am

Very cool game, definitely well polished. Awesome music, great aesthetic. Good job!

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:07am

Good game overall, it's a good pretty concept and it's good to play

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25am

I enjoyed playing your game ! Cool graphics and nice feeling.

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

Wooo, this is so relaxing. Or was, for the first 2k meters or so, then I was struggling to survive. Awesome music! Overall very nice experience, thanks!

Dianouille says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35am

Lighting are really beautiful ! Gameplay is quite simple, but still really, good game.

mnill says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55am

like it :-)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Cool game. Very nice take on the normal infinite runner-type games. Good work

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Cool and addictive game! Nice oldschool art style

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Awesome! Great aesthetics, sound and gameplay. Amazing work!

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Graphics and music are amazing! I like how the steering works.

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Probably the best game, that I've seen so far. Simplistic and insanely fun. Also LibGDX HYPE! Great overall score.

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

This looks really complete and well polished. The graphics are great and nail the early GTA / Hotline Miami look. The controls fit the theme well but are a bit odd. I was not expecting it to always travel up and that feels a bit wrong to me. I was thinking it should just steer like a normal top down driver but the advantage to the way you have done it is that it always self centers traveling up so you don't have to fight left and right to keep it going straight if you have a digital control like a keyboard. Great Jorb.

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Sweet game.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I really liked this which was surprising as i dont usually like infinite runners but the whole flashing lights kept me interested and the music was a nice touch to it

Well Done!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Interesting, good way to solve the need to use only two buttons. ;)

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

The controls are very responsive and the music is very good!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Great game, nice graphics and well polished. Just a bit repetitive.

Expect cheap deaths until you get the hang of it.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20am

Good fun! Looks and sounds amazing, and the controls were just right to give a good challenge and keep things interesting without being frustrating.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45am

Good take on theme. I got 2245 on fourth try. It's very confusing at first with controls but then you get used to. I liked the game very much but only one thing, it would be much better if it was more random than this. Then you could just pack it up and publish on mobile. I would go for it. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:21am

Simple concept, but really nice looking and sounding game and fun to boot :)

Great job!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Awesome music. Graphics and gameplay are also very good. Great atmosphere.

// the smoke (burned rubber) should go only on corners I guess?

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Awesome, one of my favorite entries so far. Beautiful art style.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:45am

really awesome graphics for a lipGDX game but the car should not turn around it's middle. it should turn aroun't it's back wheels. anyway, nice game :)

AboLD says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:13am

cool, eveything is great, art, music, sfx and gameplay. I have some problem with the control but after several try, I got it, it great dude

shadow64 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:28am

This was sweet. Love that you ported it to Android already - I may have to get this for my phone! :) The music is really solid. I love the purple, too. As a thought, maybe if you break certain distances you have the option of restarting with different cars. Even if it's just aesthetic it might add to that sense of satisfaction/completion and keep people trying. Really great entry. Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing! :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:34am

Amazing. Great execution on all fronts. The steering automatically tending back toward north is a subtly brilliant touch that I didn't see coming. Just fantastic work -- I hope you keep working on this in the future and add a couple more twists to the gameplay.

kidando says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:37am

hahahah. this was quite a fun and fresh cup of tea. It would have been interesting if you could collect powerups, have cops chase you... I think after LD you have a chance to create a really popular driving game.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:55am

This game is incredible! Every aspect has been done so well. I love how you can see the red and blue lights of the police just behind you, such a nice touch.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

I have to say the blend between 3D-background asssets and a 2D-sprite worked marvelous here. I loved the neonlight effect it gave and the chiptune-soundtrack helped to complement it quite a bit.

The mechanics were interesting and although it took me a little while to get used to them, they served their purpose pretty well. They they were definitely complemented by the procedural design that kept me a bit on my toes.

Only downside I could think of was that, although it was accentuated by the shifting levels, it did get a bit repetitive after a while. But then again, as this was after all made in a jam, I do understand the limitations.

All in all though, well done and I did enjoy the ride. Kudos! :)

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:30pm

You got 5 stars! Well done!

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

The game is simple but everything just fits together. Well done

wine says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Awesome little game! A bit more content and ready to go : )

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Really cool! i love the visuals, and the music was engaging too.

piper82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Not much of a gameplay but top notch in all other aspects.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Neat little game, takes a bit of time to get used to the steering mechanics, but once you get the hang of it it's quite fun, and i love the GTA like visuals with the 3d buildings on a top down perspective :)

piper82 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:38pm

came back to see your music tool and took a glance at my comment. even tho i rated it highly i left kinda meh generic comment which does not reflect my complete opinion. could be the small hours when i wrote it. the thing is, i play this for a few minutes at least 10-15 times a day, probably because i have it readily available on my phone's home screen. i still think gameplay is not too innovative and is simple but coupled with scoring system it is good enough to come back for some more. however atmosphere and music are out of this world. flashing lights of chasing police car, superb tune, dark atmosphere... "show not tell" at its finest. good job.

WERT Studio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:31pm

gta at night for mobile neat

Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:54am

Really fun too play :D good work. the lighting and style looks stunning too.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:27am

Fun little thingy. nice use of controls.
Cold grow into something bigger.

Bacontree says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:45am

I played it on desktop, and I think being able to use a and d instead of just the left and right arrows would have given it a better flow, since I wouldn't have to move my hand to press space when I fail. Also per pixel lighting instead of per vertex would have made it look alot better. Other than that I think it's a fun game, and I really like the mood you've got going on. Well done!

scorched says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Good music and cute colors, but it's hard not to bump somewhere because the car always wants to turn in the opposite direction itself when I release all buttons on bends

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Cool, though it took a second to get used to the controls, maybe they could use some tweaking?

yuigoto says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:56am

Loved it! It's simple, but can become quite challenging, specially because constantly you forget to release the button and end up crasing! :P

Nice work on the audio too, it's great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]