Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Slinky Snake

by oal - Compo Entry

You control a snake, whose only goal is to eat as many plants as possible before dying an inevitable death.

The snake starts out slow and maneuverable, but the longer it gets, the faster it moves,
and the harder it gets to actually hit the plants.

The game runs in the browser using WebGL, thanks to Three.js. It was programmed in ES2015 (ES6) and
transpiled by Babel.js, and packaged by Webpack.

The plant and snake body were made using Blender, and the intro screen background was made with Affinity Photo. The music was made in Garageband and sound effect were made with cfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Innovation4.02
#246Humor2.89
#297Fun3.40
#461Theme3.76
#519Overall3.19
#640Graphics2.81
#649Audio2.12
#649Mood2.73
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

JanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

Nice game, great controls and pretty fun.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

hahaha, love it!
but its a little bit hard to control, especially when you try to eat those veggies, its almost impossible to precise landing into them, but that probably just me
great game!

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

Very cool idea. It was difficult to discover the control without indications but then it was so hard and addictive :P

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04am

Those are some wacky controls. Also the "snake" looks like something out of a Japanese horror game for the Dreamcast, nightmarish. Well done and very novel though. Sort of feels like Katamari to me with the unique styling and controls. You can "get" it but there's still some sense of being out of control.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57am

Awesome! I really enjoy the game. The controls feel so natural and I was playing with a big grin on my face the whole time. Great job!

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02am

Good job! It took a while to get it under control, and after that it bacame very challenging. Some music would have been nice, but otherwise it's very innovative.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08am

Innovation points...that was not what I expected from a snake game. :P Pretty entertaining.

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Hahaha very fun! Love how the snake "walks"! The camera angle was pretty wierd though.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Haha, this was a pretty damn interesting game! Love how it got harder the longer it became.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:17pm

nice gameplay idea, but I found myself leaving the map multiple times, maybe add some kind of border there

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Really good game!

Honestly, from the title, I was expecting a snake clone. This is truly great idea though. It gets much harder to orientate yourself as you progress, making for a good challenge level and difficulty curve.

My only negative is the sound effects are little piecing. Other than that, excellent game! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Man, if snakes actually moved that way, that'd be terrifying.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Cool idea! It can be kind of tricky sometimes to tell which way the snake will move with up/down but it still controls nice

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42pm

It feels like it could do with a little more polish but I have to say when I started moving the snake around I actually laughed. Surprisingly effective animation.:)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

controls are really interesting and kinda addictive neat game!

daandruff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34am

Fun way to steer the snake. Was a bit troublesome to keep track of the direction. Fun game

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12am

Hilarious and a bit eerie at the same time. This is some nightmare inducing stuff right here.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Really good idea that perfectly fits the theme! Only lacks more control of where the snake is going & audio but overall it's pretty solid!

makiki99 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Controls make this game very hard, but it is still pretty manageable and fun.
Graphics are clear. To be honest, music isn't really good, and sounds effects are a bit annoying. I can also walk off the gameplay area. I don't think this was intended, at least not to this deegree that I can go one kilometer away from camera.
Overall it is a fun game if you turn off the sounds.

knason says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Love it, great controls, really fun idea! good job!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00pm

This game was weird, but really fun. The timer made it more challenging, and therefore more addicting to play. The audio was pretty simple, but it fit nicely. Cool game!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:04am

Hi , i liked this game i felt the controls were a little hard to understand where i was going especially when i shot off the board lol

Well Done!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:36pm

It's hard to control, it's hard to play, but I like it! I mean, how many times in your life you control a (as time goes by) giant worm?

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:18pm

This is the most twisted snake idea ever.

Maybe if you could only rotate 90 degrees and plants grow on grid it would be more predictable/playable.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Neat concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

samreid says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:39am

Great graphics and gameplay, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]