Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pilot Light

by Komradus - Jam Entry

In Pilot Light, a zombie epidemic is ravaging the land, and you are tasked with the people's protection. Grab your airship and destroy the zombies before they reach the houses.
But be careful, your airship can only hold so much ammo!

Controls:

Left mouse button - The airship will fly towards your cursor
Right mouse button - Fire the guns
R/Space - Restart the level


After abandoning my initial project due to a lack of fun, I rushed to make this in approximately 14 hours. Despite everything, I'm quite happy with the result.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#580Audio(Jam)2.83
#723Humor(Jam)2.25
#764Theme(Jam)3.36
#832Graphics(Jam)2.76
#864Mood(Jam)2.65
#896Fun(Jam)2.64
#976Overall(Jam)2.72
#1032Innovation(Jam)1.96

Comments

stevepctech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37pm

The download link does not function :/

smealum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

download link is broken, says i need to require access ! :(

Komradus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

Download links have been updated, it should be ok now.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Pretty fun!
Is there a fail condition? I couldn't tell how close I was to the houses being overrun (if they ever are)

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Nice work for only 14 hours, great graphics and atmosphere.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31pm

It's a good looking project. Could use some more polishing maybe, but seeing as you rushed it in 14 hours, well done!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

reminds me of choplifter. nice for what it is.

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47am

I like the shots physics

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:04pm

You did a great job for the time you had left! Nice particle effects and music \m/

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41pm

The zombies doesn't look like zombies and I'm feeling bad for killing normal villagers :(

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Don't really understand what to shoot but it was pretty fun to explode everything :) (cool explosion FX btw).

Efuvex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:11am

Wow those explosion particles were fabulous.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:12am

Nice little game ! I liked the particle effects.

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Web version works great for me. Everything fits neatly together. Of course "Mouse control" as two button control is a bit cheaty, but who doesn't cheat at least a bit with the theme ;-)

Pretty cool for only 14 hours of work!

dvdfu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Pretty explosions!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]