Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Get to the Points

by recursor - Compo Entry

A, hopefully, relaxing two-button (not counting M for mute) line-growing, red dot popping puzzle that goes on forever. How high can you go? Compete for the top spot in the online high score list.

Instructions:

- Try to grow the line graph to reach as many red dots as possible
- Each red dot reached increases your score
- Line growth is directed by configuring the yellow dots where growth splits occur
- Once the yellow dots are configured to your liking, start growing the line by left-clicking on the green dot
- Difficulty increases as level increases.
- To delete a yellow dot arrow, rotate it all the way around
-Each yellow dot will need 2 arrows attached (there are some that require 3)

Controls:
Right mouse click on a yellow dot to add a directional arrow to it
Left mouse clicking on a yellow dot rotates all active arrows on the dot
'M' mutes the music

BUGFIX: Line would not grow in the indicated direction even though an arrow was pointed in the right direction

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#93Audio3.68
#137Overall3.73
#189Mood3.45
#203Fun3.56
#206Innovation3.62
#315Graphics3.41
#513Humor2.32
#699Theme3.43

Comments

greenscreen says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nice logic game. Very satisfying sounds :)

AlmightyTuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Really great game. Nice audio, interesting and thoughtful puzzles. Top notch

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Would love a non-web version since I cannot install the webplayer in linux.

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Nice game, always liked to play with flows. As i understand, levels are autogenerated?

recursor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

@Borodar indeed they are but currently I'm using a single seed to gen the levels which means that level 1 will be the same for everyone etc. I may add an option to change that or to even enter your own code to gen one.

recursor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03pm

@chriiis88 Ok. A Linux build is now available, but untested as of yet.

Hegemege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Awesome puzzle game! I found a little bug though :( http://puu.sh/lVmVc/e9245d13d6.png
The yellow blob at the bottom wouldnt split - I assume it only allows splitting exactly how the level is generated?

Anyways, had a ton of fun. Great sound effects and a killer background music!

After figuring out the game, the puzzles became quite trivial. This would have been 100x times more challenging if the beams could go over empty spaces - but I guess the level generator would have to be smarter as well!

Yazara says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Very good game with satisfying sound and nice graphics :)
I didn't notice an overall increase of difficulty (number of points) too much as I progressed, so if there is something like that implemented, the curve could be steeper.

recursor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

@Hegemege Thanks for the report. I'm looking into it as I tyoe this.

@Yazara Thanks and yes I have stuff in place for that in the code but I did not have time to finish implementation and testing for it. Things like allowing diagonal connections, etc are possible (as a matter of fact I'm playing with it right now). It does make things a bit more difficult definitely. In the the post-compo version I've also turned off the "Continue" button so you can't progress if you don't get all the red dots. I plan on implementing a save game so you don't have to go back and replay all previous levels just to get to where you left off.

recursor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26pm

@Hegemege: Just finished looking at it and it isn't a bug. That last yellow dot should have arrows pointing LEFT and DOWN. Then you get all the red dots. I did have a problem with that earlier but had already fixed it.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

I had a lot of fun with this game. After about 50 levels my brain started to melt. It reminded me a lot of my Resistor game for XBLIG. I'm assuming that the levels are procedurally generated, as I "made it" to level 109.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

@Levi : Indeed they are and ... wow. Level 109 is impressive even if you didn't grab all the red dots.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I liked the game. Good game play, and I liked the ramp up of difficulty. I see you are continuing development, that is awesome.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Lovely little puzzle game. The graphics and the sound effects complemented it pretty well. The music had some weird moments, but it wasn't bad at all. Kudos for implementing a high score table.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

@Reggianito: Thanks. Yeah, there are a couple of places in the music I'd have like to have fixed but, you know, time was short. I was excited to get the highscore table up and running before the deadline. http://dreamlo.com/ offers free highscore tables and all you have to do is plug in your API 'keys' and you are good to go. Really nice actually.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Nice logic game, with clear and simple rules. Gets kinda repetitive after while but still gameplay is entertaining. Could be fun mobile game

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Really great you coded a level generator! It feels very polished, only thing that is missing a bit are one or two tutorial level instead of the wall of text at the beginning (especially as the controls are not that complicated as all the text makes you feel). Maybe you could also add special elements that are introduced over time.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

@dmecke: Thanks and yes I agree a tutorial would be much better than a wall of text. I will try to get that implemented. I do plan on adding some special elements definitely.

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Interesting logic game, thanks.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

This feels like a complete game, very well done indeed. The 'hand-made' sound effects are great, visual style is very nice and clean. My only suggestions are that I'd like to be able to cancel an attempt once I know it's gone wrong (especially on longer levels), and that it's frustrating to not know which yellow dots allow 3 arrows so it would be nice if it was indicated somehow (perhaps make them orange?). Overall it's really great, I'd encourage you to continue with this!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Great idea! When I saw the screenshots I thought the game might be hard to grasp but it's actually the opposite, easy to get and very fun to play. Good job!

Gornova says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Nice game, but lack of some variation IHMO, a great start for a complete puzzle!

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Nice little game, the idea is simple but it works pretty well. But the way the yellow dots work is kinda hard to handle at the beginning.
Anyway, good job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

cool puzzle game, love the sound and graphics, well done

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Quite therapeutic to play :) I like the voice noises for the popping balls.

The game itself is fun, I found the solution was very easy for the first 5-6 levels that I played.. then it was easy but trying to get the arrows to point in the right way was the hard part. Getting them to split correctly was most of the problem for me

Fanttum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Fun little game. I almost wish it got harder faster. After I figured out what to do the next few levels were a bit too easy.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Simple and efficient with a great attention to details! The sounds are especially pleasing

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:05am

Good puzzle game. Online high scores are a nice touch.

Madball says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I liked graphics and simplicity. It's very satisfying to watch the chain reaction. However, I expected a puzzle and was disappointed: it isn't challenging at all. Levels just get bigger and take more time to solve.

Also, resetting the whole configuration is frustrating. I made one mistake, do you want me to redo the whole thing?

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Neat little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/sMG1ENTyKkU

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:48am

Great puzzle game. Sounds are perfect when you trigger the solution. very addictive. Would definitely play more. great work.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Awesome puzzle mechanic and great use of the theme!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:28am

love that game idea! if you would limit the number of moves it will be much cooler! but anyway very well done!

emmes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:00am

Very nice, polished puzzle game. The learning curve is too shallow, though, it get's boring before challenging. Graphics is cool.
I noticed that if you try to shortcut the game doesn't allow this to do (in theory it should allow you to trigger a white dot close to a yellow, even if you're supposed to go a different, longer route).

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Nice logic game with a pleasant mood. I like the music. Great entry. Thumbs up ++

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:42pm

I love how satisfying it is to watch a level end, with all your blips and bloops haha. Very nice work!! I agree that you should increase the difficulty quicker :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]