Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tama Battle!

by midgard - Jam Entry

## GAME SITE LIVE! (Keep up to date with Server status & updates!): http://tama.devmidgard.com/ ##

## THIS GAME REQUIRES AN INTERNET CONNECTION ##
## THIS GAME ALSO DEPENDS ON THE PLAYER BASE. AS MORE PEOPLE PLAY IT, THE MORE FIGHTS YOU'LL GET MATCHED FOR! ##

A Tamagotchi game made massive multiplayer and rpg.

Once you start, a pet will be generated for you from one of the 3 races existing at the moment (Nanichi, Eggchi, Blichi).

You will not be able to change the pet, the one you get is the one you shall level up and progress.

The progress is saved PC bound (and maybe browser bound).

Take into the adventure of making your pet grow and defeat the others, reach the adult age and conquer the ranking!

--- STATS AND EXPLANATION ---
Vit: Your Pet will have more health.
Str: Your pet will deal more damage.
Crit: Your pet will have a higher chance of making a critical hit.
Dex: Your pet will miss less times.
-----------------------------

-- PATCH 1.0 --
Fixed a batch of bugs.
Fixed Server Memory Leaks.
Doubled the combat speed (Combats should be more fast now).

### KNOWN BUGS ###
- Battle History log not registering correctly.
- Pet Info Avatar Sprite not showing correct pet (FIXED).
- Combat Intro Sprites not showing correctly (FIXED).
- Health Resting health never resting (FIXED).
- Progress not saving (FIXED, was a problem with the iframe in this site, you have to play on my site now).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#410Humor(Jam)2.82
#456Innovation(Jam)3.22
#564Mood(Jam)3.16
#645Theme(Jam)3.55
#649Audio(Jam)2.57
#710Graphics(Jam)3.06

Comments

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:05am

This reminds me of Pokemon. Ambitious! Battles were a bit slow.

Resting repeatedly didn't seem to refill health to full for some reason. Even after losing, health stayed at 0. Battle history also did not show up for me.

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07am

@GAFBlizzard

Thanks for the feedback! I'm gonna patch the game in an hour with speed on battles doubled, some people has provided feedback on that exact same thing!

I'm gonna look into that health resting bug.

----
ALSO I KNOW THERE'S A BUG WITH SAVING PROGRESS. I'M LOOKING INTO IT!

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09am

Ooh, first multiplayer game I've played so far. That's an interesting idea. Quite simple, though. I would have liked more than one way of attacking so that attacks depend on more than randomness. Still, I think this is a good foundation to build upon. Good job.

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10am

Can't wait to play fixed version. It look very interesting!

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11am

Nice game! I like the simplistic aesthetic. The online part is cool but it means it's almost unplayable when there's noone else. Some music would have been nice too, but other than that it's quit nice.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11am

Cool game and I enjoyed it but there weren't enough opponents.

It was well made and I would have played for longer if there were more players.

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

Thought this was really neat! Liked the premise and was pretty well implemented. Unfortunately I wasn't able to find a game after my little pet hit level three. Would play again.

tanis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

I don't understand why but it's stuck at "SAVING" for me. It happens both with Chrome and Firefox. Is there anything I can do to help you figure out why?

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22am

Ambitious idea, well executed. Maybe the combats are a bit too slow.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23am

Really Fun! When you reload the page it seems like you get stuck at a connecting page. For like 8 mins. Well I thought it was cool and reminded me of when I was a kid XD. The Graphics were cools too.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27am

Interesting game. Midgard, your lvl4 pet just crushed my Toton. Ahah. Well done. Would be cool with more features though. Good job especially for multiplayer !

Bemmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27am

I hope multiplayer games become a trend! Ludum Dare seems well-suited for them, because there is the initial critical mass present to play these games.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29am

This game is really easy to play. Also a bit similar to Pokemon battles.

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31am

@GAFBlizzard: The health resting bug has been fixed. I'm pushing the update right now!

@oal: I had thought of adding unlockable skills to the pets, I will probably do after I get the game to be stable (the server too)!

@Eshford: Thanks for the kind words! I'm glad you liked it! If what prevents you from playing is the progression saving bug, it shall now be fixed, just play directly throught my website instead of the iframe (there's a big bug with the iframe, unfortunately, and it doesn't save your user token).

@ThaRemo: I'm having a blast since a lot of you guys are playing! Hopefully it will continue growing and there will be a lot of pet opponents and variety! :D

@Taffaz: That's only a matter of spreading the word :( I would also like it to have more players!

@fakefrogsonly: You couldn't find any game because I shut down the server, sorry for that! There was a memory leak and I had to fix it asap. It is now fixed tho, so feel free to get back into the game!

@tanis: I shut down the server for a few minutes to fix some server-side bugs and a huge memory leak. You should now be able to continue after saving your account!

@CaptainNakou: I'm pushing an update with the combats being twice as fast!

@BUNN1E5: Yeah, you've discovered a nice glitch on WebSockets, they won't close if you don't close the window, so your session will be opened for as long as the server maintains it!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

Vera Nice game, congratularíamos

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35am

Not sure if dex makes you miss let or not because I missed a lot :-P ANyway cool design.

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

This is great, keep up the good work!

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38am

-----------------
I'M PUSHING AN UPDATE WITH FIXES AND MORE SPEED ON COMBATS!
YOU MAY HAVE PROBLEMS TO LOAD THE GAME WHILE I DO SO, PLEASE WAIT 5 MINUTES!!
----------------------

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

Excellent Tamagotchi-style graphics and atmosphere! Battles are too slow, it's true. Good luck ^_^

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47am

Multiplayer tamagochi! Could be pretty awesome if there were more things to do (like actually taking care of your pet).
Looks like my level 5 zbylut is the toughest egg in da neighbourhood!

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

-----------
THE PATCH HAS BEEN PUSHED!

Everyone should be able to load the game and play!

If not, please notify me!
-------------

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:02pm

This game is simply amazing. i only wish i could change my pet's name.

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:07pm

@Rfdshir Thanks for the kind words! I've pushed an update and the combats are far more fast now and enjoyable! Please feel free to try it again ^^

@rzuf Hahaha I saw you pet on the database, it is well built! I might continue developing the game if it has nice acceptation (which it seems!), so I will take any suggestion!

@velddev Thanks! I'm glad you enjoy the game! I might consider having a name changer feature ingame in exchange of stat points or experience!

thecord says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Addictive Game, good job!

kmakai says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Wow, really ambitious idea, so cool to see it running! I love the idea, if you were planning to keep developing it, I think it would be a really fun mobile game. I'll definitely keep playing so you have other active players!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:07pm

tried running and says run out of memory on starting up :(

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:09pm

@Zeezgames: I'm pushing a new patch with more memory allocated! Will be ready in around 5 mins :)

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Cute simple battling game, but it gets stale really fast. Probably because you can't really do anything about fights other than balance your stats beforehand and then hope you're lucky.
Does the sleeping have any negative effect? There doesn't seem to be a risk/reward system with using rest or not before a battle, so I always just rest.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Loved it! I found out you can upgrade on Pet Info. I thought it was automatic.. that's why I was losing many battles

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

I would play this as a full version. Well done!

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46pm

I really like this!! I'm going to keep it open in the background and keep playing :)

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Despite the simple gameplay, it's a really fun game.

Nice job doing a multiplayer networking game for a game jam.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13pm

FRED kicks ass ... damn you ENTER TEXT. I had fun. I might have helped to know the stats of the other players I was battling rather than my own. Wasn't sure how it met the theme ... loosely I suppose with the grown in points.

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

AWESOME

mockthebear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49pm

got stomped XD

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Although there's not much to do in this game, I'm splitting my screen and I'm going to level up my tama as hell. Great entry Midgard

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Te he dicho ya que me das asquito? Puto juegazo.

This shit is addictive, vote positive.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02am

Really enjoyed the multiplayer aspect of this! Fun, simple game. =)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32am

Pretty darn great pet-fighting game! Simple, but rather addicting!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

ha I was also planning on making a tamagotchi related game, but got distracted... lol anyway this is quite cool and polished :) I would have liked it more if the fights were more interactive though :D but it was still fun to play with pixel pets :P

QuexD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54am

Well Shit. That was amazing...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

Simple, but great fun. Massive props for the MMO aspect!

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22am

Even though I got the ugliest tamagochi I could get, I had fun with this. I would totally play a full version of this, if you keep working on it!

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

Meme Egg.... I will poach you!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15am

Including multiplayer feature and Pixelated designs are always a plus.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Didn't like reading the instructions. Otherwise, perfect!

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37pm

#BUG
When I click rest my hp don't restore

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Very simple and addictive game! We need to work ^^'. Good job.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Nice game, great job!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39pm

10/10 Made me feel like I was in Grade 3 again!

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00pm

This was a pretty groovy little game ^.^ I liked it a lot

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27pm

What a neat concept and take on the theme. Good job!

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Nicely done game but I felt it got too monotonous quickly.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:33am

I really liked this! Suggestion: In the battle history, you should have the LOSS be red, not green.

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

Interesting game.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:28am

Mixture of Tamagoshi and Pokemon (the battle-part) very well executed. I had fun with it! Diferent types of attacks would be great

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:34am

This is awesome

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:58am

Nice game!

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32pm

I've been playing it for hours xD

Sergioct says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Really nice idea. Let´s go with it.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:30am

Simple yet elegant. What a solid entry!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Loved the mix of tamogotchi and pokemon. Battles were a little slow and you ccouldn't command them but other than that, great game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Simple but really good entry, well played ;)

luke says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:11am

i love it bro, really cool!

midgard says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Hey guys! Just wanted to update you on this entry in case you're interested in the game and its future!

I have partnered with an important studio here in Spain to bring the game to Android (and maybe iOS) in the best quality possible. The Browser version will be improved at the same time!

There's been a huge downtime today because I had a lot of internet problems and I'm hosting the Game Server myself! But that's about to end, since I'll be migrating everything to a dedicated server as soon as I get one.

I'm going to tell you what I'm going to implement from now on:
- Balance Stats along with Pet Levels.
- Pets will have an essence they come from (Water, Wind, Earth, etc).
- Implement lots of unlockable skills based on the Pet's essence.
- Changes on the Rest system.
- Matchmaking improvements: Option to filter Pet names so you can directly fight a friend or someone you love too much.
- Daily missions in exchange of experience points (Example: Win two matches without missing a turn!).

And much much more! Feel free to follow me at @devMidgard on Twitter, and feel free to also ask or make suggestions. I'll be creating a devlog soon!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Brilliant! I loved all of it, if only there was more things to do with your pet! Great job!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:25am

Ended up playing this while I was playing other LD games all night and got to level 38! Got so high I couldn't be matched with any other pets

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:22am

This is a really neat concept. I've been at it 10 minutes now and my Tama has leveled but hasnt physically changed appearance-- is that gonna happen? I'm very curious.

I also wonder (because finding battles is very quick and easy) am I really playing against another humans pet all the time when I fight. At first I thought it was all AI and you were just saying it was multiplayer as a sort of add to the realism of the game. Then I saw a pet named 'Cumeater". If you did program that in to trick me-- well done. It feels like some anonymous person on the internet named that pet.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:27am

Also, this could be cool to develop for someones cell phone. A tamagotchi meets pokemon game with multiplayer where you can monetize micro-transactions by allowing players to choose how their Tama grows (gets wings,breathes fire, whatever-- could be purely aesthetic to avoid pay to win.) It could make millions I think.

Krafty says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:48pm

This was really fun! Such a cool idea, I really got into it lol =P

midgard says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:34pm

@HotBoxGames: Indeed, there will be more to do with your pet in the future! I'm preparing a website and a big update :) I also saw your pet level 38 and I thought "Whoa, this guy just started playing, look at that!" you keep me ongoing!

@WeepingRupee: For now, Tamas change appareance (very minimally) at level 10 (teen age) and level 20 (adult age). You are indeed getting matched with other people, it's just that it's not a realtime multiplayer. So you can fight another player's pet, and when he enters the game he will be able to see wether his pet has lost or not in the battle history (it's not working right tho). At the same time, people can get matched against your pet, no matter if you're online or not!

This is going to mobile platforms, absolutely! And I am a gamer myself, so I don't really like Pay To Win formulas, so don't worry about that :P

@Krafty: Thanks for the kind words! I'm really glad that you liked the game :D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:24pm

@Midgard
Looking forward to it! Tweet us when you release the update so I can play it!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:03pm

You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0rB_UjhQBc

midgard says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:06pm

@ButtonMasherBros: Thanks for your video! I enjoyed it, thanks for the great job!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:11pm

A pet growing/fighting ! Funny. :)

midgard says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:26pm

The server has been inaccesible for a few hours, sorry for that! I've gone through the code and found the issue. It is now up and fixed!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Good job with that little online multiplayer! The combats are pvp, or there must be both players connected?

4/5

Aaranos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Fun game, reminds me of tamagachi and pokemon combined.

midgard says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Hey guys, so I've set up a really simple site for the game so you can keep up to date on Server Status & Game Updates! Visit it here: http://tama.devmidgard.com/

@brainstorm: Thanks for the kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed it. The Combats are indeed Player VS Player, but it doesn't require anyone to be connected! With that said, your pet can get beaten when you're offline, and you'll see that on the Battle History (pending of improvements!).

@Aaranos: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for playing C:

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

The mundane simplicity of this game actually does a good job capturing what makes Tamogotchi and other pet simulators so therapeutic and addicting. It becomes a rhythmic pattern, a kind of grind I admit liking. Pretty interesting game!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Nice entry! This was really addictive (I stopped at level 20...). I wish there are differences depending of your character type, but I saw in a comment that you wish to add this later, which is nice :) Congrats on making an online during a LD !

ianh says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:20am

Nice job making a fun multiplayer game!

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:24am

I wanna be the very best... ♪♫♬
Like no one ever was... ♪♫♬

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]