Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rogue Bladers: Cradle of disaster

by Deconstructeam - Jam Entry

"Rogue Bladers: Cradle of Disaster" is an action-platformer game with support for local co-op in which you play as the Button Brothers, two independent justice rangers who fight crime with a jetpack and a pair of rollerskates.

Press Z to thrust, release Z to turn.
You can climb walls and grind the roof with your jetpack on.
Skate over an item to pick it up, hold X to aim, and release X to throw it.

(Player 2 controls are keyboard keys "O" and "P".)

The art of Jetpack-Rolling can be tricky, dont give up! The world needs you!

CREDITS
-----------
Kevin Cerdà (@thesharkrider) - Game Design, Particle Design, Enemy Behaviour.
Jordi de Paco (@jordidepaco) - Game Design, Code, Writing.
Marina González (@marineteta) - Art.
Pablo Ruiz aka "Fingerspit" (@thefingerspit) - Music and SFX.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#65Innovation(Jam)3.91
#144Audio(Jam)3.73
#154Humor(Jam)3.48
#156Fun(Jam)3.66
#170Graphics(Jam)4.09
#174Overall(Jam)3.72
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#253Theme(Jam)3.97

Comments

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Great art work. I think rooms should have been persistent. Destroyed the wall, accidentally left the room and had to do it again. Liked the effect the train gave when it went past. Good job.

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36am

Awesome job all around guys. Wish I had a second person here to playtest with - seems like the co-op would be a lot of fun :)

Maikel_Ortega says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

Great job, fun concept and I love those dialogues. Also that skating-backwards-sprite its super funky!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23am

Really cool to see what you did with just two buttons, there are a lot of actions your character can perform. Some moves didn't feet very intuitive, like when you climbed a wall and it switched directions, but for a game jam it's damn good.

The game is highly polished, didn't run into any bugs and thought it was really fun. Perhaps the thing that needs to be improved the most would be level design, then again, it works pretty well as it is right now.

Good job guy! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Not bad, crazy mechanics, but really funm, good job again team :D

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Great artwork, great music, great ideas for the controls, although it can get kinda confusing in some situations. Blasting thugs with wheels and exchanging them with your friend felt awesome, you could build a dodgeball game on that!

Great job guys!!!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:21pm

So great! Initially you can think "how crazy is that!", a dew seconds after you're shouting the other guy. Music are so nice!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Good job guys. The mechanichs are good, the control works fine and flawlessly. I didn't quite enjoy the music, it gets repetitive so quickly and also I didn't enjoy so much test for an arcade game, but I know this is your style :D

I also love that you included coop but not requiring it, I'm tired of Luudm Dare games you can only play in coop. Great attention to detail there.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13pm

It's a good looking game with an interesting idea, but the controls make less enjoyable the game it could they be.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Great controls for just two buttons, really cool and weird way to navigate environments.

The camera moving from room to room was a bit confusing, and some jumps were really hard to make.

The characters were really funny, both through dialog and looks.

Good job!

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I find controls very confusing. Especially throwing the tire right.
Apart from that, good job team! :-)

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Funny and crazy game. Catch dead enemies and shoot them is always great.
He has appeared one Fatality error after exceed the level of the baby.

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:25pm

The controls were a little hard to use :s but overall its a cool-fun game!
The graphics and the dialogue boxes are very well done.

gv1351 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Great game

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:47am

It's fun, looks beautiful art-wise, the audio matches, and those characters and dialogues are lovely, along with their animations -already fell in love with them-. Some of the collisions work weirdly as at some point we had to restart the game because the sprite wouldn't move from a corner, but overall we really had fun playtesting the game, and matches the theme "two buttons".

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:30am

The impact in this game is ridiculously perfect. Didn't expect I could throw - well, things other than tires (to avoid spoilers) - so that was cool. Turning around is annoying but otherwise the control is pretty solid.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Very fun game and beautiful pixel art. :)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Wow! Amazing game, really liked it.
Good art and gameplay.
Found some errors after death, guys.

stefenism says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Please develop this further...it's amazing!

yhsper says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Very nice, guys! A very fleshed out entry, I think I'm not fit for these controls and couldn't play with a second player, but that's no problem! Congrats!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Pro:
+ Great artwork and music
+ Interesting and original concept
+ Excellent ambiance
+ Great controls
Con:
- Really easy to die on spikes (or I just suck at it)
- Controls can go a bit crazy
Obs:
o I went past Toro, and went to next screen, came back accidentally and died there, and then the game crashed

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:29pm

*Awesome work!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:52am

Hah, this is cool. Controls are pretty awkward, but i like the concept. Being able to move to previous rooms and accidentally resetting your progress is really annoying, though. Still, i had fun, loved the aesthetic too, great work!

Also, i got a fatal error after dying in the room immediately after the baby lord: "Variable o_map.<unknown variable>(100132, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_o_testing_Step_0"

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]