Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GTBC-1: Global terraformer for barren climate

by Smirnov48 - Compo Entry

You are terraformer. You must growing trees and terraform the planet.
Use key: [z] and [?]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#528Audio2.54
#573Theme3.62
#637Innovation2.88
#675Graphics2.73
#685Mood2.67
#716Overall2.96
#829Fun2.58

Comments

AlmightyTuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Really nice twist on traditional pinball. Super satisfying feedback, however, some way to nudge to ball in the air would be a nice addition

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:30pm

This is a great idea, loved the pinball mechanism. The game had a bit of an rubberband lag which sometimes made it hard to hit the ball. Great entry overall!

srakowski says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:20am

Fun little pin ball style game :) Well done!

beetracks says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:29am

Interesting concept. It's a bit slow, but I enjoyed the pinball-like idea.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:07am

At first I was annoyed that the second button was a mystery, then I realized it was the actual question mark key-- haha! Very nice game! I like the different goals.

Rys0n says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:41am

I like the idea! The game goes by very slowly as a result of the low-gravity and very bouncy trees though, so I feel like, even though the gravity idea is neat, because terraforming and space, some re-balancing to make everything less bouncy and faster could make the game a lot more fun. Overall a neat idea. ;)

Luxorix says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

Very good!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:11am

Cool idea, but I hadn't the sensation of playing the game, everything was too random, and there is no way to loose, so, if I just sit and watch the ball finish the objectives I would end the game. Overall, it still a cool game, but the player should do more stuffs.

phi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:00am

Cool idea. The sound effects are a bit too loud in contrast to the music and the ball is too slow.

phi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:03am

Watching the dust come down and the trees grow is satisfying, but doesn't involve the player very much. Most of the time I spent waiting for the ball to come down just to be shot back up by a tree (so, is that how physics works? :P). I liked the progressive objectives though, and I would have liked them to be a bit more prominent than just some text in a corner. Otherwise, nicely done, good music! :)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:53am

I had some problems of perfomance playing it in Firefox. The game is very fun and the idea is well implemented. I like the art style. Also, using the ? to control is a bad idea. I have a spanish keyboard, and I had problems to find it. Try to use more standard keys (Z, for example, is a good key. Nice job!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:35am

More an interactive screensaver than a full game, but a nicely realised one nonetheless. Good themes usage.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:35am

Cool game. I liked getting all the trees to grow. :)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Nice game. Some thoughts:
Putting two 'clear dust' objectives back-to-back is a bit disappointing to the player. Why does it say 'decrease dust to 200', then when I do, I get rewarded with 'decrease dust to 150'?
Later on, the game got quite boring, because there was nothing I could do. The ball rarely got to the paddles, usually just bounced around the trees. And when it got to my paddles, the best thing to do was to just let it fall in between so that it gets shot high up. Maybe add more paddles? More ways to control the ball, in mid-air, or on some sort of flying platforms? Most pinball games have multiple sets of paddles.
I unpacked some saplings before I got the objective, I grew some trees before I got the objective. Maybe prevent the player from doing that earlier? I dunno.
The game was a bit slow for a pinball, so it wasn't very exciting.
The music … I think what makes it so plain is the fact that the 'melody' / the main instrument is constantly playing. Have multiple sections, with different lead instruments, different melodies, sometimes solos and pauses. Now it felt like a randomly-generated piece of music, which isn't too good :)

I'm sure you noticed some / all of the above, but if not, hope this helps. Anyway, good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]