Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

STALKer

by Hegemege - Compo Entry

PLAY LINK BELOW

The smoothest STALKer experience is waiting!

Grow your plant as you please, no annoying limitations or goals! The definite day dream of the 3rd millenium mankind.

Controls:
Left and right arrow keys

Note:
If you don't hear the music, refresh the game page.

You can guide the stalk around whenever it's growing. When you see growth energy going up the stem (yellow blob), you can start a new stem by pressing left or right. You can also hop onto stems when the blob is at their intersection. Gain more energy by collecting the water droplets.

Author's notes:
This was my nth time participating, and although I almost felt like giving up after 24 hours and no progress, I carried on. This is my first LD entry in javascript, and I lost a lot of time learning a new library - Phaser.js.

The game doesn't have a goal, but maybe it's just perfect for you :)

Tool stack used:
-Code:
http://phaser.io/
Sublime Text 2

-Graphics:
GraphicsGale
Photoshop

-Audio (generated):
http://abundant-music.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#104Theme4.18
#143Mood3.56
#182Audio3.35
#256Graphics3.55
#334Innovation3.39
#502Overall3.21
#709Fun2.82

Comments

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:13am

Two button and growing!, relaxing to play and has good music :) I wish it was a little more lax on path selection (Keeps making a new branch rather then follow a made one)
(hold left or right to follow branch, press left or right to make new path)

Anyway,
:D good work man!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15am

A cool game, but I feel it could be a little faster. Not in terms of game speed, but how far each branch can go. It didn't hold my interest for long enough to get to the items.

AlmightyTuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Nice idea, well executed. The controls are a little too slow and clunky though

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Great mood! Though I think some limitations would have been good, but well now it's a cool relaxation game.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42pm

theres lot of soothing and atmosferic game this LD, love it!
awesome idea, i like the graphics and music fit really well!

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I liked the idea, but I think that the game was a bit slow for me. I was not sure when I should press the keys, cause the yellow ball just disappeared. Hahahaha
Anyway, cool concept, can be improved a lot.

shanton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Great use of both themes and loads of fun, graphics look weird when the stem is close to horizontal though

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

I thought this looked great, the music really suited it too. I feel all relaxed now. If I had one piece of constructive criticism, it might hvae been better if the water drops weren't moved after every growth, because it made it impossible to plan things and most of the growth ended up being wasted?

Nice though :)

farnsworth2 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54pm

An interesting idea with strong visuals, but it felt a little too slow to hold my interest. Most of the game was spent waiting for a branch to finish growing a short distance, then accidently switching to the wrong branch.

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Cool game, and so relaxing. Good, job!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

neat idea ... well executed. It would have been better to have control over where it went. Perhaps a slight pause at a junction or something.

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice work! The music was enjoyable and I liked the atmosphere created by the slow pace. With a little more polish and touch screen controls this could be a relaxing way to spend a few minutes on a phone or tablet.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

I liked the mood in this game a lot. For me right now, I didn't have the patience to play it for long, but I think I will come back to it sometime when I want a calm moment :) Impressive visuals.

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01am

Pretty cool game! I found the beginning pretty confusing, I couldn't really get a good grasp of the controls. The music is really soothing, and the overall mood was nice. Good job!

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Nice graphics and music.Good use of the theme. Good job!

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Great use of both themes, very cool music and ambiance =)
But a little too slow.Nice work !!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:15pm

This is a nice game, the music fits the general mood and atmosphere. The controls however are kind of unresponsive and it is a little too slow for my taste. In 10 minutes of playing I couldn't get a single water drop and they change positions too often.

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:25pm

very nice idea. controls are bit off but its manageable. music was ok but i would swap organ for something less intrusive.

monetai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:08pm

its slow but that's relaxing, it's calm, the music is cool, i liked it

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Growing a plant is a great idea. I like the calming atmosphere of the game, but I think the music is a bit too strong.

cilerba says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:18am

Perfect fit to the theme, and a great concept. The leaves that grow out of it is the perfect touch. Personally excited to look through the source code to see how you went about coding this. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]