Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Golden Rush

by juaxix - Jam Entry

W,A,S,D = Move
Space = Jump
Mouse = Move camera with restrictions
Gamepad enabled and recommended. Mouse is poorly implemented
---
Simplistic puzzle game made by one person using Unreal 4.10, featuring: procedural mesh creation, splines, FX,etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#123Graphics(Jam)4.21
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#557Audio(Jam)2.90
#660Overall(Jam)3.17
#671Mood(Jam)3.03
#750Humor(Jam)2.17
#758Fun(Jam)2.86
#984Theme(Jam)2.82

Comments

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

"This game is still In Development and is not currently playable." says the site

juaxix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

I know, there was some problem with the upload, I'm uploading it again, thanks

juaxix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35am

Should be ok now ^^

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Couldn't play this because I didn't have the proper MSVCP dll.

juaxix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Recursive: I've updated the file to include those unreal pre-requisite libs,please try download again.

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Init the .exe, and nothing happens.

benjaml says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Looks awesome !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37am

Not able to play it :/ a real shame Dx

siege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Very pretty; hard to control, though.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50pm

I just make it run now and I only have one word... WOW! I liked it so much, a little short but nicely done. The camera doesn't feel confortable at all, but amazing game!

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

it wont run, sadly

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Nice one! The controls were a bit strange but really managed to capture the feeling of controlling a fish! Camera was a bit frustrating and the portal like ue4 example rooms felt like a strange combination with the fish. Would have loved to be able to steer up and down and be in deeper waters! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

It says that MSVCP140.dll is missing

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:12am

Use mouse is not recommended, instead grab the gamepad you lazy guys

terry90 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:19am

really good looking game! I loved the way the fish moved, although the controls themselves were iffy. Would have liked some music, but the SFX were nice.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Wish you had an OS X version
Screenshot look really great!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:16am

This was really pretty, but the controls were tough to grasp at first. I'm glad I got to be able to play it :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:55am

Pretty, but the controls are your real enemy in the game.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:14pm

UE engine shines in the beautiful graphics (and my computer melting department), but controls are a bit nuts. Other than that nice and fun game! Great job!

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Nice game. It was hard to me at first time to control fish. Graphics is awesome! Very good entry! Well done!

Loneshark says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:07am

I think the controls were a little frustrating at times because of turning momentum and camera angles, but the fish did feel like a fish so good job on that.

It's tough to do a 3D game in a weekend but you've at least done better than others have. I'm curious as to what kind of BGM you might have been thinking of for setting the mood...

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:41am

It would be great if fish had some texture, scales and the eyes... Currently it reminds me of something bad. :p

Having said that, the rest of the game seems fluent, it's just that the camera is too low, I was barely able to see the pipes, and the doors opened without me knowing what I did with the pipes. I was just jumping around. Other than that, it's a really nice entry.

Keep up the good work.

Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:23pm

It takes time to understand what I should do in the first room. It wasn't obvious. I like visual style. It look consistent and on high level of quality. But I need to admit that fish shaped as flying dick. I think this is sorta metaphor.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Pretty graphics, and good concept ^^ Even if the controls are quite awkward, it's pleasant to play. Good job ^^

Ethan Allwood says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:24pm

looks great but turns too fast and hard to control 4/5

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]