Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Seedling

by handCraftedRadio - Compo Entry

Play as a seedling desperately trying to reach the sunlight.

-Use the arrow keys to move.
-Eat seeds for points.
-Eat all seeds to unlock exit.
-Leave exit to enter sunlight and win level.
-Eating own stem loses points.
-Getting negative points will end in death.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Fun3.78
#96Overall3.83
#161Theme4.09
#195Innovation3.65
#228Humor2.94
#308Graphics3.43
#384Mood3.09
#491Audio2.62
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

Quite a fun entry! ^_^

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Interesting! At first I thought the seeds increase your number of moves so I have to optimize my moves and collect all the seeds in least amount of moves.
I also like the idea of cutting yourself in the middle and losing all those points. Nice game!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I love the concept !
Too bad there's only one level, but i actually think this could be a great complete game ! :)

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Wow, this is a legit great concept. First one in this LD I'm giving 5/5 for overall & fun. Seriously good little puzzler, I want this on my iPad :)

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Nice game! Like the retro arcade feel! Like Snake meets Sokoban. My biggest complaint is restarting at level 1 each time I die becomes frustrating. Particularly since the game has puzzle elements, I just want to be able to retry over and over very quickly. Good job!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Well done. I got to level 4 after a couple of attempts, and didn't feel like playing more, since I didn't think there would be more mechanics, but I had fun.

themadknights says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Great work! I like the concept and the implementation. The graphics remind me somehow to super mario bros 3 :P. I think it lacks some music.

logon13 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Even though I play quite alot of really well polished games on ludum dare everyone still amazes me. It amazes me how people get a decent amount of content at such a high quality in such a small amount of time. Congratulations

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Really solid entry, looks kinda polished with the transitions and nice level-complete graphics. It plays a bit like a turn-based game of Snake/Pacman. Keep working on it, I want some cheers music to go along :)

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Very fun :3

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Really interesting gameplay and take on the theme.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Really nice! i loved the cool-guy sun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]