Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Unintended Acceleration

by Martin Vilcans - Compo Entry

Oh no! The accelerator on my car is stuck! I can only control it by turning. (Hence, two buttons!)

I can choose whether I'll just make the car stop and save myself, or I can choose to finish my job of collecting 40 orange cones. One small success, or a huge accomplishment!

Instructions:

Turn with A and D (two buttons!) There is no braking, only acceleration!

Hit Escape to restart the level. To quit, press Cmd+Q (on Mac) or Alt+F4 (on other platforms).

Find the cones on the minimap and drive carefully!

If you're interested in how the game was made, see: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/14/unintended-acceleration-1-day-later/

Source code is here: https://github.com/vilcans/ld34

UPDATE January 3rd: Now there's an Android version too. Download http://public.librador.com/ld34/unintended-acceleration-1.1.0.apk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Audio3.73
#218Theme4.03
#336Humor2.68
#352Fun3.32
#515Graphics3.03
#519Overall3.19
#544Mood2.88
#644Innovation2.87
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32am

The controls feel a bit laggy but I think the BGM was pretty cool though. Good job!

Tommislav says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35pm

In my oppinion you nailed the physics really well! I'm actually enjoying cruising around the landscape looking for traffic cones and doing crazy stunts.

Regarding gameplay I think I would have preferred several smaller tracks/levels instead of one huge open world. It's easy to get lost, and I never managed to collect all the cones. Not even close.

And the audio is top notch! I can imagine you standing behind me with an electrical guitar while I'm cruising for cones ;D

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Nice game, I had fun. :)

PuddleOfWater says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Great mood and feel of the car. =)
The level had me searching around, feeling there was more unique things to discover. Jumps, difficult hills, rough terrain and skyscrapers.
I didn't feel the car was unable to continue, when the "Wrecked" text came up. If the wheels fell off, I'd see why it was wrecked.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:14pm

@PuddleOfWater: That's what health bars are for. :-)

doitle says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Cool game. Is it even possible to get all the cones and stop? The music reminds me of Uniracers for SNES.

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Good car control... Good game overall!!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:00pm

I like the concept. Ramping levels would be nicer - it's pretty challenging to figure out a low impact way of getting so many cones. Or at least a more forgiving damage handler (or pit stop to repair). Good car sounds. Fun to figure out ways of safely slowing down.

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:43pm

I think the start point is not very good, better start in open area with no obstacles

Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:32pm

@scorched: Good point.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:01am

i'm impressed thet you've managed to form a working 3D car in the nick of time. i've spent two weeks on in and it's not really good.

Tyler says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Great fun! Would love to see it developed more as a platformer/racer. Just needs some health pickups! Focusing on making smaller levels instead of a massive open world would be an awesome way to move this project forward.

Zyow says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Nice game with cool physic! Get all the cones is a little hard. Good job!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Interesting Game! Don't know why you had to collect cones when you usually have to avoid them but still cool!

dreadzilla says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Great feel and a fun game. Great audio!

Your game has similarities to mine! :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:26am

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

@Tyler @scriptorum: I agree, I think we need a pit stop or health pickups.

@dreadzilla: So it seems. :-)

And to everyone that commented that it should be smaller levels instead of an open world: That's a great suggestion that I'll think more about.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:41pm

I liked the course design and lighting effects plus having the optional task of picking up all the cones was a nice touch. I think some extra effects could be added to the car to show that it's about to be wrecked (like smoke coming out of the hood).

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Nice graphics and music, I liked the controls too. Cool concept and fun game! c:

Jacob123 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Pretty cool man. I enjoyed this. The car got wrecked too easily though. Plus it kept moving, which made me feel cheated, like I could've kept going despite the "wreckage"

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:25pm

It's very, very odd to me that you'd be trying to get the cones. I spent two minutes trying to avoid the cones like in a demented driver's license exam before realizing my objective was to collect them all.

Still, not awful by any means. If I have a complaint it's that the car never changes no matter how many times you run into things; having it look visibly dented would be a much better HP meter than the vertical thing in the corner of the screen.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:35pm

The game is pleasant although the physics of turning the car behave weirdly in my opinion. And I think stopping the car is way to easy to be a condition of success ;D

J08nY says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Great game! Really enjoyed the drifting and level desing! Did you model the terrain manually or are some parts generated?

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:57am

Really great take on the theme! The car physics are very well done. I would say that the area could be more linear, the world was very open. You had awesome music too, fits it well!

Jan 6, 2016 @ 8:42pm

@J08nY Thanks. I made the terrain manually in Unity's terrain editor.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]