Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crabby Puzzles

by Verrazano - Compo Entry

This is a game about being a crab who can only move left and right.. as crabs do. Complete the 12 puzzles to finish the game.
--
I created this game using processing, a subset of java. Then ported it to html5/javascript using processing.js.
--
The game is a little clunky since I tile aligned everything, and I didn't get to make as many levels as I would have liked to but here it is.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#102Overall3.81
#143Fun3.65
#143Audio3.48
#201Humor3.04
#218Theme4.03
#246Mood3.33
#247Graphics3.57
#490Innovation3.14

Comments

Interface says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Great entry, perfect use of one of the themes. I like the animations! Great mood music but you turned off the category for mood and audio? Why? :-)
On Windows, using Chrome worked best - IE didn't work at all and Edge didn't have the background music (it did have the sfx.

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

I like how the crab crabs about and the creativity in designing around two controls. Zoom left puzzles feeling rather trial-n-errory for me.

misson20000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20am

On some of the later puzzles, it got a bit hard to see what was connected to what. Maybe you could put icons next to the buttons and what they correspond to?

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37am

I like that the crab bounces with the music. Catchy sound loop and cute crab. I beat all the levels, though the end ones got tricky. Performance was a bit sluggish in Firefox sometimes, though I didn't take off points for that.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44am

Very pleasant little game!

Great example of a game that rides on the character art, so it's crisp and well done.

It has a slow learning gradient so people who like leisurely pacing will like this one. The last level or two is tricky though!

And don't forget the dev was wise enough to have no lives, no timer, and infinite level restarts by holding down both left and right keys. So it's all about the puzzle, without "artificial" external pressure.

Nice! : )

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

Very nice! Way more to it than I was initially expecting! (Your GIF makes me think simple chaos and running, you deceiver!)

Tetha says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14am

Really enjoyable overall :)

After the first few levels, I feared this might devolve into just running from enemies, because some games like this do... but it didn't :) The last puzzle was a bit confusing at first because I couldn't see the yellow line on the white background, but once I had that it was easy. Great job.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13am

Really fun and well executed. I like the simplicity of it, the implementation of different mechanics and the presentation. I wish the background wasn't white and that the whole map was visible for some of the puzzles. Overall I liked it a lot, as I said on the stream.

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Very cool platformer. Real clever use of teleporters and water to be able to navigate vertically without jumping.

I loved the tutorial esk difficulty ramp which made it a fun exploration of what the game would offer me next level.

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Very enjoyable! Sometimes a bit too much what feels like random trial and error. The earlier portal level took me way too long (also my own fault for not trying to remember what happens :) ).

Adreqi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

nice game :) I like the teleport solution to the 2 buttons problem, and the overall feeling.
I feel it could be nice ported to mobile.

euske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Very nicely done! I didn't realize the colored lines indicate the doors to open until the very last level. I feel stoopid. The music was catchy too.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Cute little game! Very fun to play. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/p3nh2TkdCXs

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

very good entry. I felt at times that I'm just going through the motions and that solves the puzzles, but some of the puzzles were challenging and interesting. good job! :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Actually rather challenging, but the art and sounds are nice!

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Really good puzzle design and you really nailed the difficulty curve!

DinoDoesStuff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Haven't played it but watched someone finish it in a Livestream

VladRusu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Cool graphics! I liked the water mechanic. Doors and switches got a bit confusing at later levels. Great Job!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:44pm

"This game smart. This game loyal. This game grateful.
I appreciate that."
DJ Khaleed's comment 'bout your game.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:57am

Nice game! I liked how you stayed true to the theme and literally only used 2 buttons

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:12pm

At first I thought you couldn't possibly make interesting puzzles with that, but I was wrong. It's actually getting really difficult really fast and I had to quit after not getting the "Combo Lock" level for like 15 minutes. The music is pretty cool, as are the graphics. Good entry!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:00am

Awesome puzzles.
Some are made trickier though by the fact that you can't see the whole level. On purpose or accidental?

Sometimes you just aren't sure what you did before to put the level in a certain state, so when restarting you kind of have to just memorize each and every step that seems ok so far. So, bit of trial and error, which isn't always fun ..

Other than that, the graphics are really nice, sounds are good, music is good, and the difficulty ramping is pretty good (besides the visibility issue). Definitely keep polishing it!

alfie275 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Hey Verrazano, did a video of your game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMdMZfU3v2Y ;)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:08pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
I love these little platformer games, where you should use your brain and precision to handle the levels, it is a really nice interpretation of the two button controls. The music and your art style fits really well together. The puzzles were nice and sometimes hold some suprises.

dollarone says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:31am

This is fantastic. Good graphics, challenging but fun gameplay, TWELVE levels (I know how much this work is).

Absolutely great. I applaud you! (Last level was tricky but very cool)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]