Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ZX (3 in 1)

by myachin - Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Innovation4.17
#54Theme4.30
#86Graphics4.09
#98Mood3.71
#133Overall3.74
#154Audio3.45
#178Fun3.61
#629Humor2.00
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:12am

I find it interesting you made three mini-games. Why did you make such low win conditions though?

myachin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24am

ShadowFoxNixill, oh! It's mistake! I forgot about my test values. Fixed. Thank you!

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Graphics is so cool, like it!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:26pm

That looks promising, but I only get to the start screen, then nothing happens.

Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:52pm

For some reason it works now, so ignore my last comment.

I like the visual style and that you managed to make three minigames. The minigames are pretty unconventional too, which is always a bit of a gamble. In this case, I think they could work, but you'll need to work more on the gameplay which can be a bit frustrating.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Those games are very nifty!

dollarone says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:26pm

That's cool: three games with 2 controls! Like the mood and music. The controls are sometimes a bit hard, but the games are original and have the same style. Good work!

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Congrats for having three games in one submission. I like the style of each of them and I think that they are all interesting.

However its pretty criminal that there is no explanation for the controls in each game. It's really difficult to understand what's going on, which means that you die a lot, which means you never get to heard the cool music in the game.

The game I was best at was the green game (but best is only a relative term). I'd love to see a more user-friendly version of this game because it really is the more innovative game I've seen here.

Nicolas Gass says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Nice Game.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Nice game ^^ The mini-games are clever and fun, good job ^^

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Very cool game, even with 3 phases :D
The ound effects are awesome and fitting well with the ambience. The only cons I found are that it's somewhat abstract and unintuitive to find out what to do, or what controls do, and that is hard ^^'.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Nice visual style, simple looking games but pretty tricky. Kept me playing :) Nice job.

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Cool stuff! I enjoyed the visual style and how you explored the 2 button theme in three different ways.

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Good work! I think the controls are a bit difficult but the idea looks pretty nice :).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]