Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Project 0807

by davisan - Jam Entry

An action top-down game!
Each time you collect 100 orbs, the character grows and get faster and stronger!
A Gamepad is highly recommended!

Default controlns:
Move: Arrows (you can move in 8 directions)
RUN: HOLD D while walking
Attack: S
Dash: A (when available, evades attacks)

Also in the Setup Controls you can rotate the controls so, up/down/left/right will always move in diagonals!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#269Humor(Jam)3.14
#274Mood(Jam)3.52
#315Overall(Jam)3.53
#350Graphics(Jam)3.73
#514Innovation(Jam)3.14
#645Theme(Jam)3.55

Comments

Raius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Seriously good game, nicely done! Also loving how there isn't a story put in your face but the dialogue lets you guess what the backstory is and there's a nice sense of mystery.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:49pm

You could make the character movement a bit faster. It gets boring real fast.

davisan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Did you hold the RUN button?

Rosain_f says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42am

Good game. But it get boring because it's to slow.
Nice game :-)

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Nicely done! But the trap is annoying as it's diagonal...

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:01am

My only complaint is that it didn't last longer. If only you had more time...

RevelBase says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Very nice entry. At first I was very shocked when everything turned white, thought I was killed without a reason. But I got new powers instead \o/

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:42am

I really liked your game! The experimented on bunny was adorable and then I laughed with each evolution of himself. I especially loved the second evo with his punching. I imagine it did control better with a gamepad but I didn't find it that bad with keyboard. Really enjoyed it and I wish it had a conclusion :)

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Pro:
+ Nice graphics
+ Fun concept
Obs:
o Story was nice, I guess it could go on?

Great job!

davisan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Thanks!
@nihilaleph: yes, for the ending... the bunny escapes, the laboratory is burned down (the black smoke in the main menu) and the bunny adventure starts (maybe?). haha.

StaNov says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Yeeey, I made it! Quite challenging, great graphics, nice sounds.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Nicely done entry, it was fun to play it!
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Really nice entry! lovely graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]