Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Madness

by WebFreak001 - Jam Entry

Made in a Team with @Wildn00b: http://vild.io/

A never ending game getting harder and faster the more microgames you finish. Challenge yourself through 11 different minigames and beat your high score! The controls are simple, however they randomize for each game so be warned.

Might require SDL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#231Fun(Jam)3.53
#521Innovation(Jam)3.13
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Stitchie says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:09pm

makes me rage more than flappy bird
bad graphics
bad minigames
i get always the same score
-5/10
noob

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

Very fun and interesting game mechanics with random controls.

OdnetninI says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34am

Very fun Game :D

Garris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Reminded me a bit of WarioWare. The minigames are interesting and there seems to be a lot of them :] I'd recommend some music, and a check to make sure keys that represent left and right are actually left and right of each other. I found that a little disorienting. Also I am the GREATEST at climbing that ladder.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

I love how you've interpreted the theme. Cool game.

aare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Nice one! Reminds me of the game "4 seconds fury". Though in yours version the mini-games are much much harder :P

The tetris one is really hard, In theory I know how to beat it but never maneged to do so :P

Lovely animations - really polished :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Really cool game! i like how the buttons are different every time!

Jace239 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:32am

I like the variety of games and that the buttons are randomized. It would be better though if it gave you more time to test out the buttons (or didn't start until you'd pushed both buttons once) and if the game order was randomized. Still, it was fun. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]