Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

From Sprout to Splendor

by xevozfighter - Jam Entry

You are a plant trying to grow to the point of blooming. Growing will cost you sunlight which you can collect by clicking on falling rays, and water which is collected automatically over time through your roots. You must defend yourself from caterpillars, beatles, and flies. To defend yourself, you can purchase upgrades at the bottom of the screen.

Upgrading roots will more than double your water per second.

Upgrading leaves will collect sunlight over time in addition to sunlight gained by clicking on falling rays.

Hiring ants will defend you from ground bugs and upgrading them increases their damage.

Growing thorns will defend you from flying bugs and upgrading them will increase their damage.

Synthesizing poison will defend you from both flying bugs, and crawling bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Audio(Jam)4.04
#81Mood(Jam)3.93
#108Graphics(Jam)4.25
#121Theme(Jam)4.15
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#579Innovation(Jam)3.04
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#766Humor(Jam)2.13
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Fernando says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Loved the graphics and the music. Pretty relaxing :D
Congrats!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18am

Amazing game! Love the concept, music, art and mood. No greater beauty! :) Only con is that the game is not very challenging. Also note that replay button is not working if you die, you just die again as soon as you press replay.

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

Good game, but needs some explaining of the controls/gameplay

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09am

Nice music background, and i like the GUI sprites too, just wasnt clear enough what i had to do at first, the W for water and S for sun was take me a little to understand, maybe you could put a image instead =), but i like it, was really relaxing and zen

jackycute says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11am

I like this game! It's awesome!
I wish it can be animated.
Also the audio is great!

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

Satisfying game, I feel very zen.

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

Nice music! Relaxing!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47am

Nice graphics and music. Could use some more variety though, was quite easy to beat

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42am

Splendid graphics and audio, though the gameplay isn't very interesting, could be more complex and would need some balance I guess. Anyway, nice game :)

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:04am

Nice calm relaxing game. Good music and great art. Good job.

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11am

It's cute, I liked it. The gameplay is very relaxed, and the upgrades aren't super straightforward at first, but it's a neat little game!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:53am

Neat, nice little game!

At first I was disappointed in the lag, but it was only my computer, and it was fast, but after a while, I won! :D

drludos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:02am

Great entry, I love it! The graphics are wonderful, the gameplay is simple yet challenging enough to keep me entertained, and this game is so relaxing, I love it. The music is very powerful, great job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Really nice work on the art! the game was pretty short, but enjoyable. i would fix the resolution of the web player though, it's a bit small.

Miltage says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Loved this. Relaxed pacing, balanced and lovely graphics. Reminds me of pixel art games from the 90's. You've done well here.

I found this on Newgrounds, but there was no link back here. You might want to fix that if you want more ratings.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:22am

Really relaxing. Beautiful graphics soothing music and innovative gameplay dynamic. Was frustrated at first because I didn't know ants would defend against caterpillars and kept dying :P. Felt the gameplay was really rewarding and appreciated you made this a 10 minute playable concept that gave me the satisfaction of winning :)

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:05am

Very calming and relaxing game. Enjoyable to just sit back and play.

axoona says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:23pm

great graphics and audio. the concept is interesting as well.
but it could have been a bit shorter, it gets a bit boring after at the end..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]