Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

omg IT'S A TIE

by Larzan - Compo Entry

As per Mikes email:

> The Theme for Ludum Dare 34 is...
> ...
> IT'S A TIE!!!!!!!!!
> Two button controls
and then some more words, so, the theme is ITS A TIE.

A TIE between two button to be exact.
Each button can accelerate on one axis, vertical or horizontal,
bounce and tie is the secret.
Get them BOTH to the green exit blocks.

CONTROLS:
-------------
Cursor keys up/down: Pink Button
Cursor keys left/right: Orange Button
Mouseclick: toggle TIE (BLOCKS cursor key movement!!)
R: reload level
L: switch to next level (in case it gets too frustrating and you want to see the next one anyways ;) )

p.s.: as always, never enough time, blahblah, the timer is not finetuned to the levels, not enough time for playtesting either, i hope it is a bit of fun anyhow.

TOOLS
----------
Phaser.io
PHPStorm
Bfxr


-----------------------
EASY VERSION
-----------------------
After some comments were made that the levels were too difficult i added ten more levels to have a more gradual change in difficulty.
NO GAME MECHANICS were changed, only the title screen now shows the color of the target blocks and more levels were added to make the game more accessible.
Choose the 'HTML5 (easy)' link to play this version.




Update
---------
Next day fixes (mo, 14.)
* fixed the level 8+9 bug that didn't let you finish
* adjusted the difficulty by preventing movement when TIE is active, it was too easy before :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#32Innovation4.12
#206Humor3.00
#481Overall3.23
#484Mood2.95
#567Fun3.04
#698Graphics2.68
#702Theme3.42

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:48am

Level 8 can't be finished, green acts as normal floor.

Really interesting take on the theme.

The concept is interesting, but one thing that's a bit odd is that once you get the balls together, it is easy to get to the finish simply by tying them and navigating with arrow keys. What could be interesting - balls can be navigated only if they are untied.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

Clever idea, I liked it!

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

Nice wordplay and concept :)

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Points on humor for the take on the theme. Interesting concept!

Larzan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33am

@BoltKey: My idea was that you only have a limited time each level that you can 'tie' them, but time ran out.
Your idea is simple and easy to implement, will add that to a 'next day' version.
Thanks for the level tip, will fix that later today (Tiled problem with polygons)

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Neat idea for the theme! Slightly meta, haha!

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Interesting take on the theme of the theme. Fun game, nicely done.

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Hah, looks for me that after difficulty adjustments it's too damn hard :P Loved the theme interpretation :D

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37pm

This is a really original mechanic, nice :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:27am

What an interesting mechanic! It's hard to wrap your brain around, and I've never played anything quite like it before. Given how challenging it can be, it might be best to remove the timer requirement and instead reward (but not require) beating the timer -- or make the timers more lenient but reward beating levels much faster than required. That way players can really explore these cool mechanics at their own pace.

Nice work!

barret907k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45am

Very confused. Couldn't beat third level.

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Innovative puzzle mechanic. Good job.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:30pm

First level was impossible for me. I don't know if I'm missing something or what. I love the idea though. I think this, with some more twists on the idea, could make for a good puzzle game. Great job.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:53pm

The concept is really interesting but I find the game really hard to play. Maybe it will be better off without the time limit.

davekalina says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:53am

Clever, non-obvious mechanic that makes for an interesting puzzle game.

MorganLeFay says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:11pm

I like your take on the theme. And I am very thankful for the easy version. With the original I was getting stuck at the first level but the improved version teaches the mechanics quite well!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]