Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nuclear Arms 2: Garbage Day

by Logicon - Jam Entry

The world is in peril. The trash sun looms ever closer to our world. One man has been called upon to travel into the trash sun and destroy it. That man is Craig Killbane.

This is our second Ludum Dare for most of us, thing went much smoother because of our experience last year. Lots of fun.
We decided to tackle both themes, two button controls and growing.

This game follows the adventures of Craig Killbane. You can check out the first part of the adventure here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=10322

This game is a infinite shoot em up style game.
-Avoid trash or it will cause your ship to grow.
-Shoot lazers to create paths.
-Pickup shields to endure collision obstacles.
-Listen to the call ins of your friends and enemies.
-ACTIVATE THE HYPERDRIVE!

Controls:
Move left = left arrow key
move right = right arrow key
Activate lazer (if you have ammo) = press left and right arrow keys together
shake garbage loose = hold left and right arrow keys together

Credits:
Chad Gerein - Ship Movement and powerups
Logan Marks - level generation and intro/outro screens, some art
Brodie Beaman - Recorded and edited VO lines.
Mitchell Maclean - Conversation panel logic and UI, sound effects, some art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#212Humor(Jam)3.30
#321Fun(Jam)3.40
#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#418Theme(Jam)3.78
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#598Innovation(Jam)3.02
#623Graphics(Jam)3.24

Comments

dweebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Nice game liked it. The fire double key was glitching or so I thought until I noticed I was out of ammo. Maybe have a sound saying out of ammo or "click" or flash the ammo in red?

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22am

Thanks for the suggestion, we've updated the game with a sound when you run out of bullets :D

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

good game, the visuals remind me of an indie game called Ballpoint Universe. great job!

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57am

It's pretty fun. I don't think using both arrow keys to attack works very well though.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05am

Love the intro and general premise of the game. Voice acting is nice too. It would make sense for you to start with ammo since it seems to be confusing to people that you start with none. I had fun with it though, good job!

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17am

Good game

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03am

Retro-style graphics and sounds, cool work. Double key shooting is bit hard sometimes.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Good game is addictive, i like it. :3

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

Nice game, interesting use of the theme for the controls. Great work :)

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

Cool art, nice sounds, like the style of the game. Great work guys!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19am

I had a little trouble activating the "shake" function, but everything else works great! The game looks amazing, the intro story is funny, the game over screen is hilarious.

One small bug: you can shoot the guns even after you've died. This isn't a game breaking bug at all.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

damn hard but very coherent, like the trashy look and the good audio

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Liked it, but not liked the graphics. Have a lot of fun.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Simple and fun, loved the pixel art and retro sounds!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:49am

The art styles didn't really mesh with eachother. It was difficult to trigger shooting. It seems like it has a lot of stuff going on, but the idea at its core probably isn't good for two button controls. It's a game that needs four buttons, compressed into two.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Damn, those magnets were pretty annoying. Anyway, this was a pretty fun entry and I really liked the voiceovers.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Hey little and fun shmup variation good for mobiles. Well done

beetracks says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:58am

Good game. Well done!

rodobodolfo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:45am

I didn't like pressing both directions to shoot but i got used to it. Nice humour and fun gameplay. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]