Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

KINAMI

by SiENcE - Jam Entry

KINAMI is a combination of Simon says and synthetic ambient sounds.

How to play?
------------
* Wait for the countdown.
* Watch each sequence of blinking christmas balls on the Kinami tree .
* Repeat each sequence by clicking on the christmas balls in the right order.
* Repeat until you win the game.

If you fail, the game will start again.

Hint: If you have MacOSX or Linux, you need to get the Love package and install the Love2d 0.9.2 [ love2d.org ] runtime.

The Web-GL port is now ready. Might have some bugs. Best is to play the offline version.

Authors notes
-------------
The game was originally intended to be played with a Midi Keyboard, so it can also be played by blind people.
But due to the lack of Midi devices out there, to rate the game, I made an mouse interface.

All sounds are recorded by myself with an MT-32 synthesizer and a Rockband Midi Keyboard.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roland_MT-32

Credits
-------
Gameidea & Coding
@crank_gaming

Sounds:
@crank_gaming and a MT-32 + Rockband Midi Keyboard

Graphic:
@marcopedrana

Made with Löve | Love2D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#50Audio(Jam)4.08
#164Mood(Jam)3.72
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#550Graphics(Jam)3.39
#844Humor(Jam)1.69
#868Fun(Jam)2.69
#984Innovation(Jam)2.26
#1074Theme(Jam)2.27

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

Very nice job man! I wish there was a little more feedback when you get something wrong, but still; solid!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Ahh. This feels good. I love the simplicity and the plucked string sound. Only suggestion is that when the game starts, the countdown string sound gets cut off abruptly and breaks the flow a tiny bit. I'm nitpicking. :) Good job on this, and reading that it will be playable by blind people is very cool!

marcolomeo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

I love the audio!
Me too I think that a bit more feedback on errors would be cool, the graphics are... meh. :D

marcolomeo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

But I like the color theme on fonts and background, it's so lovely a choice.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Not sure if I'm doing something wrong but every time I press the second bell in the first level, the game just gets stuck with the bell lighted up and nothing happens. Is there some long wait until the third lights up or am I doing something wrong?

Karai17 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Great job :)

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52pm

@Rocketship You may missed the first turn, where only one ball lights up? The game waits, until you select the number of balls that where show in this turn.

To test if you have selected the right number of balls, just press another ball...until the game resets, because you selected a wrong ball or had a wrong order.

I hope this helps.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56pm

@Rocketship The game has 10 turns. You need to select all highlighted balls in every turn in the right order.

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:13am

I really enjoy the audio & artwork on this piece; it's very relaxing & ambient. Unfortunately this relaxed feel is rather undercut by the countdown & zero-tolerance for player mistakes. I'd maybe recommend letting the player make mistakes & try again, to relax & enjoy the gorgeous sounds & ethereal art rather than stressing about clicking on the wrong thing ;)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28am

An easy and quite basic gameplay but still good audio and graphics :) I really liked the different designs of christmas balls.

Good job !

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:08am

This is wonderful! I find the art a difficult to visually read (it's quite dark and desaturated), but I love the idea. The audio is great, and it is really relaxing and fun. And I love löve :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Veeeery soothing, moody audio-visual experience. Like it. Thanks :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:03pm

This is a great example of a simple concept executed extremely well! Love the look and sound a ton, great entry! :)

Rocketship says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Alright so it was me being a dumbass the first time I tried! Loved the audio in this game, very soothing and calm feeling. I would've wished a bit more than just the sound, maybe some small visual ques or something.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:53pm

@Rocketship Thanks for your kind words :). I wished that too. But i only had 8 hours, due to family things.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:14am

Solid entry and felt really good. You accomplished to squeeze a whole bunch of mood into few assets. Good Job! 5/5 for mood!

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Ran this using LÖVE 0.10.0. Had to change the "button == "l"" comparisons in love.mousereleased to "button == 1" to get it to work.

Simple game. Too bad the ambient aesthetic is sometimes abruptly cut off by the countdown and misstakes etc. Don't know if I like or dislike the fact that the balls are spread out. Seems to make the sequence easier to remember.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]