Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon of Choice

by DBRalir - Jam Entry

Dungeon of Choice is an endless, random dungeon.

Use the left and right arrow keys to navigate the twisting passageways and defend yourself against monsters.

Items:

- Lamp: Provides more light.
- Boots: Makes you move faster when walking and in battle.
- Heart: Heals some health.

A post-compo version is likely, since I wasn't able to add a goal or scoring system.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

benjammin1391 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

Im a sucker for proc-gen stuff, and this was great. Fun little game that kicked my ass.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Nice game, I liked the mix between dungeon exploration and the minigame

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:54am

Great work on this. Could easily be turned into a full game with items, different enemies and more! Three mimic chests ended up killing me in the end :( Love the humor with the "third button" as well!

Clavus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Nice take on the theme. Battle system seems to be a bit Undertale inspired? :P

I got a strange looking rendering glitch though, seems there's something wrong with the draw order or something (http://i.imgur.com/n4JBaXn.png).

jdoughty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Loved the mechanic of gathering upgrades in an endless runner. Only consern was i got lucky quite a bit between two bad dudes and the difficulty level changed ALOT in between them, so I didn't quite adjust. Still, a lot of fun!

DBRalir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Thanks for the kind comments, everyone! I'll try to return the favor.

@Clavus That's a really strange glitch. It's not the draw order; it seems to be a depth buffer error.

If anybody else gets a similar glitch, please let me know what kind of graphics card and OS you're using.

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I like this. This is fun. But... The knifes get too fast and it becomes impossible to dodge them.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:04pm

This was hilarious. Nice combination of Undertale battle, PG dungeons and Bad Dudes. They are bad enough dudes. The difficulty ramps up quickly and soon the daggers fall like lasers but that's fine. Good atmosphere, only some moody bgm would have finished it off.

Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:33pm

The actual battle minigame was pretty tough and without much nuance, but I loved the mood. Top notch feel, for sure.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Very nice, one of my favorites. Gets a bit silly when things start going fast.

ninos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:14am

This is the most awesome game I have seen in some time, you did an amazing job at making this, loved it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]