Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

URBO

by hadesfury - Jam Entry

Welcome to Urbo!

Make decisions and watch your town grow, district by district.

Instructions:

Click and drag to pan the view and scroll up and down to zoom in and out.
Click on the question marks that appear over your districts and answer the question in the pop up window. You only get two choices, per question. And each answer will influence the evolution of your district in a different way. Play and find out how high you can score !

Art by Vincent Schneider and François Mauge
Programming by Quentin Chevalier and Fabien Kalinowsky
Game Design by Timmy Gilbert
Sound by Tristan Dauly and Bruno Jarles

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Graphics(Jam)4.72
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#139Audio(Jam)3.76
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#212Mood(Jam)3.62
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#705Humor(Jam)2.29
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

squarebridges says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19am

Love the art. Not really sure what effect my choices have on the game, though...

JanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29am

The game looks nice, but most of the time i wasn't sure what was going on, maybe if you could give some more information about the gameplay to the player it would work better.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

A really cool title that I could see being expanded a bit. Great artwork and design. Only flaw is what other people have said in that you don't really know what your choices are doing.

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

Hi there!!!
Webjl - it is bold decision!
You have good animations and interface.
It sounds great too.
Telltale version of city builder)) NextGen))

I think it deserv to win the price for fun, theme and innovation!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56am

Graphics are awesome but gameplay seems completely random.

// also I got some JS error on web version and it crahed every time. IDK why. And windows version has some problem detecting resolution or something. some of the GUI goes out of the screen

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Love the art and modular design, I was not sure how my decisions effected the outcome. A exit option would be nice as well. Overall great job!

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

I have no idea what the heck is going on, but I love it. 10/10

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50am

The art is amazing. This is one of the most impressive looking games from the jam. It looks professional and polished, and I found myself looking at the city modules trying to piece together what type of technology or company was being represented, making up neat stories for each.

It has a sort of old Maxis feel to it, similar to Sim City 2000 or 3000. Definitely dig that.

However, when I had 24 blocks left, I encountered a bug. The same city region kept asking me questions. No other city regions could ask questions, and no more blocks were appearing.

Overall, definitely a great entry! Loved it, and I'd like to see it expanded with additional mechanics. Choosing your next block and where to put it would be neat.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Great mood, nice minimalism. Could use better feedback on what effects your choices have, but hey, Ludum Dare game! :P

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Good looking game, needs more info on how to play it though.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Too bad there's no real feedback of what our choices affect the development of the city, or music.. because the rest is gorgeous, especially graphics! Well done, and it would greatly deserve a post compo!

VDZ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

I'm with the others; the gameplay is a bit unclear and feels rather random. For that matter, I never felt like I was building a city; I was making random choices while a city appeared in front of me. There was no goal for me to work towards - not even a personal goal, as I had no idea what I was doing - and no challenge to struggle against.

The graphics are great, the sound effects are very fitting, and I like your interpretation of the theme.

Unfortunately, I'm rating this as a game, not a tech demo, and as a game it just seems entirely lacking in fun. The first minute or two was interesting to see the city grow, but the time I played after that kind of felt like I was just wasting my time, and I can't really say I had fun playing it.

hd_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

The gameplay variety is low, but I was eager to see what happens when I reach the end of all those expansions. Unfortunately on the Web GL version, it ran out of memory when I got to 55 remaining !

I wish there was more to this game. I think I can see some gameplay mechanics that weren't explained (such as zoning and choices relating to the zone?), but I don't have enough reason to play such a slow paced game again to find out.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Yeah my game seemed to get stuck too with 48 blocks remaining. It was fun clicking stuff and watching the town grow for a bit but it got old after a while since I had no idea what I was doing really. It looks great though and I think there is some potential here.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20am

Gorgeous city game! I liked seeing the city grow, and it was pleasant to look at the awesome art style.

But sometimes I felt that the the question bubbles came up too often, making me compulsively answer the questions, so that I can go back to seeing the city again.

I felt that the answers did have some influence over how the city formed, but the city more or less stops growing after it said "61 Block(s) remaining".

But anyhow, it was a beautiful little city game with an inspiring, simple art style.

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:33am

Most of time wasn't sure what was going on... And it feel like it was too long.

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48am

https://i.gyazo.com/3cc4ba116d621ddc951dc8d6dbec4418.jpg
What does this means? >:

hadesfury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:24am

@lawendt : Yeah, unfortunately we didn't have enough time to balance the game properly and to clarify interactions. And game length definitely needs to be tweaked.
So, to me, it's actually amazing that you were patient enough to get to the end, cheers to you !
When you reach the end, what you see is actually our first attempt at cobbling together a leaderboard.
Anyways, we plan on releasing a post compo soon that will, hopefully, make the game a lot more enjoyable.

I would also like to take the opportunity to thank you all for your encouraging comments !!

Akhera says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Looks awesome! The concept could work, but the player really needs more information to make their decisions and more feedback so that they know what their decisions actually did.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:04pm

The concept's there, it just feels too random. Pretty fun though. Sound is top-tier quality.

Also, while the models and animations are amazing, I'm personally not a fan of the tilt shift effect that Urho or Cities: Skylines uses, and I'm not sure why it's even an option.

psypol says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:03pm

i agree with the other comments. the main problem is the lack of understanding of the effects of your choices. Wether they give a good or a bad thing on those numbers in the hud. for now reminds me of looking at a antfarm, if you do nothing it lives on its own, if you put a small trash on it it seem to react but you dont really know what it will do with it. a contemplative experience more than playing for now. but you probably will expand the idea. Kudos for the cool art.

PanKamil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Graphics are terrific, but it was hard to figure out what district do the question marks belong to (and it was a very important aspect of the game).

SelfTitled says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Very pleasing to the eye

WERT Studio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Great city buliding sim looks wonderful

n8m8 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I wrote some mini-reviews for mini ludumdare games! https://goo.gl/l4dkaT
Thanks for your game! It was lovely and a very relaxing experience! I look forward to games from you in the future!

Blobo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Really cool graphics. the sound effects were pretty great whenever a block was placed, and i loved the take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]