Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BeatBots

by Ace - Compo Entry

Welcome to the world of BeatBots, a series of simple 4-bit robots.

The robots run at 1hz, or one update per second, and execute variable length commands with between zero to four bits of data.
You've been hired to help control the robots out in the wild by feeding them commands to help them solve their tasks while avoiding dangers.

A tutorial is provided to help guide you through the whole thing, and will teach you the most important of the commands. If you want more commands to use you'll have to find them yourself. (Or check the source / GitHub)

The only two keys you'll need to play this game is 0 and 1, so make sure you have them on your keyboard.

Not that I know of any keyboards without them, but still...

PS: You can also press 'R' to reset the level if something goes wrong.

(Linux builds will hopefully come soon, but until then it's Windows only)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Innovation3.58
#233Theme4.00
#399Humor2.53
#502Overall3.21
#525Fun3.10
#544Mood2.88
#628Audio2.21
#698Graphics2.68
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Graydom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

Crashed on load up for me
Windows link

"Failed to open sound file "explode.wav" (couldn't open stream)"

Sorry about that

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Cool game and nice use of the theme

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I was unable to play this unfortunately. I was missing 2 dll files and one I had then the program refused to start.

Ace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Right, you might need the Visual C++ 2015 redistributable;
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

That could be the source of the missing DLLs (I'm guessing they were named something like MSC140.dll?)

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Wow, what a good entry!
Love the way you used the theme. Very well done!

Recon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Extremely good! The best I've seen so far! Great idea for the theme

2011petia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Wow ! nive game ! :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Great use of the theme, but tricky to get the hang of the commands. Thus far, one of the best entries I've played. Nice job.

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Really like the way you implemented the controls. Although I have to say the the tutorial text is in my opinion quite a bit to slow. Felt like ages until I was told how to move forward.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Mastered a new profession of the operator of the robot.
Brilliant idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]