Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eager

by Bobrocket - Compo Entry

Eager is the best idea I had for this LD. It somehow kinda incorporates both Growing and Two button controls.
Eager is an Agar.IO "clone" that has some differences. Eager separates itself due to the fact that you have to shoot enemies with your mass instead of eating them (if an enemy touches you, you lose mass instead of gain)

PixelMix font by Andrew Tyler (http://andrewtyler.net) Licensed under CC BY-NC-ND - http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/us/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#397Audio2.81
#430Overall3.30
#444Mood3.00
#468Theme3.75
#484Fun3.15
#502Humor2.33
#766Graphics2.50
#867Innovation2.35
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Agar is great for casual LAN parties, so I'm happy to see an inspiration for it pop up.

I liked the simplicity of it, but I had a bit of trouble turning around at the right time to fire a shot at an enemy. Eating and shooting made more to do, which I think helped the gameplay.

Thanks for uploading it!

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

Interesting to see an Agar.IO inspired game! It's a nice little game c: Too bad there's no audio at all in the game :{

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09am

Thanks for the feedback guys! I had music compiled with the client (you can see it inside the jar and even in the Github source "res" folder) however it didn't seem to play properly for some reason outside of my own computer. I've run some tests and added a quick update to the itch page with an updated jar. Thanks for bringing it to my attention as, for me, the music and the sounds really help distract from the awfulness of the game itself :)

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03pm

So it's a pixely Osmos then? ;) Real nice and kinda chill music too. And I played this for way too long, but my compulsion led me to at least grow up to a point where I had the current year as score: http://s17.postimg.org/xt51t1gy7/image.png ;)

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Nice game, music is good too. I found that once I got to a certain size, I would often just catch the stuff I throw before it went anywhere. That was only a minor issue though

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

This reminds me of agar.io.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Well, a little game in the style of AGAR IO

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Doing a clone isn't bad, but you shouldn't really rely on previous knowledge of the clone to help explain the game to people.

For what this game is it seems a bit unrefined. The things you shoot do not start at the middle of your character, but rather the edge meaning that (especially later on) it is harder to hit enemies on your lower left side. The difficulty curve seemed to be off, as I wasn't sure where I could go wrong.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Nice little game ^^ Good job ^^

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Interesting concept, never played AGAR IO so I can't compare like other people are doing but I found this rather interesting! :D Good stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]