Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tamamystery

by Jezzamon - Compo Entry

A cute virtual pet game called "Tamamystery". Use the two buttons on the screen to take care of your pet and grow it big and strong!

Controls:
'Left', 'A', 'Z' or '<': Press Left Button
'Right', 'S', 'X' or '>': Press Right Button

Press Left AND Right together to enter or leave buildings.


At the start, use the left button to select the name you want, and the right button to confirm.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#4Humor4.26
#13Overall4.23
#18Theme4.44
#20Innovation4.21
#22Mood4.18
#48Fun3.91
#51Audio3.87
#95Graphics4.06

Comments

Ilseroth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18am

Not going to lie, when I first heard "Two Button" and "Growth" I actually thought pretty much along the same lines, though I was going to play it straight; but decided against it.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21am

You definitely included both themes xD
I was super surprised by the plot twist at the beginning that I was like, "Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaat."
The controls are a bit confusing at first, but I quickly adapted :)
I love the Tamagotchi look of the game! The fingers are kinda humorous and they also let me know if my button press registered, which is quite nice. They look like they could be cleaned up a bit better though. I didn't finish the game, as I have to write a paper due in an hour and a half xD Of what I have played, this is pretty fun :) I hope to come back to this after my paper is done!

Good job!

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

The feels :'c Rip gatchi

Cryptix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

Really fun game! After a minute I thought, is this it? And then it got to the actual game!

Nice idea.

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

That was great!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Wow I know judging just started, but this is looking like one of my favorites all ready. Going in I thought it would be a silly pet game with cute graphics, but little did I know I would be in for an epic story such as this. 10/10 better than Undertale.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Very Very impressive at pretty much everything.

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

I always like the different gameplay setups and twists your LD games take :)

Waynetron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Best use of two buttons I've seen. And the chase scene is just great.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

This is really creative and well done. Expectation subvertin' too. I didn't realise I had to press left AND right to switch to the map so that was confusing. I was just throwing food at my ghost for a while there. :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Oh man, 12 year old me would have been SO into this! Current me just gets flashbacks :P

Well done!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Wasn't sure what was going on.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Very clever, liked how it subverted initial expectation and then became something else. Loved the thumbs on cardboard presentation. The final chase was fun too. I won, Jub is in jail now.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:30am

Wow, i did not see any of this coming, absolutely brilliant, full marks!

lekochen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:52pm

That was superb!! Love it love it.

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I really had fun trying to solve the mystery. Love this idea. :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Oh man, this is absolutely brilliant.

Surprising, funny, cute, just great. I loved the chase sequence at the end!

Pretty easily my favourite ld34 game so far!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:40pm

nice one! i've never had a tamagotchi before :D

daveh says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Simply fantastic. It went in such an unexpected direction. Great work. :-)

foolmoron says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:55am

Genius in every way. The real life photograph graphics especially.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:13am

I was a bit too thick with the mystery to figure out who was the murderer...and just managed to find them by sheer luck, but I had a lot of fun! The narrative is cute, and the highlight of the game. Certainly had some unexpected turns.

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:05am

What a plot twist!
It was really unexpected!
Gameplay is a bit simple, but I iliked the idea6 the graphics and the music!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:21am

Enjoyed the general presentation. Couldn't really get into the game itself once it got going, but I did enjoy the twist. Good use of both themes.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:24am

Really fun game. The chase scene was great, and I also really liked the chase scene's music. Great game all around.

Bemmu says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:47am

After he says "press left or right to enter a house", when I press left or right it still just gives him toys or food.

euske says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:57am

An unexpected, nice detective game. The music was awesome too. I didn't quite get the investigation logic first time, but in the second playthrough it made sense. Good job!

Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Chase was just brilliant!
Couldn't beat the game without hints, but only because I am rating lots of titles and patience is thin.
You made a great game!

Raius says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Wow that was phenomenal and made in only 48 hours to boot. You're going places for sure.

I love whodunnit stories in games so maybe I'm a bit biased but this is my favourite so far

Herzucco says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Very interresting !

AlexHonor says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:43am

One of the most fun games in LD34. But I think I've found a bug. Witnesses were telling me that the favorite food and toy were candy and pencil, but they did not work and I ended up trying out everything. Mirco and candy worked out.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Great game! At first i really think it was going to be just a tamagotchi game. Great idea, story and gameplay!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:10pm

AlexHonor: That's not a bug, if you read what people say in the game it makes sense

Gins says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:29am

Really amazing! A detective game with only two buttons!

scorched says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Good one, enjoyed it a lot! The intro is creepy and funny at the same time!
P.S. Accused a random guy and got "You win", am I just lucky?

kmakai says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Wow, this was amazing! I really enjoyed playing through this, you nailed all of the categories. I'd love to read more about how you did the "background" for the game, it was an awesome touch.

graebor says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I was excited about this being an actual tamagotchi but what you made was so much more cool! Cute characters and lots of little things to find, one of my favs so far, good job! :)

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Wow you weren't kidding, nice plot twist!
The game design is well thought out. I really love the music cute graphics too. Altogether, it's quite a fun little game. Best of luck! :D

LeReveur says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Lovely little game ! I like the way you turned an apparent tamagoshi game in something else. And the investigation gameplay and design make this game fun, well done ! :)

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Awesome game. Great idea, great controls (given the theme) and fantastic take on what I expected to be a "standard" tamagotchi game. Great stuff Sir!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:44am

Best use of two buttons I've seen...
Cute. Tamagotshi powa' - great ++

brainstorm says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:56am

Awesome game, I got confused sometimes, but it's a great idea. Great use of the theme!

5/5

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:27am

What a twist!

echa says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Great game!

oparisy says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:18pm

I came here to test your game after reading your funny "behind the scenes" entry :)

Nice graphics, cool writing!

CodeNMore says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Neat little game, I liked it!

Zyow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Awesome game! I love the tamagotchi style with a plot twist! Great job!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:12am

Very clever!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]