Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Realm

by Vadinci - Compo Entry

My goal for this LD was to make in game in which you rule over an empire which continuously has to expand. It worked out decently I think, but there are some loose ends that need to be tied up still.

For this jam I used my onw HTML5 'engine' that I hacked together over the last week or two, and it suited me pretty well. I'll keep improving it and hopefully will use it the next jam again! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Graphics4.41
#297Innovation3.44
#320Overall3.44
#404Theme3.82
#799Fun2.63
#2115Coolness24%

Comments

dtroyt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:00am

Looks really promising but at some point I got kind of lost as to what I should be doing and how to progress.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11am

I'll echo dtroyt's sentiment. It really does look very nice. The visuals are great, and everything seems very fluid! I'd strongly suggest working on the "game" part of it though, as it's not clear to me as to what I'm supposed to be doing. :)

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:14am

I wasn't 100% sure what do to during the gameplay, and my units were kind of cut off from the top of the screen, but it was a lot of fun to place things. I got a bit stuck though, as I was unsure how to get more population, or specific resources, or if I even could!

Still, the theme and graphics are a great fit. Good idea!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

Really cool, and impressive to accomplish in the weekend! Some sound and objective / opponent would be a great addition! I also seemed to get way more villages than I needed..

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

The game is very pretty, but somewhat vague in terms of gameplay. I had a hard time identifying any real win or lose states, as well as how exactly settlements interacted with one another to move towards either state. Text was provided, but a little more real-time feedback, like resources moving back and forth between settlements, would have really helped.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

I really like the art direction here. Simple but good.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55am

Really promising. Not sure what I am supposed to do really. Will there be attackers, or is it micromanagement? If you have been working on it a week already, does it qualify for LD34?

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

The art is beautiful and the UI is smooth but I was not really sure how to advance.

RyanTheGreat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Great game and lots of fun but it has some bugs and could stand a few game balance issues. a bit difficult to start off unless you can get a good tool production, which can be impossible if the cards come up wrong, and on my last playthrough i had to restart because i got 4 fisherman huts and i had no water tiles

ninos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Visuals are perfect, really loved the game, I hope you will work on it more 10/10

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Awesome game with very fitting graphics! I got a tad sad when I only received mines and markets without any tools nor any high ground. Fel nice to see the empire grow and felt like an impressive work for a weekend, good work!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29pm

The presentation is great, the idea of an empire management puzzle game hybrid is also great, the randomization is not.

The main gameplay problem is not getting the right buildings when needed due to RNG. There are multiple ways to tweak this:

- Refresh all buildings rather then just those used.
- Refresh all buildings but one (the oldest one).
- Refresh all buildings except those that the player wants to keep.
- Allow discarding one building every turn.

There's also a bug concerning the building costs. The farm, for one, don't cost anything to build even though the card begs to differ.

Also, building a mine should not cost any iron.

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:56pm

The game looked great, but the lack of sounds was a bit disappointing. I liked your take on the theme and an ability to remove buildings would be nice.

psychonull says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:06am

loved the art. I enjoyed the gameplay, but it took me a lot to discover how it works and I didn't get it too much. the game is awesome and seems to be very polish, I would work on leveling the cards. great entry!

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Beautiful, couldn't find hills though...
Very polished look.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]