Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Xonatiuh

by dementor561 - Compo Entry

A lost explorer. A lost world. An angry spirit.
In a quest for truth, you lost yourself.

Instructions:
A/D: left/right.
Double tap: dash
A+B: shield(temporary)

Edit: I have been developing this further, find it here: https://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=51915.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#182Audio3.35
#302Graphics3.45
#320Mood3.21
#664Theme3.50
#763Overall2.90
#822Fun2.59
#873Innovation2.34

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20am

Looks and sounds really cool. I would love to try but I am on a Mac

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

The presentation is great, but unfortunately in this case adherence to the theme is a hindrance rather than a strength.

Having only two buttons makes the gameplay very limited.
Staying alive on the harder difficulty is as easy as spamming the dash move.
The ability to jump and dash in mid air would have allowed for more variety in enemy attack patterns and made the gameplay more interesting.

Another victim for the button constraint is the gameover menu. The moment it pops up it closes down again because it uses the same keys as the game.
To be honest this could be fixed with a delay of some sort like a death animation, but with more buttons there would be no problem to begin with.

On other news, while there most certainly is a way to lose there's no way to win.
You could implement a highscore system based on the time survived to give the player a reason to keep playing.

Tom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

Music was amazing. I really liked the boss animation.

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37am

For the most part it's pretty cool. the background's parallax effect is extremely dizzying which can be fixed by slowing it down significantly, and it doesn't quite reach the edge of the screen if you stand on the far left.
Otherwise, it's an interesting idea!

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40am

Boss animation was great! Wish there was a way to win, though.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40am

Praise be unto Serpent God. I liked it good job. :)

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41am

Was alright! Unsure as to what the other "people" were doing?

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

Likes the graphics and the aztec theme.
There does not seem to be any kind of objective despite surviving though, and you don't get a score for that, so in the end the player doesn't have any aim.

As someone wrote on the comments, the two button controller is too restrictive, especially for the menus !
I also didn't understand what the guys spawning from the left and right did to me.

Really liked the overall mood, graphics and animations though !

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00am

Very nice. Within the compo this is great. as a full game I agree with other, need some more controls. The mood is awesome.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

Looks and sounds great, but the gameplay gets pretty tedious.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46am

Graphics were super good, and the controls were okay. Not sure how to win or if there even is winning. Just survive as long as possible I guess. Good job.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50am

I was scared as fuck at first when the bigass snake came out.. but after a few minutes the drone "music" got extremely annoying.. Maybe if it faded into something less annoying like tribal drums? Also: I had NO idea what was happening the whole time or how I was even supposed to win... Like was I even doing any damage to the boss? I have no idea :S

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53am

Music and graphics are great. But I don't see a way to defeat the boss. And what are those copies of me ?

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33pm

It was great, but couldn't find a way to win!

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:29am

Not sure what the other white squares do, but they're difficult to "collect". Not sure how to finish the game, managed to last for a few minutes on my second play and didn't see any end. The boss patterns and timing are good and solid, though. Not bad.

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:29am

I agree with the others, sound and graphics are GREAT, and it feels like you could have done something really cool with this, but there seems to be no particular goal other than "not die".

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:59am

Really liked the introduction and the overall graphics. Good work ;)

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05am

Got Dark Souls flashbacks from the abruptness of that boss introduction :P

Too bad there didn't seem to be any win state. Nicely designed boss, but the limited controls didn't leave many gameplay options. Good job though!

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05am

Really cool! Love the graphics and sound!

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13am

The music, the mood, the boss are all great. But I just don't know how to win...

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:12am

Holy moly, the simple square character did not prepare me for the action! This was cool. Love the droning chant music and the boss design. Good one.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:57am

Solid entry, though I wish it was slightly more clearer. And I wished there was a way to win :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]