Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Cauldron of Humanity

by Lashiz121 - Compo Entry

As the prophecy foretold o... screw the prophecy... You are the demon that must rid your empire of filthy humans by destroying their only savior - the King. He can be found on The Seventh Deadly Level of Hell and after returning him to dust, you will have taken full control of your empire once and for all.

MOVE - A D
ATTACK - SPACE or E

Made by Adomas Paulauskas

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#539Theme3.29
#648Fun2.75
#695Humor2.18
#723Overall2.83
#730Innovation2.56
#770Mood2.44
#817Graphics2.32

Comments

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:33am

Nice game and I enjoyed it, but it was far too difficult to get more points.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:35am

Nice entry. Managed to get through 4 levels :) Liked the graphics

madjackmcmad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38am

Neat! Polish this idea up and carry it further. I was wondering how to get more spell points, it sort of held me back.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:41am

Fun idea! A tutorial would've been helpful, I didn't realise WASD moved me, but once I worked that out I was away. Gets quite difficult :)

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:42am

Bit to difficult

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:43am

Nice entry, the point system is kinda hard to get many, You should definitely continue with the idea. Fun to play

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:44am

Pretty good, there's a lot of game that you managed to pack in here; it's a shame about the difficulty spike!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:46am

Took a while for me to realise I could move and attack. Some more instructions would have been nice :)

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:47am

Nice game! I liked the fact that the points carry on to later levels.

Some info about what every spell and minion does would've been nice but I got the hang of it pretty quickly.

With some polish this could be an addicting little game. Nicely done!

Mizipzor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:48am

Pixel art where the pixels are of inconsistent size made it look a bit jarring. The vortex effect at the end of the level clashed as well. Could use some music. I only played first level because I couldnt figure out how to advance when the enemies were gone.

fraanns says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49am

Good game, but it was pretty difficult. I died all the time.

Tijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49am

This game is pretty fun! I've managed to get to level 6 on my first try. It's a nice challenge. The main difficulty I have is that you need to use both the mouse and the keyboard to control different things. Is there a way to use magic with the keyboard? That would be a sweet addition. Otherwise, good job on the game!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

Nice enjoyable game. Survived 5 levels

miro662 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:54am

Very similar game to mine. Nice game

bbqbaron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56am

As an aside, it seems somewhat unfair that "humor" is a category; I can't say this way funny.

More importantly, I liked it! Good core concept. I could have used more instructions, but it's the seed of a game I'd play. No obvious bugs, sufficiently difficult.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:57am

Cool game. It was a lot of fun and easy to learn. It's not too difficult but still is a challenge.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:57am

I found the mood a little shallow, however I had fun overall. I found that little features such as the heal animation were a neat little bonus.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:01am

Nice game. It's a bit too difficult though. And it took me a little while to realise that the yellow bars in the chest are health. I died far too quickly :(. Graphics were really good though. I wish I could do pixel art that good.

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02am

A bit difficult.
We need more point.
And a tuto would help.
Keep work on ur game !

NebulaOrbit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:06am

I agree with above, points were (too) hard to get.

TestSubject06 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:11am

It had a really good core concept, but the points were too hard to come by, and by about level 7 I felt pretty sure there was no win condition.

cgriff says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:12am

Good stuff. I like the fact that, unlike most tower defence style games, I can actually get involved and kill things myself too.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13am

really challenging game and also very fun to play! Great work!

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

Nice game overall, but kind of hard as the game progress...

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

Difficulty could be a bit more balanced, but overall, it is good.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:28am

I liked this one. It could have used a tutorial and an easier point system but overall, it's a good game for it being made in 48 hours.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Good concept, but the points/damage system needs balancing.

FerraWare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Nice game! Pretty hardcore though

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Your "Web" link is broken...

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23pm

The graphics were not a style i liked.. but the gameplay was smooth and fun. Defend hell! kill the humans!
Dam wizard!

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

A bit difficult but overall a nice game. I like that i have to think about when i have to use which spell. :)

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17pm

interesting concept, graphics could be refined more

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:20pm

I'm in the same boat as IndigoWolf, really fun, but gets too hard.

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Bit hard to get started, but it was fun once you go into it.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Cool game, it was fun but you could have added some more animations to it. The controls were simple and the game was easy to figure out how to play, great!

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Nice one, a bit too difficult to manage the point system, but I passed 5 levels so that's okay :)

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Cool game, it was fun but you could have added some more animations to it. The controls were simple and the game was easy to figure out how to play, great!

Kaltic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Quite fun though difficult

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Nice game, i enjoyed it.
Nice graphics.
Try to give more points.

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Good game, although the visual side is a bit letdown. But we don't play games for graphics, so it doesn't matter.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Great gameplay.

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

200 Coolness?!

Arowx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Got a null reference bug in the browser, you might want to try and find and fix the bug. The game still plays but an error console pops up.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Cool game. I love these types of games. :) You should take this further and add different difficulties which affect how many points you have/get.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Its tough - No point regen or anything! Respawn timers on a single player game or when there is no benefit to the enemy doesnt really enhance the player experience but I liked the game nonetheless!

Jeroen Kappé says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Fun, I liked it

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Fun game but a bit difficult.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I need more points! ;_;

Demetz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Nicely done! The only thing i found a bit difficult was to attack, both the spells and the space bar attack. The rest was pretty good!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I'll be truthful and say I did not enjoy it too much.

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Fun game! Love the giant pixelly demon.
It's a bit difficult, but there are lots of options for strategies which is good.
Perhaps it's a bit too hard to get more points.

megapaul108 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Wow I am suprised how someone could create such a well balanced game in this amount of time! It was too hard for me!

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Nice game. Difficult

ronsap123 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Awesome game! Pretty difficult but has great potential!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37pm

This is very well polished for the time limit alotted.

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Victory is mine! Really nice game.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Nice idea though could have used a bit more balance. Good use of the theme!

mustaine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Need more points!

Arskiainen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:00pm

I like the direction you went with the idea. Spawning minions to do your dirty work.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:16pm

You got something good here, a diamond in the rough so to speak. Needs a little more polish and I would also add a tutorial or at least a how to play screen, some music and some balance in the levels and how many points you get. All in all this is a solid entry and I was mighty proud to have played it :) Do work on this one Post-Compo.

aeai says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Fun game but as others already said it's hard to get points. I like the hp bar in the characters stomach:)

Integershift says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Fun game! The only thing was that it felt a bit unbalanced that the fireball was pretty much(for me) the most powerful attack in the game. Rendering the others pretty useless. Still ending up having a lot of fun though!

Realize2D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15am

I liked how it has a good variety of abilities.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:18am

Great game, really tough though!

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

Gaining points is difficult, you also get backed up into your own spawn area if you die which is a pain.

Art style is simple but it serves it's purpose, some background music would have been nice.

I did like the various types of enemy though, that was cool.

PixelPerfect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

Had some bugs when you lose but quite enjoyable overall.

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:59am

The game runs, but did not make it more than 5 second before just dead.

CaptainKraft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32am

Like others said, pretty high difficulty. My games are usually too hard too haha.

superfluous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:08am

I liked the concept and the controls a lot. A little more balance and if it were a bit more obvious the damage you were doing, I'd have stuck with it for a lot longer.

Brelx says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:13am

Couldn't get past level 5, but it's a fun little game. Is there a way to actually win?

Mekuri says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23am

Took me a short while to realize I could move. I loved the idea of summoning minions and casting spells. Got a bit disappointed that the minions didn't join you in the next level, after they entered the portal by themselves. That would've been cool!
I really liked the idea! Good work!

folex70 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18am

congratulations for this work! good job

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13am

Took me a little bit to realize the spells required mouse clicks, rather than being bound to a key like the main attack. But I might just be tired. Wish I could get more points! The spells almost don't seem worth it for the time it takes to get enough points.

The sprites are devilishly cute. Neat game!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:34am

Nice game

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:23am

I liked the concept

rednowall says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45am

good game!

cebollinos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:02am

Not very original in my opinion

DoggyDog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:17am

It's fun to play. A little bit buggy.

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:47am

I'm a Christian and I'm offended by this.. Not :D This is the most complete game I have seen on LD33 yet. Lovely graphics, great idea and nicely carried out, actually had fun with this one. Add more ways to get points (or I'm missing something?). I love the way health bars are inside the characters, so metaphyical. Please send me PP if you update the game.

D3giler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:57am

Great Game, felt nice to play,could maybe have had a bit more balancing and there was a NullException Error on the Web version but nevertheless a fun game. Well Done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Good game! The game is too difficult now, I guess time didn't allow you to balance it. The art needs a lot of polishing too. Keep it up.

gty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50pm

It was hard to understand how to start playing but then I've played for like 15min straight. Nice game!

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

interesting but you should win more points after beating a level, the difficulty curve escalates way too quickly.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18pm

After completing the first level I accidently wasted all my points and couldn’t do anything in round two.
Having the switch from the arrow keys to move, the mouse to navigate menus and the E keys to poke stuff is annoying.
The difficulty curve is nice and once I learned how to play I found it challenging and fun. It needs some more polish but good work.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Wow! Good job! It was fun to play, you should keep on developing this!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Pretty fun!

Solchain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:13am

A simple and fun game. Nice work!

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:42am

Nice! I don't mind a hard game, well done!

mickanio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:30am

This is a cool idea - sort of DOTA-like. I've never seen a game with this exact mechanic before.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:03am

Could do with a bit of balancing, along with the size of the game. Something with such simple art and gameplay would be better off on a smaller screen.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:26am

In the end i just using melee attack. it's easier that way.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:01am

Great game, could have done with a soundtrack but a solid entry. Well done.

ChrisFagan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Getting more points was hard but I really like all the things you can buy! Very nice overall

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Nice concept and use of the theme. Wish the fireballs I threw had a little less range. They mostly flew right over the heads of the targets.

Artsuom says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Cool little game, I liked the retro graphics, especially on the enemies. Quite difficult!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:39pm

well done, i would have liked it if the skills would be bound to the numbers. for some reason the buttons were hard to click, and i couldnt click the big lava attack at the end eventhough i had enough points

Zammalad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Really liked this entry. With a bit of polish it has potential to be a solid game. Would have benefited from a bit of balancing but for the time frame given this was a great effort.

wooltech says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Graphics are good, and lots of potential here.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:07am

Graphics are not the best, but fun to play.

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:51am

Nice Concept!!!

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Controls are bad, the warriors are even not close to me - and they killing me.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Nice concept, easy to pick up and play.

SKT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Nice idea , the sounds are not very enjoyable but overal it's really fun to play. Maybe you could increments points every 3 seconds or something like that so that we cant's stay blocked in a losing loop

boardtobits says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I liked the combination of strategy (summoning minions) and action (moving and attacking). Would be cool to see this idea expanded.

Heissayen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Nice game, I like the concept. Maybe some difficulty balance needed, but overall a great job. Congratulations!

Patomkin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Nice idea, and could become a fun little game. But was a little difficult.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:55pm

good game. but i think you need some rebalancing

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:45am

Simple. I liked the options. People looked like batteries. or they had batteries inside them. You got extra innovation for that idea. :D

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Nice entry, but there is some logical problems. The monster lost life just by touching, even when the enemy is not attacking, making the gameplay difficult.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Like the gameplay, cute art!

noom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:26am

Spent all my money in the first round and found it very challenging from then on. Love the concept though and the different enemy mobs with their different AI was a great addition.
Also the mages were OP

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:20am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Darkflint says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice idea, really like it. But like others said, a bit too hard^^ Think i died in 4th level

Drauthius says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I didn't find it too difficult, just that it could have used some more balancing. Good work.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:40am

Had fun with this. It's pretty hard, but not _too_ hard. Keep up the good work.

AlexSet says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Great ideas but felt limited with the lack of points.

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:39pm

It was a little difficult, but I understand this is a jam and thus the roughness. I did notice that you did not need to stand near a lot of the enemies to damage them with your trident. I was able to get a lot of kills this way. I'm not sure if this is intentional. I'd definitely like to see it again in a polished state.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Got to level 3 before I realised I could move and attack myself :D

dcolgan says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:58pm

I made it to level 4. Getting additional points was pretty hard, and I wasn't sure what the difference was between the different creatures I could spawn vs. spells I could cast, but the graphics/vibe was cool.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Wasn't really sure what the different types of minions did compared to each other. Some small in game tutorial hints would've been useful. Otherwise, need some nice satisfying death animations. Could be fun!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Pretty rough, but interesting.

marvalgames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Cool. Difficult but different. It actually made me want to keep playing because it was never really frustrating.
Solid all the way around. Thought I was playing some lost Atari title :)

Mikhail says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:53am

Really difficult! Overall good game though

Caspila says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:39am

Neat little game! The concept is really cool and I'd love to play it after you polish it a little more. The only thing I'd change is to give the player some points as reward when he goes to another wave. Great job nonetheless!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Nice! If only there was a health bar for the gold or whatever humans are attacking, to track how much health is still left

philomory says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:30am

Seems pretty good, but, as others have commented, it's quite difficult, and there's no indication of what any of the abilities do.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:27am

This game reminds me of Swords and Soldiers. Overall it is a fun game but in my opinion it is not balanced very well. Certain purchases are relatively useless and you end up using the same ones time and time again. The enemy army difficulty ramps up quite quickly and it's a slow burner... but definitely a fun game!

hunttis says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Not bad, but really difficult. Couldn't make it past level 4.

I also quite didn't understand what the "power"-power does, nor did I quite figure out what the different minions are. Points were so frugal that I didn't have much opportunities to summon minions.

Dunric says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:35am

Nice job.

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:55am

It was hard to play. I didn't really get into it. Sorry.
Nice try anyway. You are in the theme.

superfreak says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Ridiculously difficult game with a nice take on the theme. Enjoyed getting continuously frustrated A++

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:40am

Nice idea but its too hard to play.

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:06am

Cool concept. I think one thing that could have helped a lot is more consistency in the graphical style though. You have a good pixel style going, so it's good to not muddy it up with graphics that are aliased or of different pixel sizes. Just having that sort of coherence can go a long long way to making a polished jam entry :)

Xanjos says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Pace was a bit slow in the beginning but it's a pretty solid entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]