Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Not Enough Souls

by Divitos - Jam Entry

Not Enough Souls is a wave-based combat game in which you play a demon fighting various monsters and feasting on the souls of the innocent to survive.

While battling monsters, you must kill the villagers as well to collect their souls. Souls are a necessary part of combat, acting as your HP.

Controls are in game.

Made in 72 hours by ???(Art) and Divitos(Programming).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#344Fun(Jam)3.31
#477Innovation(Jam)3.06
#500Overall(Jam)3.24
#614Audio(Jam)2.47
#657Graphics(Jam)3.09
#688Humor(Jam)2.50
#775Mood(Jam)2.77
#830Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05am

Fun, addictive and altogether well put together game. The Art was clean and bright. A couple of bugs, but with the number of mechanics involved that can be expected in a jam. Well done

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08am

Love the art style, fun game!

Mutt says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:39am

Very unusual mechanics, and nice game feel. Never was quite sure what I was doing though but I enjoyed body slamming dudes over and over. There seems to be some pretty cool gameplay hiding behind the learning curve and somewhat unintuitive controls.

tobbez says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53am

Fight mechanic seems promising, but could use some further iterations.

Kuhmaus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:33am

The gameplay is really fun.
But I think the art is not that great. Maybe find a dedicated artist next time to do the art for you. This way the gameplay would feel even better. I also can smell BAD CODE which resultetd in some bugs. But yeah overall pretty decent.

Divitos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Lel^

Erkberg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Pretty cool game! I do like the art style and the gameplay mechanics. The controls feel really good and immediate. The locking mechanic is cool, but due to the time needed to lock on to an enemy from afar I found myself mostly just moving close to the enemies and killing them by simply pressing space. I could imagine though that with a little more work this mechanic could feel amazing, hovering through the air, locking on to enemies and then striking down on them. Maybe some time slowing could do the trick.
One small complaint: The font was a little hard to read in the controls menu. Oh, and some music would've been great.
Overall, I enjoyed this game a lot, good job!

hammerfrenzy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:47am

Really like the spritework, and dashing around was really fun. Fun Fact: By flying to the top of the screen and trying to continue flying up, you can clip back down to the ground!

Divitos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12am

I caught that bug in the last 10 minutes or so before submission hour and couldn't figure out what was causing it lol. I'm poking around in the code a little right now to make an improved version for gamejolt and itch.io and to be honest I still have no idea what's causing that. o.O

grywhttl says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Would like a mac build!

Juin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Really unique combat. I liked it.

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Ded at wave 10. This + some more polish and better controls would make an awesome game

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:16am

Found a little bug but not important. Reached wave 11, nice game!

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:04am

Enjoyed killing! Hard work during 72 hour!

ohsqueezy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Really simple and fun game. The movement mechanics are incredibly satisfying. When I found out you can divebomb from a hover I was pretty excited. Combat mechanics are fun as well. -Otis

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:40am

Some smooth gameplay and nice graphics!

Clurect says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:04am

Cool game

Sunflower says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:33am

The yay:
- different kinds of enemies
- general concept of collecting souls and such

The nay:
- gameplay somehow didn't feel engaging
- jumping and running and flailing wildly seemed to work for about any sort of enemy, leading to some sort of monotony...?
- with that many villagers/enemies I'd prefer mechanics that don't encourage spacebar mashing
- the portal graphics are really inconsistent with the rest

Solid entry, but somehow I felt the gameplay wasn't that fun for me. >.<

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:12am

Very fun entry, I loved the movement controls and the locking/chaining mechanic. The aesthetics in this game were awesome, all the animations felt very fluid and clean. There was clearly a lot of time put into sprite work and visual effects. Like the other comments say, some background music would be nice. Overall solid entry!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:09pm

fun game, had some problem getting it running on my intergrated card, (weird artifects) but on the gpu it runned fine, well done, would have loved some bg music

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]