Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Lecture Me

by celsyum - Compo Entry

first game this weekend. (next going to jam). I thought at first its quite unique idea, but later decided just finish as faster as I can and do another game.
Don't be angry - I tried to provoke you.




timelapse of both games: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cCDVvyscLUU

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#253Innovation3.34
#553Humor2.50
#738Theme2.89
#792Mood2.37
#844Graphics2.21
#865Fun2.31
#889Overall2.48

Comments

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:46am

Music is nice the game is quite confusing.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47am

I’m not sure what I think of that, I can see how you were trying to hold up a mirror to our thoughts and show that we are the monster, but I see it closer to a social experiment than a game.

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49am

This is not so bad!...
Good work with the music!
You made a simple game with not so much assets but it works!

demogorgon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

I can't draw worth crap, so that really added to the experience. This game isn't pretty but past that everything is excellent. Seriously well done.

Hurlenuit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Confusing game. But also interesting. Good job.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I like the idea, it touches more of the art and less the fun side of gaming.

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I kinda liked it. I am not sure if your aim was to troll people or you just didn't want to spent the time (like you said).

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Not entirely sure what I just played. But I drew funny faces a lot.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:27pm

I don't really see how illustrating social problems makes the player a monster. Interesting entry anyway.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I want to see painting from the other players! :-) Nice entry!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:35am

I dont get it

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:43am

Ok, I think this is a pretty unique concept. Something I think would really add to this is if drawings were uploaded so people could check out what was drawn. I also feel like some of the picture sentences could be reworded, because it just felt like you were being a dick :p I actually think this could be an awesome idea if worked on and if responses were researched.

Norgg says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I know you were trying to provoke, but doing that through overt racism is just kind of cheap and still problematic.

adsilcott says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Its more of a weird kind of social experiment than a game. I was more confused than anything.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Well at least i liked the drawing part of it, i could draw whatever i want without proceeding so i guess...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]