Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Drain

by aeveis - Compo Entry

A simple puzzle game about yelling birds and picking sides. I was thinking about different perspectives and how that can change someone's viewpoint... and then birds?? Theme-wise you can be a monster in your actions and gameplay. See if you beat it without any birds breaking down! Hope you like the game!

Update 1 8/24/15: There are 20 Rooms. If you finish Room 16, and the door isn't opening, you can press ] to go to next room.

Update 2 8/25/15: I made a post compo version with the bug fixes (you shouldn't get stuck in room 16 anymore).

Update 3 8/26/15: Just a thing- I had a friend playing and was still able to get stuck in room 16 - I have some idea how it can happen (probably if you do it at just the correct time and the counter for opening the gate happens more than once or something like that), but if someone can easily replicate the bug that would be super helpful. Thanks! Otherwise follow what I said in update 1.

Tools used:
IDE: Flash Develop
Library: Haxeflixel
Art: Gimp
Sound/Music: OpenMPT
Level stuff: Ogmo

Controls:
Arrow Keys or WASD to Move
X or Space to Judge
R to Recover/Reset

If you need it: [] for Cheats

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood4.16
#35Innovation4.00
#45Audio3.82
#51Graphics4.18
#73Overall3.82
#375Fun3.15
#404Humor2.86
#459Theme3.41
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

mklee says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

Really enjoyed this, sorta like a bird-bullying simulator. It makes me feel bad when a bird starts crying. One minor complaint is that the bars are sometimes misleading and you can suck energy even when it appears empty. Great job!

kcaze says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

This was a really good game. The mechanic works well and I like how you themed it so it's about birds bullying each other. My favorite room was room 16 since it definitely shows off the potential for this as a puzzle game.

The ending screen was interesting too; I was wondering whether or not my choices would affect anything :P

Anyways, amazingly polished game with neat gameplay. You should definitely continue work on this and make it into a full fledged puzzle game :D

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44am

Best LD33 game I've played so far! Congratulations!
Nice art, music and mood. My only problem is that I can't pass Level 16, and the yellow birds are all full, so I don't know if it's a bug or the final level.

scorched says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

Congrats! Worthy one!

lubos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

Very interesting take on the theme, enjoyed it a lot.

frondeus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Whoah! Deep dude!

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Awesome! Very very innovative idea. This is my favorite puzzle game so far. The music suits the game very well, and the graphics are simple and beautiful.
Nice job!

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I'm not sure what was going on in this game, but the gameplay was unusual and the graphics were nice.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:43am

Those birds had it comin'. REDBIRD4LIFE.

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:02am

Arhggh, I felt really bad making the birds cry. You make me feel like a... yeah not gun' say it :) Really nice. I was a bit unsure on the controls and how the bullying works, sometimes they cry and sometimes they don't and so I got stuck at level 5.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Music and graphics are wonderful, but I found the gameplay a bit boring. It was still enjoyable, though.

6DownStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:01am

Neat mechanic! I quite like the art style and animation; those little birds are quite expressive. Well done!

JoseArias says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:58am

I really really enjoyed this game. Very good idea.

psychonull says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Nice one. Good take on the theme. It starts to get juicy after level 14.

xhunterko says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:22am

Very neat game play!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:33am

Great game, very original. I certainly feel like a monster after making birds cry.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Beautiful graphics, interesting puzzle! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/L1fCW_I8xho

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Really interesting game! I felt like the movement and radius of sadness were a little too analog or something, or like I wish I knew exactly where all the "hitboxes" were so I could do the puzzle more efficiently.

This game feels like twitter sometimes

Awesome work!

wooltech says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:42am

Great graphics, and the entire thing feels polished, although there were a few times where the bird just kept moving upwards when I stopped pressing keys, and I couldn't regain control. R to reset worked fine then though.

It took me a little while to figure out what the core mechanic actually was, and from then on there wasn't really any challenge to the game but it was fun and I played to the end.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Nice graphics and audio. I didn't really understood the gameplay mechanic.

RegisFrey says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:09am

My only complaint was that the energy trading mechanic was not intuitive at first and the game did little to explain how it worked. Once I got it (after screaming a bunch at a poor bird) the rest made sense and the puzzle design was interesting.
Great art and mood. Making a whole flock of birds cry by shouting at them did make me feel monstrous.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:44am

This is very promising but I'm definitely confused. I see there are links between the birds and the doors, and it has to do with their "health bars", but the connections are far from obvious. Maybe that's the point, but it doesn't feel like an intended mystique—just confusing.

zatyka says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:54am

Interesting mechanic, but I wish there were more complexity. Level 16 was, by far, the best level. Very polished!

sorlok says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:20am

Really cool take on the theme; like how the player could take different (nicer/meaner) paths to victory. Some of those crying animations, though, wow. Those birds are mean!

whalebot says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:32pm

This was great. Well done coming up with a clever puzzle for this jam! I *think* that it was possible to get through each level without making birds cry which was super interesting...

deepnight says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

This a really solid and moody entry :)
Excellent idea, fits the theme perfectly and in original & interesting way!

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]