Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Daily Report

by dsoft20 - Jam Entry

The Daily Report reports to you all the gruesome news of the world!

Controls:
W/A/S/D -> Move
Space -> Attack

Music:
"Hot Swing" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#464Audio(Jam)2.95
#537Theme(Jam)3.44
#580Mood(Jam)3.04
#854Innovation(Jam)2.56
#874Humor(Jam)2.05
#897Overall(Jam)2.77
#897Graphics(Jam)2.52
#1011Fun(Jam)2.32
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

Wilson says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:35am

Interesting premise

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:52am

It would be more interesting if the humans do resistance.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:59am

Sick.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Hmmm. You are the monster that the newspaper reports about, and dehumanizes in order to allow the rest of us the luxury of not dealing with the social problems that cause mass shootings, etc. And the game dehumanizes you in the same way that mass media does.

Am I reading way too much into this?

RisingPixel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Love how you interpreted the theme, thumbs up!

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:01am

@aberdeenphoenix: Yep, in addition to what you said, the game is also a critic to the audience of modern mass media whose want to know, in an obsessive way, every gruesome details of every crime news.

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:13am

Puts you in an awkward place! Sickening sounds and really does work with the theme.

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:13am

Puts you in an awkward place! Sickening sounds, mad music and really does work with the theme.

wesley werner says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:10pm

What fun! The music makes you want to keep running around! I must have hit around 60-70 pedestrians, when a cop pushed me through a wall, I fell out of game bounds, and could not do anything. All round fun to play even if a violent game.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Neat game! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Jf2dZyQpNFE

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:37am

Interesting concept. It reminds me a bit of Bastion with the commentary, albeit it tells you what to do. I think it'd be interesting to have the NPCs try to interfere with the story so that the headlines end up being inaccurate.

Sanguine says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:03pm

The difficulty could have ramped up quicker (by having the police come in earlier). The policemen were pretty strong IMO. The music was a bit too happy. I liked the idea of a newspaper narrating what you were gonna do. The game had a nice mood.

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Nice Doom-like game :)
I'm sorry I couldn't judge audio, but I can't make noise right now... :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]