Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Invasion

by Snowdrama - Compo Entry

Try and kidnap as many humans as possible without being destroyed by the human fighters!

UPDATE: From a comment I noticed I forgot to mention, the goal is to abduct the humans, there is no way to combat the fighters. You have to dodge the fighters and abduct the humans.

UPDATE 2: I have been told that the game is insanely hard, Its mostly intentional, there is only one level and the best possible score is to abduct all 100 humans. If you complete that, nothing happens, so I added more fighters to make the game more difficult.

Controls:
Arrow Keys: Move
Space bar: Abduct

Android Controls:
Left half of the screen works like a analog stick
Right half of the screen is a big button that activates the abduction beam.

I only had less then 24 hours to work on this, for what it is though I hope everyone enjoys the 30 seconds it takes to play!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#755Humor1.92
#845Innovation2.23
#858Graphics2.14
#859Theme2.47
#863Mood1.88
#868Fun2.30
#901Overall2.42

Comments

Itay2805 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:48am

Tried to install the apk but it sayer that it had parse problem(using android 5.1)

darkpaw says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54am

In the WebGL viewer on Firefox (Linux x64) there seems to be no keyboard input, the arrows and spacebar just scroll the page, and nothing happens in full screen.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54am

No instructions. Your attacks don't seem to do anything against the enemy ships.

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:13am

The controls were just insane, you can't really enjoy then game in it's current state :/

Snowdrama says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:51pm

@Itay2805 Wierd, Ill see if U get that problem on another device and reupload a build later today.

@darkPaw Did you click inside the game? you may need to get focus first.

@GeeItSomeLaldy There is no way to fight the ships, you have to dodge them.

@IndigoWolf What Platform? Android or PC? I know the android one is hard because the touch analog is awkward. I think the PC version controls a lot better. I just didn't have time to make it better in the 21 hours I had to work on it.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Hard to control

someone9999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Took me a few attempts, but I was able to get to -1 humans left :).

That was quite a bit of fun!

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Congrats on your submission. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to do much. I died right before I could really understand what I was supposed to do.

Snowdrama says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:00pm

@highlyinteractive Yeah I didn't get more time to tweak the controls unfortunately

@someone9999 Huh.... OHHH you know what I forgot I put a single test human in the scene and then the human generator creates 100 more then sets the value to 100 so when you pick up the test human it goes to -1 hahaha

@kidando thanks! Yeah the game takes a few rounds to figure out what is happening. If I make a post compo version a lot of these issues will be ironed out.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Neat idea, could have used some score counter and sounds.
Good job tho! :)

Snowdrama says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:44pm

@pixzleone Thanks! Sounds are always my problem, I normally do those as a post compo thing and use cc0 sounds the score counter is inverted the goal is to get all the humans so the best score would be 0 humans but i see what you mean

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:17pm

The ship flies SUPER FAST and the only way I found to avoid getting killed is to just stay out of enemy sight entirely.

But I got all 100 humans! It becomes really easy if I just scrape my ship against the ground and gather all the people in a corner, hehe. Neat game!

daveh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53am

It's unfortunate that you didn't get the full 48 hours because I can see what you were going for and imagine it being really fun. I can't seem to do anything without dying almost instantly though. Still, I do like the concept a lot.

Snowdrama says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:31am

@Jelinib I noticed you could do that too because they have a distance that they will chase until

@daveh Yeah I wish I had more time, this was also my first Unity game so completing it took a bit longer cause I had to learn some things.

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:25am

Thanks for supporting mobile (played on my phone). Fun game, obviously a lot you could have done if you'd had more time, but nice work anyway

mooncalf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:36am

A bit on the easy side, I strafed the ground and got them all easily. But hey, now I have 100 people to probe and experiment with, so all is not lost! XD =D

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45am

It felt like a fun role reversal of the classic defender game. I liked the subtle lighting effect on the ufo. It was a fun surprise when I realized how many ships were after me :p Great game! Thanks for making this :)

Snowdrama says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:36am

@madmaw Thanks! I experimented with mobile just before this project, so getting the touch controls working was kinda hard. I like the mobile one, but in the future I have a few ideas for the analog stick to make it better.

@mooncalf Yeah a lot of people have been doing that, There is a lot I would have added to make the game more interesting.

@OnlySlightly I love defender, and that was totally the idea from the beginning, what if I WAS THE INVADER?! Im glad you enjoyed it!

Kalm004 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:21am

The Android version works very fine. Good work.

Snowdrama says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:53am

@Kalm Glad you liked it!

Interface says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:05am

It's not easy but seems like there's some tactics you could employ to get pretty far, I tried racing from one end to another basically.

RobotMeal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:08am

Occasionally I would respawn in the middle of a human fighter death cloud! A little bit lacking in depth, but the main game mechanic is implemented well. Congrats on completing an entry!

fistmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:56am

Good effort. Functional game for the most part, very basic. Not much to play. The base mechanics do work though, needs more polish.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:03pm

It was a bit laggy. It was kind of frustrating to play sorry :l

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Fun and challenging. I could only get about half. There needs to be a way to get to the masses huddled against the sides without getting entirely entrapped by fighters. Some sort of recharging knock-back pulse perhaps? Nice work!

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Fun game! It would be nice if there were more of a gameplay element to encourage vertical movement, I tended to just sweep across the bottom picking up humans. I like the terrain features, and the sprites were good. A little tricky at first, but pretty fun once you get the hang of it. Overall nice job!

schnerble says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Hmmm - seemed pretty easy to me: just fly down to the ground and go directly across left and right to abduct all the humans... the fighters didn't come down there. Still, there are the beginnings of a fun game in there, and the graphics work well. Maybe if there were more of a reason to fly up and down - like to take the humans 5-10 at a time to the mothership? - then the fighters might make things more of a challenge.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]