Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Academy

by feiss - Compo Entry

Welcome to Monster Academy!

Are you a good Monster? Prepare your mouse for some lessons!

Total possible score, after all rounds, is 200

Tested on Chrome. Update your browser to the last version if you have problems. I think it does not run on phones/tablets :(

Done with Playground.js library by @rezoner.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#5Fun4.39
#11Humor4.41
#13Overall4.18
#21Audio4.08
#28Mood4.03
#33Graphics4.33
#39Theme4.18
#123Innovation3.62

Comments

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Great one! It was really fun :D

Deity says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Can't rate it since I haven't submitted yet but I LOVE this game. (played to the end).

Love the dialog and the little dance before each mini-game starts. Nice work!

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

nice!

kcaze says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:05am

My score: 111.

Not sure if I'm a good monster or me so bad :P

This was obviously Warioware inspired but the graphics, sounds, and overall presentation was really well done. The monster is really cute and the minigames are good minigames. Well done!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:16am

Always surprised at your talent at picking up any style and making it appealing. I'm in love with the monster cutscene.

feiss says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:36am

Thanks guys!
Kcaze: total score is 200, so you are not a bad monster :)
Daan: wow, thanks! ^^

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:27am

hilarious, amamzing audio

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:10am

Great art! Cool music and sounds and awesome and adorable take on the theme. It felt very polished although some of the mini games could have been explained better. Overall, very nice entry!

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:06pm

This is the most original take on the theme I've seen until now :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Neat little game. I loved it

Spyboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:25pm

111, Great work for only 48h!

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:27pm

I knew I was going to give this 5 stars for sound within the first 5 seconds. I found this game amazing everything just feels right from the drawing style to the sound to the games. Loads of fun and I hope this game rates really well!

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:27pm

This was pretty original. Nice music too, and many subgames in it.

NekuSoul says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Wario-Ware-like minigame-mania? Count me in!
Nailed it in every category and that transition-scene is pure gold!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:29pm

My score 93. Really good game I loved it!

TomBoogaart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:30pm

very cool, nice text effects

lubos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Best use of theme:) Great game on all fronts.

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:07pm

It was the funniest game i played on this site. It's like Wario Ware, just better (and funnier)!

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Very nice little game! Great feel and very well polished, nice job! :)

axoona says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10pm

nice game, short and funny

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Great style!!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01am

Really cool WarioWare type game

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:49am

Got 126. Great graphics and presentation, minigames really had that snappy Warioware feel!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:17am

the custscene animation (btw 2 games) is the best

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:25am

This is wonderful in so may ways. Very nice work.

feiss says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:31am

Thanks people! :_)

amy742 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Lots of fun! HAd a big smile on my face!

ladybenko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Lots of fun, I love the animation before the start of each try!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Very fun. The firsts game is a bit buggy, in both the sense that that was a pun and in that the finger doesn't always squish like it should.

RiaDelva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:57pm

This was the most fun game I played so far from this ludum dare :D
Absolutely wonderful! ^^

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Looks super good and loved the audio! Plus a really original take on the theme, had a lot of fun :)

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:20am

Nice experience !
Difficulty is sometime not balanced.

And of course funny monster and voice =)

Togimaro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:24am

Really fun game! Beautiful graphism and cool gameplay.
Thanks to this game, I'm a good monster now!

mklee says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:56am

Very nice WarioWare-inspired game. The art fits the goofiness of the setup really nicely. Just wish the bug squashing game was a little easier! >_< Great job still!

uvwar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:13am

I love warioware, and I love this. More games!

feiss says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:23am

Thank you!
The trick in the squashing game is to aim with the mouse, not the finger..

Arche-san says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:32am

Great "Wario Ware" entry!
The minigames are good. The monster is very "cute" and funny. The difficulty curve is excellent.
Good job! :D

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:16am

It's simply great. I love it!

jackrugile says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:09am

I can't handle how good this is. It brought me so much joy. I died laughing at the first dancing cutscene ;) Each minigame is super fun. You put together such a cohesive package in all areas of the game. Perfect score from me.

On another note, it was great looking at how you used Playground.js. I learned a lot from your code and some new tricks (both from you and from how to utilize Playground.js). Can't believe how little code was written for this. Nice work!

feiss says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:24am

Thanks! Hah, I don't think you can learn good things from my code.. I just try to keep it simple, going straight to the point. KISS philosophy plus some bad coding practices :D

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:20pm

This is awesome! Would be great if you can get it to work on phones/tablets

jk5000 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Great humor

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Haha this is adorable! I could not for the life of me squash those bugs though, it felt like the finger should've hit a wider area, and the puzzles were not at all conductive to this gameplay style. Ended up with 91... It was a lot of fun though, nice work!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Greatest humor I've seen so far ! Audio is great, I definitely love your artstyle and it was tons of fun to play. The transition animation made me laugh everytime. One of my favourite solo games this LD. So many 5's ;D

feiss says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Thanks! Yup, I have to make it work on mobile.. It works on some androids already, buy the interaction has to be adjusted.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:43am

Awesome, one of my favorite so far. Awesome in humor and mood. Love the art style too!

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:04am

Overall 5/5! Nice to see a Wario styled game! Everything is done to build a very lovely monster!

miwuc says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:18am

Fun and really impressive level of polish. I also considered doing a wario ware-like game at one point, but knew I couldn't produce enough content in 48h >_< I'm really impressed!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:59am

I couldn't keep up, ahahah. Very fun!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:03am

This was excellent! Congrats : )

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Great! Very pretty monster and nice gameplay/replayability!

Taldius says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Awesome game! I really liked the Wario Ware feeling, great job!

YellowLime says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Amazing; it looks and sounds good, and it all clicks nicely. 108 out of 200.

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Such an awesome entry! A few of the games were a little frustrating, but that's the beauty of minigames - onto something fun right away! Great work!!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:04pm

This is bonkers crazy and so fun. Nice job!

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:24pm

My score... 88! (I'm terrible)

I LOVE this hyperactive monster! :D

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I LOVED it! :D
Great humour, polished minigames, and brilliant sound design.
Congrats!!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Such a cute, fun game. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/mbmK1PaRvAU

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Great as always, mr. Goberna =) It was sad that you missed LD 32.

feiss says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Thanks again guys! :_)

Jupiter: that was very kind of you, thank you! :)

ChaosCult: yup, it's always difficult to have a whole weekend available, I usually plan it with 1 month in advance, but real life wins sometimes :_)
Nice words, thank you Mr. ChaosCult member :)

Galan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Wow, everything in this game worked exactly right.

S0lll0s says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:50am

very cool. The graphics and sound effects are awesome, it is polished to the max and plays well. I think I kinda suck at it though, scored 99 in the end :D

Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Me no good at this game! Me mad!

Great entry!

-Loi LeMix

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:15am

Some parts were a bit difficult, others a bit too easy. Other than that this game is really well made. Loved all the effects and transitions.

hexagore says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Whoa. Solid 5 stars for everything. Just wonderful. Everything about it. Oh my god.

Larzan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:24pm

I can't stop grinning!
What a blast to play, love the art style, the animations, the colors, the way it starts easy and gets more difficult, just a big fat WOW!
Awesome game!

Slothmachine says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Great fun! I really enjoy these WarioWare style minigames. Graphics are really well made. Great minimalistic style and colors!

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Fun game, really liked the biting one, but that bug one was hard! Great Job!

Wekid says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Awesome Game!

walsh9 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:37pm

I love everything about this.

Mutt says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Fantastic audio / visual presentation. Really entertaining little waste of time :)

chuckeles says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:40pm

My score: 95. I had a blast playing this game! Perfect!

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:29pm

This is probably the most insane game I've played this ld... and I absolutely adore it!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Hehe, that was adorable.

feiss says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Wow wow woww! Thank you guys! I really appreciate it. I had a lot of fun making it hoping some people get the same fun and sense of humor, and many of you did, which makes me very happy! :D

Galvesmash says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:31pm

One of the best games I played in this LD. If you release a mobile version with a timer indicator in each mini-game tell me so I can download it!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:12am

Well I'm certainly not the first person to say that this is like WarioWare, haha. As much as I enjoyed this collection of minigames, I feel like they were lacking in two key areas relative to something that you might find in other rapid-fire minigame collections.
1)WarioWare games have clearly defined and easily visible timers which make the end-point of a minigame easy to predict. In this game, the ending of a minigame feels kind of abrupt and unexpected.
2)WarioWare minigames are generally all-or-nothing. You either complete a minigame or you don't. You're told, in no uncertain terms, whether you did well or not. These minigames have kind of victory gradients which feel less satisfying. If I smash three bugs on the first minigame, should I feel good about that? Was I expected to smash that many? Was I expected to perform better than that? It's difficult to tell, which leads to a less rewarding experience overall.
I hope I don't sound overly negative towards your game - I actually really enjoyed it. The presentation is wonderful and charming, and really helps make this a fun and memorable game.

feiss says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Wow!! Thanks, your tips are very good, and I agree with you. The timer would be very easy to add, I just didn't think of it. The difficult curve is done in minutes, procedurally, and not very good at all, it would need to be adjusted. Also, the binary result (pass or no pass) or at least a much more clear scoring system would definitively help. Now it's quite obscure.

Thanks a lot! :)

Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:29am

GREAT FUN!!!!!!!!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:25pm

AAAAAAAAAAAAA. Madnes. Its very funny. When i was collecting picture, i was completely laugh explode.

DuzDuz says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Really fun! The idea is good

pixzleone says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Good game!!!

Pusty says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:47pm

115. Haha nice graphics, love the sounds!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:40am

Really Funny!

dunin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:28am

100. I'm not a great monster. But it was really fun!

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:05pm

tried twice but the game hanged.

feiss says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:24pm

@bombjack what browser?

GFM says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Really funny and cute graphics! The character's mumbling remind a lot of Banjo Kazooie and it made the cutscenes quite funny (together with the great graphics!).

Great job!

Ellian says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:09pm

113! This is great, really well done in such a short time. Lots of fun

Nov 14, 2015 @ 4:55pm

I included your game in an article of my favorites and added a trophy to your profile! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-1-uzbzpjci

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]