Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Chompy

by GeorgeBroussard - Compo Entry

You are Chompy, a baby monster. Your parents have sent you off for monster training where you will be tested and trained.

9 levels. It's HARD but doable. Patience is the key. Levels 8/9 are the hardest and 8 is harder than 9. Hope you finish it. It's definitely challenging and twitch reflexes are needed on the latter levels.

ARROW KEYS for movement.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#35Fun3.99
#51Overall3.89
#81Humor3.70
#113Graphics3.96
#118Mood3.61
#149Theme3.89
#276Audio3.13
#455Innovation3.01

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36am

Quick play, fun, polished, challenging and super cute! Try saying all the dino yellow text in your best tiny tryhard dinosaur voice. Great show!

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:22am

I had a really hard time getting through this one. I'm stuck a few levels in currently, but haven't been TOO frustrated. I really love the visual effects, especially the faux rounded screen. The story is understandably light, but I love the little touches in each level.

Also, I popped in to your stream a few times over the weekend when I needed a break, and enjoyed hearing you talk through problems. I hope you do more of those in the future!

MrLeePerry says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Oh man, this was a hoot, George! Played all the way through. It ended up being a solid but playable challenge and I enjoyed it!

mustaine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Very cool! Love the retro rendering style and the interpretation of the theme!

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Love the retro tube TV look of the game. The mechanics offer a fun and challenging experience, really nice game. Still stuck on lvl 8, but ill get it.

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Love the polish on. I got stuck on level 3 for ages as I just kept overshooting the exit!

Only problem is the inertia on the controls. If it was less or not none at all, it would have been much better to control.

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:17pm

very nice old fashioned entry! great!

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Ah, good 'ol Mom and Dad Monster. Teaching such important life lessons as being careful, listening to your elders, and always eating the human before moving on to the next room.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I love it!

Easily the best game I've played so far.

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39pm

old tv effect is great. surprisingly fun

General says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Interesting view of the monsters family relations (well, they are monsters, it's ok for them). I expect to see more messages from aunt, uncle, grandpa etc.

I screencasted some LD entries: http://youtu.be/6Al6aF0oETA
Your game is at 28:35

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Really adorable monster, best hints ever and a brilliant retro monitor effect. Great game right here!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:50pm

This is why you make games for a living and I don't :). Feels really polished and well thought out. I really liked the level design and the retro graphics. I can't really think of anything I would change, which the exception of maybe more levels. I'd like to see you work on this one post-compo. I think you have a winner here!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Good stuff George. Love the TV filter and the messages. Man that level tilt really messed with me

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27am

Just when you thought it couldn't get any harder... it still did.
So cute and awesome. Great rendering, too.

ldds says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

Ahhhhh the ice stage is soooo hard.
how many levels are there anyways?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42am

@idds 9 levels so you are at the final level. Just slide slow and wait for the darts to pass :)

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52am

FEELS LIKE A TV WOAHHH

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20am

Pretty solid gameplay. With a few more mechanics you could fill this out into a full length game! Great job!

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:54am

Got to level 8! Great game

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Everything about this game is great. Controls, graphics, polish and the take on the theme.

Great job!

Grhyll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Arrghh ! I love the style, the controls, but the pitfall make me mad. The cool sensation of moving this little guy makes it impossible for me to go slow; and the very large "hole" radius of the pifall makes me fall everytime. After dying 10 times in a row on the exact same spot (it's not even a difficult spot, that's why I can't do it slowly), I gave up :( But very nice for what I've seeen!

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02pm

So much fun! This is one of those games that makes you shout at yourself out loud, haha! Everything feels really tight and I love the old school Atari feel. Really enjoyed this, George! :)

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:28am

I learned so much from this game. I will keep playing this over and over until the lessons finally sink in. 5/5

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:56am

Nice, fast and a full game! The monster is cute and it works well.

iossif says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

i really dig that crt shader.

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Fun game, I liked the visual effect of the TV screen...
Messages were funny additions...
Level 8 was frustrating, and the edges seemed a little too easy to fall off...

Chadivision says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Oh, yes!!! I love everything about this game. The retro TV look really grabbed my attention, but the gameplay is what really made this one. Very difficult, but it feels fair, and it's got a good mix of mechanics. This is one of my favorites so far.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Damn it dad, stop being so hard on me!

Great game :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Awesome game play, FX and humor. A+ stuff

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Nice little game. Very polished, except for the audio (the sounds are annoying to me :S) and there isn't really anything that really stands out. Maybe the old retro tv screen shader, that's pretty cool.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Nicely balanced difficulty. I was challenged but not frustrated.
Graphics are cohesive but rather minimal...; I require more doodads.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:41pm

A great little game this is! The difficulty felt just right, I don't think it's that hard. :)
I enjoyed the visuals quite a bit, very oldschool but charming and the effects like the overlay and the rotation when holes open up are great.
The sound effects are nice, but I really miss some kind of retro soundtrack going along, it would've made the experience even better.
Overall, I enjoyed it a lot!

Shaw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:43am

Excellent and original take on the theme, I love the idea of monsters being trained. Plenty of witty comments throughout, gameplay is simplistic but far from simple (maybe I'm just a bit crap) and the graphics fit perfectly. Fantastic arcade machine deform shader too. Excellent work.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Better pack a lunch, you're going to be on level 8 for a while. You'll enjoy every frustrating minute of it though ;)

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I really do like this game. Great difficulty curve, interesting implementation of ice (+Speed as opposed to the usual -Acceleration) and a good variety of mechanics. I'm liking the scan lines and screen distortion, screenshake, audio and visuals are great. The only complaint I could fathom is that falling in pits is maybe a bit too easy.

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:18pm

You kept the challenge alive! good job!

superfreak says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Loved the challenging gameplay and tiny adorable dinosaur :3 A++ would get frustrated at level 8 any day of the week!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:44pm

A true LD entry, simple fun and engaging. Great job!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:12am

Loved it. Especially the graphics. 5/5

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:38am

awesome art! loved it!

ghostonline says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Quite original and love the aesthetics. Good entry and made me laugh on occasion. Controls do feel a bit floaty, though, and there is a small element of randomness between the dart shooters, where the darts of two or more shooters would constantly differ.

All in all a nice game, and I enjoyed watching your stream as well.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:34am

So cute. Very well done. Looks and feels good from start to end! Keep up the good work!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:46am

Nice little game. Feels very complete. Those holes really suck you in though

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:24am

Nice crt effect. This was really fun and challenging. :D

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Really enjoyable!

Fraust says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Good game... my only complaint is the lack of WASD controls. My right hand isn't as responsive as my left for this kind of twitch gameplay. Had to move my keyboard to be able to finish it with my left hand.

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:03pm

So hard, so good. I think my stomach spilled out from my mouth a few times.

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Really solid entry! I loved the look of everything. The floaty controls were ok at first, but got frustrating when the ice and falling blocks came into play - at that point I really wished it was tile-by-tile movement, or at least more input -> velocity than input -> acceleration. Even so, I still enjoyed the game a lot! Great job!

graebor says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Nice visuals, but I just couldn't get past the third level, the controls on the ice were just way too touchy for me to deal with.

dmcfarline says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:38am

Super tough, but super cute, the visual effects over the simple graphics look really nice

freaknarf says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Great old school game ! And good job with the shadder, it's very well done. A nice simple and well polished arcade game :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Boy this is hard and FUN. Reminds me of those old-school games where you end up rage-quitting or throwing your controller :)
Extremely polished and great (frustrating) fun. Keeps pulling you in for one more go.
Love the sound effects, they go perfectly with this game and the TV look is awesome and another tip of the hat to old school.
Would love seeing this a commercial game and I for one would surely buy it.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Really nice little game. Great graphics and retro style, cute story, and well polished, layered game mechanics. Excellent work!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Cute game, I like how you interpreted the theme! I found it pretty annoying that the level reset completely when you died, some checkpoints would've been nice.
Nice retro graphics, but the fish-eye effect was a tiny bit nauseating.
Nice work overall! :)

Crosstales says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Nice one! The ice was really fun!

Sanju says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Yeah! I'm ready to start eating real life humans! B)

Simple and addictive game in all it's pixelated glory. Love the CRT effect and the game style.

Well done.

superfluous says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:55pm

The gameplay was fun and I really wanted to like this game, but I could not play all the way through because the bulbous crt visual effect made me nauseous. It also felt like the collision bounds on the holes were too unforgiving for a game controlled with a keyboard. The sprites and little dialog bits were very cute.

Modoc73 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:31am

I really liked the old TV effect. The puzzles were nice too. well done!

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:39am

Simple, challenging, and sweet!

Drunkteam says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:16am

Great idea! She sound es very basic, but the game is very fun. I love the retro rendering style :D

allinlabs says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:49am

Super cute baby monster. It brings back memories.

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:52am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:45am

Ohh, it's adorable!! That's one of the kind of game that I like. I wish it had more levels hehehe. The hints are a pretty cool feature and the graphics are great. Very well done :D

saucygames says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:32pm

gg

Lundruf says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Great game. Challenging but able to complete. Enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]